We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there poor poor poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro to your Saves list
Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro
Gibb River Rd. | El Questro, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly Emma Gorge Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go there poor poor poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

After having heard lots of good thing from a friend who visited Emma gorge last year, this has tempted me to go this year. I promise this was my first & last trip over there.
I've visited Emma in the beginning of June 13 with a European friend as I wanted her to explore the outback experience. We got checked in a cabin guess what?? Just a bed....... Nothg else no tv, kettle, fridge...
Food was overpriced & disgusting, foh staff unexperience and no knowledge of any food and wines.
A rude British accent front office manager who was taking our comments for granted n made us feel that it was all our mistake.
We had spend 1 night over there n through recommendation of other guess we have moved to home valley for couple of nights. We had a very good experience over there. So people if u dnt want to ruin yours holiday better stay in home valley or kununurra n take a day pass to Elquestro.
Location good though and rangers not bad.
Our lunch at station township was good as well.
So peeps check well b4 you go

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique J, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Angelica A

It is disheartening to see that your experience at Emma Gorge was not of the same, excellent standard that others have advised us of during the same time frame. We will certainly work hard to iron out the inconsistency in our food and beverage department as it is a shame to go from “wonderful” and “perfect” to “disgusting” within a couple of days. My sincere apologies that we did not reach the high level of quality we strive to deliver.

It is also very unlike our manager to be anything other than over the top friendly and attentive to our guests needs, he is very sorry to hear that is how he came across as he is very proud of the service Emma Gorge regularly delivers.

Our cabins have seen many improvements this season with new beds, linen and towels. We unfortunately or fortunately, depending on your view, are a wilderness experience and our self generated power does not allow for fridges or kettles in the cabins.

I do believe Emma Gorge is worth a visit by all who travel the Kimberley, not just for the day, but to stay and enjoy the environment and surrounds. A second visit would undoubtedly be a different, more pleasant experience as we improve these concerns.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I had a superb lunch today at the resort. We were so well looked after by staff who obviously love their job as they were happy, friendly and efficient, in particular Myra. Our meals were faultless and very good portion sizes. To top it off, the location is beautiful, tranquil and natural. It's a must for anyone travelling the East Kimberley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Carolyn R

It is really heart warning to hear about your excellent experience at Emma Gorge Restaurant. The staff are very engaging and it is good to see that their love of the place shows. Thank you for telling others of you positive experience, it is definitely worth stopping at when on the Gibb River Road or even driving from Kununurra to visit for a meal.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Interested in earlier reviews in which the feeling ‘ripped off’ seems to predominate in relation to Emma Gorge. We had so been looking forward to visiting this resort, but do admit we weren't expecting city service because of the remoteness and guessed we would be hit with city prices. Those expectations were certainly met.

We really enjoyed the ‘walk’ (not for the faint hearted, lots of boulders and rocks to clamber over ; but the experience of the Gorge swim at the end is absolutely exceptional) to the Gorge and treated ourselves to a night in their tented accommodation as a reward. As the picture unabashedly illustrates, there’s no luxury associated with that accommodation, apart from the price – yes an en suite, but no basic luxuries such as: air conditioning, frig, tea making facilities, hairdryer, secluded location/view, comfortable beds- those things that you expect when you're paying inflated prices.

The service was friendly enough but some rather big gaps were evident. On checking in we were cheerfully advised that our ‘tent’ had a parking place for our 4wd – ‘That’s a specialty included in the price”. When we got to our accommodation it was interesting to note that we were one of the very few tents WITHOUT a parking place – especially intriguing as it was quickly evident we were only one of 3 tents occupied by independent travellers. All other guests were passengers on the 2 bus tours lodging for the night and clearly the last thing they needed was a parking space. Such a basic consideration to be dealt with at booking time you would think.

A la carte dinner was us and another couple – the hordes were off at the group dinner. Wait staff was very pleasant and accommodating but food was just average – barramundi over cooked and ridiculously fussy with miso and noodles and just trying to be too clever. Breakfast: again friendly staff but little anticipation of needs. We waited for the groups to move out before arriving at breakfast and the bain maries had nothing in them, the toaster had broken, no fruit. We were paying an awful lot for this accommodation + breakfast. We actually had to ask for replenishment, rather than it being evident as soon as we arrived that we would want it. Very odd.

That said we had a pleasant stay. The setting is lovely in amongst the trees with the red Gorge as background - and we were at the beginning of our holiday and determined NOT to be disappointed, whatever the price.

But let's face it to all of this, if you please, we had to add $60, for the privilege of driving through the rest of El Questro and enjoying the walking/driving tracks and lookouts. The main station looked little better to us in accommodation and food options – and indeed our experience here is why we arrived the next night at Home Valley Station, further along the Gibb River Road, with such low expectations. In fact there, we were blown away by the seriousness with which they took the quality of their accommodation, service and facilities.

