We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Berkeley River to your Saves list
The Berkeley River
Berkeley River, Kununurra, Western Australia 6740, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 Season Opening Deal
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and two boys (12 & 10) have just returned from 7 nights at the Berkeley River Lodge; a wonderful time had by all. The location itself is simply magnificent with the lodge perched high on the dunes overlooking the sea and the river, surrounded by perfect white sand and dramatic red escarpments.

My major concern on a 7 night stay was whether or not there would be enough to do, however come the end I had to pry the family away, my wife in particular keen to extend the stay. We did a myriad of activities from fishing, beach and river cruises and a sensational day out in the helicopter. At all times in every activity we were kept thoroughly entertained.

The meals were a surprising highlight. Given the remoteness of the area and access to general goods the meals were superb. I travel a lot and eat in fine restaurants and the meals we experienced at Berkeley were up there with the best. Given one of my boys is allergic to nuts and the other wheat, Paul in the kitchen is to be truly praised.

As in any Resort or Hotel, what really completes the experience is the people. The team at Berkeley were simply the best and we quickly felt like spoilt friends. They are completely relaxed and this in turn helps you unwind. They love and care for the Kimberley and this also shows through in their knowledge of the area.

Thanks again all of you; we look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a fabulous time at The Berkeley River Lodge. The location is superb, really breathtaking, but it is the remoteness of the property which really blows you away. How they manage to produce delicious meals given the isolation of the place really impressed us. You can do as little or as much as you want...although you'd be mad not to at least do the river cruise. We went fishing and our boys caught fabulous golden snapper which the chef then cooked for our dinner...wonderful! I would strongly recommend taking the helicopter for at least one day, or even better two, if your budget allows (this is an additional cost so consider that when booking) We visited the inaccessible King George and Eagle Falls and perched right on the edge of both; swimming, exploring and then eating lunch! Really incredible experiences. We also saw stunning Aboriginal rock art that you could only ever access by chopper, and visited beautiful watering holes for swimming and relaxing. Our pilot Ben was very knowledgable, completely flexible and so enthusiastic about the area it's contagious! My advice is if you're going to make the effort to get out to the remotest parts of the Kimberley then these are unmissable experiences. The staff at the Lodge were also excellent...Leith and Jasmine in particular were very helpful and nothing was a problem.The rooms are simple in design which suits the landscape and the ethos of the place...anything too tricked up would feel wrong. They were clean and comfortable with everything you need, and the outdoor bathrooms a lovely touch. I would happily go back and do it all again. Berkeley River Lodge is an incredible place to visit and the area around it really has to be seen to be believed.

Room Tip: I think the rooms were all much the same. They all have wonderful views and are clean and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Berkeley river lodge is distinguished by its absolutely remote and stunning location. The lodge itself is beautifully placed along the dunes. The separate chalets are very comfortable, almost swedish in style/decor. Great comfort while being so far, far away!

The mgr, guide and helicopter pilot were really excited to share the beauty of the land and truly committed to making your stay memorable. The day Helicopter journey is absolutely wonderful, but must be budgeted in advance. it is an additional and expensive tariff, but worthwhile to view and visit the gorges, waterfalls and rock art. There was fun fishing, beach walks and a great day out on the boat to round out the stay.

The fact that this is a new property and a new tourist location makes you feel like there is discovery and freshness to the experience. The opportunity for improvement lies in the main lodge/dining area, which is not currently a space conducive to lingering. it is fine but they need lighting, music, ambience, to make the area inviting, particularly for dinner. This is not a huge issue given the natural beauty all around you. And I am sure, given the energy and commitment of the staff, that this is an area that they will address as the property evolves.

The Berkeley River is a truly unique place. Building this property took incredible vision and commitment to make this remote part of the world accessible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from our second Berkeley River Lodge experience. Such a beautiful location. It is an adventure from the minute you step on the sea plane. The rooms are very clean and the design outstanding. The bath in the outdoor bathroom is to die for you can easily slip into a meditative state of mind in that! Nothing is a problem to the staff who are extremely accomadating and highly proffesional in their approach to guests. The chef is so innovative and talented with his cuisine and produces amazing degustation style menus that are so fresh and palatable. Our children are thoroughly spoilt and treated so well by the staff and made to feel welcome . I would thoroughly recommend this as a family holiday where you can all go and take in the remote Kimberley Coast in the lap of luxury and safety. The package is very reasonable and excellent value for money if you factor in exactly what is included. Great job Berkeley River Lodge !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I don't think I am ever going to experience anything like this ever again, unless I go back here! A truly amazing time out at The Berkeley River Lodge, thanks to the staff as well as the untouched coastline and gorges.

I could write forever about this place, but I will try and keep it short for TripAdvisor users :)

My villa overlooked the Berkeley River mouth, with views extending to Mt Casuarina which had beautiful sunsets every night. Bed extremely comfortable and having a bath looking up at the stars on a warm night was great, loved it!

The food is unbelievable, you would think you weren't in one of the most remote restaurants in Australia, couldn't fault anything Jimmy cooked for us. Everything was perfect down to the last detail, even how he presents his bacon in the mornings!

The staff out there - Helen, Pat, Tom and of course Jodie were all fantastic and happy to help with a smile no matter what. And Carl was very entertaining on the boat, a fair few laughs were had each day we were out!

The coastline is absolutely amazing and full of marine life - we even saw a nesting turtle one evening. What I learned from the guides about the flora, fauna and history of the area will stay with me, they were very informative - thank you!

The river cruise through the Berkeley River was my highlight - the gorges and waterfalls are breathtaking up there. Standing under Casuarina Falls was amazing, takes you even more out of reality for a few minutes, or longer if you wish.

The whole experience for me was one I am never going to forget, until you see it with your own eyes it is impossible to even fathom the scale of untouched beauty, wilderness and remoteness of this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just spent five nights at the Berkerley River Resort - I have visited the Kimberly several times and the Berkeley River Resort is up there with one of my best experiences. The accommodation is excellent, as is the food, the manager and staff are fantastic - helpful, friendly, knowledgable. Can't think of a single negative comment to make. Fishing was great - I caught a 86cm barramundi! I will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: You could choose whether you would prefer to view the sun set or a sun rise from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having just returned from the Berkely River I can only say this is a truly special little gem of a destination.
Its facilities are all brand new and function in fine form, as is the attitude and can-do spirirt of the exceptional staff and managment. Among its many highlights are the food & beverage service (amazing quality and the cooking style and techniques enlisted by Chef Jimmy seemed more reflective of a high end Sydney restaurant... and this is about the most remote place in the country!)

A very respectable wine list served with the very knowledgable assistance of Marty the Maitre'D made dining a joy.The rooms all have king beds, are spotless and have a sea view and what a view! Long white beaches, and nobondy...read NOBODY on them! This is seriously remote luxury.

Another highlight was the river cruise under the care of Captain Karl a veritable mountain of a main (apparenyl he's 6ft 9 inches in the old money!). Great attention to detail on this cruise including croc sightings, cold beer, chilled champagne, tasty smoked salmon and cold chicken lunch and most important plenty of shade and an on-board loo!), All repleat with swimming in fresh water pools and showering under waterfalls, amazing! I can only imagine the magic of this place in the wet season?

Only someone with enormous courage, energy and inspired vision could create this place, in this place! Australia is all the better for it.
Go there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Berkeley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley River

Address: Berkeley River, Kununurra, Western Australia 6740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Berkeley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley River Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.