We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, great environment and backed by friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinctada Kimberley Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pinctada Kimberley Grande to your Saves list
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly The Kimberley Grande)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue, great environment and backed by friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are awesome, polished cement floors, Nice Decor and comfortable bed all prepared for your arrival to be a cool welcome from the hot climate. Only a 40min flight from Darwin and you will find a great part of the Kimberley with plenty of attractions whilst there with Helicopter rides, horse rides and fishing high on the list. Why not try helicopter fishing. The hotel has a great restaurant with a simple but quality food. I enjoyed my time there and found the surrounding town a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
67
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As newcomers to Kununurra our initial irritation was no roadside entry sign for easy identification, especially at night. The booking in receptionist then made us feel unwelcomed as she put us through the third degree about our reservation. With that unpleasant moment out of the way the second receptionist Sally could not of been more helpful and pleasant in helping us with planning our visit. We stayed 3 nights in a spacious and very clean room without adequate sound proofing.
Neighboring TV noise and wardrobe movements plus phone calls were annoyingly frequent. The attached bar and restaurant services were excellent. Food was great and the staff were extremely efficient, as one could clearly see by the strong local township patronage and good management practices. What this place needs is some capital investment to upgrade room flooring, outdoor entertaining areas and a decent gardener. The place looks very neglected around the outside except for the excellent pool area.

Room Tip: Try to have vacant rooms either side of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Greetings Pierre664, thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Your kind words of the majority of staff at the Kimberley Grande will be past on along as will the not so good review on check in.
Your observation of the local trade enjoying the dinning and bar facilities is a reflection of the high standard of service and fantastic, delicious quality meals available in both the Grill restaurant and Sports bar.
I am sure you will be happy to hear that we have a team of maintenance and gardeners in at the moment to get the property back up to its best.
Please note we are currently in negotiations with suppliers to rectify the issue of an on street entry sign.
As so many others have reviewed lately I am glad that you enjoyed the spacious and clean rooms.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review of Pinctada Kimbereley Grande.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
Operations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location of the Kimberley Grande is excellent, across the road from the lake, however we were slightly disapponted with our 2 night stay. In total we stayed at 4 places in and around Kununurra and this would not be at the top of our list.

The room and bathroom were very spacious, but the bed's bottom sheet was very rough to sleep on, and the lighting over the couch and one side of the bed did not work.

The pool is large and very well maintained. It would be great is a sail could be positioned over one end of the pool to allow swimmer to loll about in the shade.

We found the dining room to be noisy (hard surfaces and boisterous children) - a marked contrast to our dining experience at Pinctada in Broome. The menu had many hearty dishes that did not reflect the climate of Kununurra - lamb shanks is a dish for Melbourne in July not Kununurra. We were also disappointed with the breakfasts, servings on the buffet trays were modest. It would be good if local foods could be a great feature of what is offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello OZ-Melb and thank you for the review posted.
We appreciate all reviews and take on board feedback from all our guests.
I think you will be glad to hear that we now have a new Head Housekeeper who has made it a priority to ensure all rooms are at there best.
Whilst we try to ensure a relaxed dinning experience we do have a large local following in the Grill restaurant and tend from time to time to have family's enjoying our great meals. Your comments on using WA produce has not been neglected and our head chef has put together his new summer menu focusing on fresh WA produce, he has however kept the lamb shank on as it has been one of the best selling dishes over the past year. It is nice to know that you had a lovely experience at the Pinctada Cable Beach which is positioning itself as one of the best venues in Broome.
We have also taken on board your comments regarding the pool shade and we are currently in the progress of moving some of the large umbrellas that will keep our guests in shade whilst enjoying the best resort pool area in Kununurra.
Thank you again for your review.

Mark Shannon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Darlington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here last week for a work trip for the first time. Spacious rooms, great pool and in a convenient location a short brisk walk from town centre. This time of year is great in the north with lots of backpackers working in hospitality outlets and bringing their higher standards of service with them. This on show at PKG. Breakfast the next morning was of very good standard. I also stay at Pinctada in Broome which is the more lux of the two but stay at either with confidence. Not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello WestDarlingtonSteve and greetings from Kununurra.
It's great to hear from a guests who appreciated the influence that our backpacking overseas staff have in our venue. For those who haven't had the opportunity to venture into regional Australia I cannot emphasise enough how important the backpackers have on keeping so many venues in staff.
Once again it is great to hear that you have enjoyed not only the Kimberley Grande but also the "more lux" Pinctada Cable Beach in Broome.
We hope you get the opportunity to stay in our spacious rooms and enjoy our great pool the next time you visit.

