We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinctada Kimberley Grande

Save Saved
You added Pinctada Kimberley Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly The Kimberley Grande)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Kununurra
Canberra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Spot!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I think this place is seriously reflective of the whole Kimberley experience. Big rooms; friendly staff; large pool - all of a good standard!
I came here on a business trip, but couldn't help but feel 'on holiday'! One wouldn't choose to come here in February with all the rain and humidity, butthat is my lot and I am really enjoying it!

Room Tip: No comments to suggest as all the rooms look fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear MagpieCanberra,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent trip to the East Kimberley and Pinctada Kimberley Grande. We are extremely pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that we met your service expectations at every turn. Whilst our business is predominantly corporate during the wet season we do challenge ourselves to ensure we impart the same level of service a guest experience regardless of the demographic and your comment highlights the success we have earned in this area.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pinctada when next visiting the majestic far North West.

Regards,

Simon Della Santa
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
54
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wonderful hotel,.Friendliest staff at each encounter,big rooms with comfortable huge bed,quiet and efficient airconditioning and nice green well kept grounds with a beautiful pool onsite.We ate at the bar as the main restaurant was closed for a function and the food was really nice and reasonably priced also. The room we stayed in had parking right to the door and having visited Kununurra 4 times previously and staying elsewhere; we will definitely be returning to this hotel when next we come this way and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Geminijodie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at Pinctada Kimberley Grande. Your comments are well received and I am sure the staff will appreciate your kind words regarding their service levels.

We trust that you will visit us again when travelling through the East Kimberley.

Kind regards,

Simon Della Santa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very well designed hotel with large rooms and a great pool. On site restaurant and bar, with great room service. The rooms are just starting to look a little worn, however they are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Daletnurse,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Pinctada Kimberley Grande.

We have intently focussed on our Food & Beverage operation in the last year and your positive experience highlights the great work the team have done.

Your comment regarding our guest rooms has been taken on board and will be adressed. We trust that you will visit us again when next coming through Kununurra and the East Kimberley.

With regards,

Simon Della Santa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a good quality motel with large comfortable rooms, decent restaurant, good swimming pool good location in pleasant surroundings and ideally suited as a jumping off point for the vast Kimberley outback.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Divers0,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, and thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience.

We trust your Australian adventure was memorable, especially your Kimberley experience and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the East Kimberley.

Regards,

Simon Della Santa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here on several occasions and never have any issues. The checking in is always fast and staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren but when you find your room you will find it very spacious and comfortable with a large ed, lounge, tv, mini fridge and even a Nespresso coffee machine in some rooms. The polished concrete floors help with keeping it cool and the cow skin is a different touch.

The rooms are clean with the bathrooms a good size and everything you need.

The pool area at the hotel is large however quite desolate with limited shade which is definitely needed in the Kimberley.

The location is a a 10 minute walk into town (Coles, pubs and other restaurants) but you can easily go without walking anywhere as the restaurant at the hotel is good.

Overall I would recommend the hotel as one of the better ones in Kununurra and will be staying again sometime soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Road-2-somewhere,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pinctada Kimberley Grande. We really do value your repeat business and are delighted to recieve your positve feedback. Next time you are in Kununurra I trust you will again choose to stay with us and I ask that you ask for me directly upon arrival.

Best regads,

Simon Della Santa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'd driven past this place a couple of times as I'd passed through Kununurra and said to myself - next time I need to stay in Kununurra, I'll give this place a go.
The staff was very pleasant and efficient - the drunk guy (customer) in the bar was pathetic, but he shut up when he realised he couldn't take what he was dishing out. The rooms & amenities were very clean & comfortable.
Dinner was outstanding, as was the service.
If I had any niggly complaints - they were only one of timing... The restaurant did not open until 6pm - ordinarily this is fine, but was my stay was brief and I'd just arrived from the Northern Territory, my stomach was at 7.30pm when the restaurant opened at 6pm.
Likewise, the restaurant was due to open at 5am for breakfast (this in itself is a bonus from the usual 6am most places open), but unfortunately I had to leave at 4am.
Oh, and the dead cow in my room made it feel like home. :-)
Would I stay here again - absolutely
Would I recommend the Kimberley Grande - absolutely.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear DarwinDavid8888,

The team at Pincytada Kimberley Grande would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I trust that we will now be your preferred resort when travelling through the East Kimberley and we look forward to welcoming you back in season 2013.

The cow is a nice touch!

Best regards,

Simon Della Santa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A lot of hospitality venues should come and stay here to learn how things can be done. Delightful and helpful staff on check in. Lovely rooms - elegant and understated. Very well maintained. Lovely pool. Whole place was spotless.

The bar was brilliant. Food - fabulous value and great quality. Friendly staff.

We loved it. Would happily have stayed longer had we been able to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdellasanta, General Manager at Pinctada Kimberley Grande, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear 245LOU,

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your experience at Pinctada Kimberley Grande.

Your comments have been well received by all staff and we are proud of having exceeded your expectations.

Thank you & regards,

Simon Della Santa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinctada Kimberley Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinctada Kimberley Grande

Address: 20 Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly The Kimberley Grande)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinctada Kimberley Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberley Grande. Our homestead style resort, home to cast and crew during the filming of Australia, is the ideal place to start and end each day of your own Kimberley journey. By day immerse yourself in the ancient landscape that is the Kimberley. By night soak up the warmth and quintessential outback hospitality of The Kimberley Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pinctada Kimberley Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Grande Kununurra
Pinctada Kimberley Grande Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinctada Kimberley Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.