So in fact, do yourself a favour: walk the Gorge (I gather that’s $10); explore El Questro (is that another $60?), then head off to Home Valley Station – the amount you’re paying for accommodation there is evident in its service and facilities, which is absolutely not the case with Emma Gorge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sue W,
It is pleasing to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at Emma Gorge. The points you have highlighted regarding service and value are very important to us as a measure of how we are performing. I appreciate that the cost of a tented cabin can appear higher than a normal city stay. We do however carry the burden of being in a remote location and with this comes a self sufficiency that does prove to be very expensive for us.
The location also influences our introduction of a Wilderness Park Permit as we clear all of our roads and tracks, sign the trails, provide complimentary information and conduct land and weed management throughout the park in order to provide access to the wilderness areas for our visitors to enjoy. As a private entity we raise the funds to accomplish this through the permit system.
We have been improving the cabins this year with new bedding and linens to lift the overall appearance and comfort for our guests. Unfortunately, the power that we do generate does not allow for the other comforts you mentioned such as fridges, air conditioners or kettles.
The buffet replenishment at breakfast is being addressed and I do apologise that when you visited, the food was not put out fresh again after the groups. This will be fixed from now. I also welcome the comments regarding dinner and will look to our chef to make improvements on the cooking and the menu selection.
We do have the new car parking spaces beside selected cabins and the staff should be able to easily allocate appropriately, a mistake was made on your allocation.
I believe that we take very seriously our resort and hospitality business. I am truly sorry that this did not shine through when you were with us but hope that if you have occasion to visit in the future, our normally high standards will be in evidence.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fellow travellers need to be aware that you need to pay $10 per person even if you just drop in to the resort for a coffee and have no intention of taking the walking track to the gorge (which I didn't have due to an obvious disability). When I queried this, I was told by the receptionist that this charge applied 'by virtue of being on the property'. I paid but felt ripped off!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 100pluscountries,

I am terribly sorry that you had to pay the $10 day pass when you only intended to have a coffee. The vigilant staff of Emma Gorge misunderstood our policy. We have always waived the park permit if travellers wish to use the restaurant or lounge without accessing the Wilderness Park areas. We well and truly welcome all passers by to enjoy the hospitality of the restaurant and do not require the fees to be paid to just enjoy a meal or a coffee.

Please know that this has been emphasized and widely communicated to all El Questro staff and should not be a problem for your fellow travelers.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Emma Gorge Resort for 3 nights in May. We also stayed 3 nights at the Station Township in a river view bungalow. Our stay at Emma Gorge was fine but we preferred the Station for a number of reasons.

We were lucky when we visited Emma Gorge as it was the beginning of the season so we practically had the resort to ourselves. The staff were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The service was great in the restaurant and we enjoyed our meals there.

Emma Gorge Resort has more of a low-key feel to it than the Station. The tented cabins were clean and comfortable (though we missed a few home comforts - having a kettle and small fridge would have been great). The bungalows at the Station had these extras which we missed when we moved to Emma Gorge. We were a little surprised that the accommodation at Emma Gorge was more expensive than the Station bungalows as we felt the bungalows offered more. Both the cabins and bungalows were serviced each day, which was great. We weren't expecting that for this level of accommodation.

Breakfast was either a buffet or a la carte (depending on whether a tour group was staying). Both were fine and there was a good choice of breakfast options.

If you can't get accommodation at the Station, then Emma Gorge is a great option. Because most of the tours leave from the station (and it's closer to a lot of the walks), we found it more convenient to be based there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Travelbuddy010

I love your review of Emma Gorge and the comparison to The Station. It is often part of my job to try and sell the difference between the 2 properties and you have done a great job for me. I am pleased that Emma Gorge served as a peaceful alternative and that you enjoyed the location and meals in the restaurant.

Emma Gorge is typically less expensive than the Station however I believe you must have enjoyed a Stay3Pay2 special at The Station which made it less on this occasion. Thank you for sharing your review, we hope that you have further reason to visit either of the resort again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review at least 6 months after staying there, see what I can remember...
Only stayed here one night, would be a place I could return to, Tented rooms were great, big with all amenities.
Highlight is the walk upto Emma Gorge, not a easy hike, just take your time and you will be rewarded with a treat at the top.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Arcticozzie

Thank you for the review on Emma Gorge. We are so glad that travelers enjoy there time with us. Hopefully you can return and spend more time exploring and enjoying all that El Questro Wilderness Park has to offer.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I visited here as part of a dreaded tour group. Sorry!
Because we only stopped one night, I didn't get to experience just how good the permanent tent was - din't get to open any of the window or door flaps for example, to experience that sleeping 'outside while you're inside' feeling. It seemed odd that there was a fan but no air-con ... well, air-con would have been ineffective in that the tents aren't sufficiently sealed, in that sense. But the fan was perfectly adequate. Plenty of hot water for the shower and lovely to have a flush toilet after long-drops and 'behind the bushes'!
The food (dinner and breakfast) was fine, and more than enough of it. Anything that looked like it was running out was quickly replenished.
I slept well - but you are efeectively in the wild so you hear plenty of animal noises. You only 'think' it's inside your tent!!
The only problem, and here I can feel for people not in a tour group, was when tour directors were giving their instructions at dinner for the next day, it was really hard to hear when the same thing was happening for another group only a metre or two away.
Emma Gorge itself is stunningly beautiful - I could have gone there several days in a row, never mind other sites in the vicinity.
Altogether, a very different experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MobileM

It is fantastic to hear that your one night at Emma Gorge was such a highlight. We appreciate you sharing your experience on line. The tour groups are still a great way to see many places that not all are prepared to drive to on their own. But hopefully you will be able to return to Emma Gorge and enjoy the things you missed on this trip. It is definitely a unique experience.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro

Address: Gibb River Rd. | El Questro, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly Emma Gorge Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden within the fiery red of El Questro’s Cockburn Ranges lies the spectacular Emma Gorge Resort, with excellent facilities for the whole family. Emma Gorge Resort offers comfortable tented cabins, each with their own private facilities. Shaded pathways link the tented cabins with the restaurant, pool and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Gorge Hotel Kununurra
Emma Gorge Resort At El Questro Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma Gorge Resort at El Questro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.