We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faraway Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Faraway Bay to your Saves list
Faraway Bay
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Diamond Coast | 280km From Kununurra, Remote, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My partner and I spent 3 fantastic nights at faraway bay last week. It really is an experience not to be missed. The flight out there is wonderfully scenic passing over the King George Falls and the remote kimberley landscape. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Kevin and his lovely staff and then set off to see some Bradshaw rock art. My partner indicated he loved mud crabs so in the afternoon we ventured out on the boat for some sightseeing and fishing and Kevin dragged out his pots and we dropped them off along our way. We saw some some awesome sights ,swum in some lovely rock pools, fished , walked along shelled beaches, were served fantastic food and enjoyed great company at the end of the day sitting around the camp fire. The highlight for me was our day out on the boat to visit the King George Falls, we stopped off at lots of secret spots along the way and ended up at the magnificent KIng George- we managed to climb to the top ( with the help of the lovely Beth and Colleen to guide us) and then after our descent were showered under the falls followed by a glass of champagne- Beth you took some great photos! Thank you so much Kevin, you do an amazing job in such a remote landscape. Thanks also to Gemma and the girls for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: All rooms have great views out to the bay and an outdoor shower that is great to watch the sunset fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are so pleased that enjoyed your stay at Faraway Bay and got to experience the Amazing Kimberley and the Iconic King George Falls - it is truely amazing. No doubt you would have been relaxed and rejuvenated when you returned home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We tried to contact them numerous times to enquire about a booking. The first time was thru their web page and numerous times by phone. The phone always goes to message bank with only 2 replies when I was out of phone range. I replied to both of these missed calls, leaving a message. I received no further contact from faraway bay. If this is the level of professionalism shown when trying to make a booking, I therefore decided not to pursue the matter and spend my tourism dollars elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't get through. With our Website enquiries there is a special code at the bottom of the Enquiry page which if not entered does not send through enquiry. I have found on a couple of occasions when speaking with people when they have phoned that this was the problem, possibly happened in your case. Phone goes to message bank if we are away from office then answered on return. Unfortuneate your mobile was out of range on return calls.
Not sure if you ended up staying with us or not - you say went elsewhere but then it says Stayed in June 2014 and travelled solo! so a bit confused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I visited Faraway Bay for the second time and were very disappointed in the level of service that we received this time. The area is indeed breathtakingly gorgeous, and the flight out is wonderful. They need to raise the bar on their service ethic if they continue to charge the rates that they are asking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback always appreciate guests views on their stay at our Wilderness Retreat. Sorry you felt disappointed with the service you received during your stay in May. Our other guests in May were extremely happy with everything so not sure what happened in your instance. Will as always work on providing the best service and experience for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully run to provide an experience that is literally unique due to location, friendliness, and quality. The site allows access to unspoiled beauty, and the management work to ensure that guests are treated to a variety of activities that show the beauty, culture, and wilderness of the place. The food is excellent, and the resort cultivates friendships. Just the best.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a magic place.As a sole traveller it was not just the fun activities and the surroundings but the ease with which you make friends of the people you meet. There seems to be a special spirit about the place that binds everyone together,guests and staff.Loved sitting around the campfire chatting swapping stories drinking quality wine and eating superb food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay Ross, it is the perfect place to travel especially if you are a single traveller - as you said has a special bonding feeling - that is what we try to provide and experience for all guests - and old school communication - all sit around and talk! no mod cons/ phones/ipads to distract people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great 4 day/4 night stay at Faraway Bay Bush Camp - starting with a fantastic hour-long flight from Kununurra. FB is really laid-back, remote without the usual hardships of being remote... very comfortable ensuited cabins each with its own outside shower with a magnificent view. Food is excellent and plentiful - including lots of fresh fish after successful fishing excursions each day interspersed with exploring beaches, inlets, waterfalls and croc-safe swimming holes. Sunrise is gorgeous to watch - especially from the rocky outcrop behind the camp; sunsets are wonderful too - and the night sky.... well, you don't get to see the stars like that very often if you live in urban areas. Many thanks to Kevin, BJ and Gemma - as well as others at FB at the same time as us .... Ross, Gerval, Emily, Ben & Ian .... for all being part of our very enjoyable, restful and memorable stay at FB.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the other cabins, but the view from cabin 3 is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your "Escape to Faraway Bay" and no doubt you were rested and rejuvenated when you left - our job was done
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed for seven days, zipped along pristine coast in the boat to find "secret' waterfalls and swimming holes, clambered up the ranges to find amazing rock art, stopped along the way to catch great fish which we enjoyed that night, ate great food, sat on a rock outlook sipping champagne watching the sun set, had a few great reds, saw huge crocks, sharks , big pythons,endangered quolls, supurb sea eagles, drank from "the fountain of youth", it does not get any better than this magnificent remote haven. Kevin and first mate Gemma (ask for her rocky road) worked tirelessly to ensure that we had the most wonderful experience

Room Tip: All rooms offer amazing views across the magnificent bay, rooms are not opulent but are comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faraway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Bay

Address: Diamond Coast | 280km From Kununurra, Remote, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Hotel Class:4 star — Faraway Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote Wilderness Property on the Timor Sea. Fly in/Fly out only, no road access. Unique Open air lodge and cabins - an outback experience with comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Faraway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faraway Bay Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faraway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.