Kind Regards

Mark Shannon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at the Pinctada Kimberley Grande for a few days at the end of July. My room was very large and spacious, as was the bathroom. My only issue with the room was that it seemed the noise proofing wasn't the best as one morning I was awoken at about 5am by the man in the next room speaking very loudly on his phone. I could make out his conversation so clearly! The pool area was nice to lounge around and the hotel's restaurant was fairly priced with good meals. The staff were helpful, from offering transfers to and from the airport to one of the staff members asking if I needed a lift as I waited outside the front of the hotel one morning. I also have to mention the helpfulness of the general manager who assisted me after it turned out my reservation got caught up in the debacle of check-in.com.au going into liquidation, and he honoured the rate as charged to me by check-in.com.au even though he didn't have to. I would stay here again next time I am in Kununurra. One suggestion I would make is that it may be convenient for guests if a can of fly spray was kept in the room as when opening the sliding door (on the garden side) or the room door the mosquitoes would make their way in, no matter how quickly you shut the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you Happy Meal from Perth for the kind words in your revue.
It sounds that you along with so many others had a disappointing experience with checkin.com.au but thankfully our GM at the time did everything in his power to look after you.
The pool is looking better than ever with our groundsmen putting the extra touches in at the moment to make all our guests have as enjoyable time as you had.
Please make sure the next time you get to Kununurra to stay with us and I can assure you that we will find some fly spray for those pesky mosquitoes (they are fast).

Thank you again for the revue.

Mark Shannon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Shores australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Can't exactly rave about the place but it was a nice stay and the bar and restaurant on site were both nice. Don't expect anything cheap although the pizza prices seemed ok.The room was large and there was a nice pool and area surrounding same...a bit more shade would be nice there though.
I'd be happy to stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Vast sprawling hotel on the outskirts of town. Large rooms were impressive, but that's where the good bit sort of ended.

The outside area of the restaurant was not being used, and we had to ask specifically to sit outside, along with a couple of other people. No mossie torches were lit, and no table candles were bought out, just cutlery and napkins - in fact nothing was done to make the outside eating area welcoming, despite the fact that it was beautifully warm weather. The restaurant itself was totally depressing, with loads of dark brown wood and poor lighting. What's more, their oven had broken down so the choice of food was mainly junk food - pies, pizza and so forth.

Our wardrobe had a burst pipe, which someone came and fixed with duct tape - very fetching - luckily we had not hung any clothes in there otherwise they would have been ruined.

Perhaps we caught them in an off period, as others seem to find this hotel good. Personally we would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: So called 'garden rooms' overlooked a grassed area with not a single flower or bush in sight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Firstly my apologies for the delay in response to your post, the Pinctada Kimberley Grande has undergone some restructuring of management recently with the departure of the last GM and Front Office Manager. We have also welcomed back our Maintenance Manager after a pre longed period off due to health.
I am very sorry to hear you weren't advised of the option to dine out side as you quite rightly mentioned the weather during the time you stayed was beautiful, rest assured I have spoken to our staff and reminded them of how nice the area is not only for dinner but breakfast as well.
The menu on offer was limited for a period of a week as the heart of the kitchen being our oven had broken down and parts are not at hand in the remote part of Australia.
Whilst our menu for the week was limited I can assure you that there is no "junk food" element to any of our chefs cooking, all of our meals are made fresh on site, this along with the gourmet wood fired pizza's made on display in the restaurant.
Our menu whilst the oven was down consisted of fresh Barra pie, blue swimmer crab linguine, pan fried gnocchi, fresh cooked tagliatelle, Kimberley platter show casing local kangaroo fillet, crocodile, camel and mango salsa, choice of 3 different steaks with home made sauces and gourmet wood fired pizza's, all this along with 5 different starters I honestly believe that our chefs did the best of a bad situation.
I am very sorry to hear about the burst pipe which turned out to be an over flow issue with the air conditioner, obviously this only taped as a temporary fix until the issue could be resolved correctly.
Should you return to the Kimberley's I would love for you to give us the opportunity to show that the unfortunate circumstances which soured your stay are not regular occurrences.

Kind regards

Mark Shannon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.1 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#2 of 17 in Kununurra
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Croc Lodge
Kimberley Croc Lodge
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinctada Kimberley Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinctada Kimberley Grande

Address: 20 Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly The Kimberley Grande)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinctada Kimberley Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Grande is under new management and is no longer operated by Pinctada Hotels & Resorts Pty Ltd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pinctada Kimberley Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Grande Kununurra
Pinctada Kimberley Grande Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinctada Kimberley Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.