We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, lashings of fresh seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivo Bar and Grill

Vivo Bar and Grill
49 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 45 restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: All day dining from 7.00am daily. Happy Hour and Tapas from 3-6pmBeachfront dining offering stunning views out to the Coral Sea,incorporating outdoor seating as well as verandah seating in a classic Queensland colonial building.Proudly serving Genovese coffee.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, lashings of fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Perfect introduction to a balmy breezy day in Paradise. Above average fresh flavours, attentive service, moderate prices served with a light and delicious Italian wine of the week.
The outdoor seating and ocean views and sound of crashing waves was the perfect destressor. Recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    426
    225
    71
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Viva Vivo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Viva Vivo!

We had called in for morning coffees a few times as were staying a few doors along and liked the look and vibe of Vivo and decided to select for dinner one night.

We didn't book, as it was a Tues night but if we'd wanted an outdoor table we should've! But that was no worries as we were located just inside, as the many doors and plantation style windows made for a seamless indoor/outdoor feel anyway. The place reminded us of Grocer and Grind in Seminyak Bali, with funky indo-styled decor and setting. Music was well selected and upbeat and the staff not your usual irreverent Australian hospitality type. They were all very attentive, knew what they were talking about, added value to the experience and went about their jobs professionally.

We selected a couple of kick-starter cocktails each, which were all delicious and worth the $15 and more per. The bar staff here know their thing.
Skipped a starter and for mains we had the Crab Linguine and Beef Ragu gnocchi and they were just sublime. The gnocchi was a little colder than it should've been . It's always difficult bringing sub standard food to the attention of waiting staff as you know it's going to add further delays and you end up eating n your own. When this was brought to their attention at the end of the night the management kindly compensated us accordingly, thank you.

No room for coffees, but we did manage to share a banana pudding cake and caramel dessert w/ice cream which was fairly average and although I'm sure it wasn't, looked and tasted like it could've been supermarket bought. Might need to work on supercharging that one.

Overall, we would well recommend this place and would go back for sure. It was overpriced, as are strangely almost all eating establishments needing a knife and fork in Far North QLD. But at least on this rare occasion you felt you got close to your money's worth.

Viva Vivo!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“"Great people watching verandahs"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We did lunch at this restaurant. I have walked past this restaurant so many times and always wanted to go here and finally did. We ordered wine, oysters and calamari and it did not disappoint. Everything was really nice, the food, the ambience of the whole place although all the wait staff seemed pre occupied and not really interested in what they were doing and a little rushed off their feet sometimes. Also they forgot to bring a second round of drinks. Seems like too many people for the restaurant to handle?? All up a relaxing place to have lunch, stare at the sea and people watch on a lovely Palm Cove day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great place and service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had tapas,breakfast and dinner there -great lcoation with some great customer service .Food very good and tasty but like all resturants in this area can be pricey but you pay for the location and views. The $39 special was good value without being great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

WE were staying at Mantra Amphora so thought we'd give Vivo a try. We opted for the special two for $39 menu, which includes a glass of wine. The choice was extremely limited on this menu,(only 3 each of the entree, main and dessert), and the serving sizes were very small but they tasted lovely and the service was excellent, so couldn't really complain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivo Bar and Grill also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Vivo Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivo Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.