We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff count for much.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Kununurra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Kununurra to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Kununurra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Messmate Way & Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kununurra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Perth West Aus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good staff count for much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff were the nicest part of the stay. Check-in staff friendly and efficient, dinner/breakfast service the same. I stayed a week for work and wasn't paying the bill. Steak on night 1 ordered medium and it came well-done. Steak night three ordered medium rare and it came medium-well done. I might have cracked it third go, but I was sick of steak. The Fish was fine. The local Chinese is very good and great staff.
Breakfast the first morning ( hot buffet was fine, continental also) I was confronted with INSTANT COFFEE??????? Is this an IBIS? What are they thinking????? Breakfast morning 2, I discovered there was a coffee machine hidden behind the bar and for a few dollars the nice German girl would make me a passable Latte so I could stumble into the day with a shred of coherence.
The rooms are in need of an overhaul, especially the bathrooms- water pressure in the shower was rubbish. There is a connecting door between rooms that has no sound insulation, so the neighbours conversation/TV is very evident. Get a room without this connecting door, if you can. The room served as a happy refuge from the outside heat during the day, but at night, despite every trick I tried, I could not stop the air-con from blowing cold air on me when I tried to sleep , as its right over the bed. And sleeping without the air-con was also a no go, because of the heat. I had a head cold by day three.
The pool looked nice, but I didn't use it.

Room Tip: Ask for one without a connecting door, if it exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Styles Kununurra, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sebastian68,

Thank you for your comments.
We have recently changed our menu, and the issue with the steaks will no longer be repeated. Our coffee selection has also improved along with our breakfast offering. Our air conditioners can be set to blow away from you, please let us know when this occurs, it can be rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
31
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at the Ibis Styles Kununurra and as usual found it to be a comfortable place to stay while working. The young girl at reception (I think Amanda?) is a jack of all trades and should be commended on the effort she puts in to make the guests stay a pleasant one :)
I will stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the guests laundry! can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Styles Kununurra, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear MikeK157166,

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us at ibis Styles Kununurra. I have had Amanda jump on line to have a look at your comments. Many thanks for these kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a comfortable and clean hotel. Nice pool area and the restaurant is really good value. Prices are about the same as Perth but the size of the serving makes it good value. The staff are friendly and helpful. Ill use here again. Only down side being an older building noise between rooms isnt the best

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Styles Kununurra, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Traveller_JohnR,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at ibis Styles Kununurra. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. The team look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Ibis 2 separate nights on the Monday and then the Thursday during a business trip to North West WA. On the Monday I wasn't too impressed. The check in was haphazard and the meal that evening was very basic (only buffet available). The room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. The Thursday was better. They gave me a larger room and the buffet was much better. The reception staff still weren't the best though unfortunately. Careless is probably the best way to describe it. Unfortunately, this marked them down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Styles Kununurra, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Rambling NT,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us at ibis Styles Kununurra.
We have introduced a menu for Ivanhoe restaraunt, I am sure when you join us again you will enjoy our offering.We can only improve ourselves from feedback such as yours, so thank you. I hope to welcome you back soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were Mum and daughter travelling together, so we booked the 1br deluxe. Mum had the br, I had the sofabed in the lounge. The room was in front of the pool, lovely outdoor area to look ou upon.
The sofabed has clearly seen better days - I ended up putting the foam on the floor with the lounge cushions on top and sleping on that. That wasn't so bad, what was annoying is that the bathroom was set up as an ensuite, so if I needed the bathroom during the night I had to disturb Mum when I went through her room to get there.
I also thought it was odd that the cleaners disposed of the used soaps and shower caps before our stay was completed, and on 1 morning they even turned off our refrigerator (it was off for a few hours as we were out on a daytrip).
The very basic buffet dinner on our arrival night (due to a tour group?) was perhaps a little overpriced for what it was.
Menu dinner the next night was however very tasty and satisfactory.
Other negatives - the plumbing noises from the block of units we were in were really loud, and the pool filter starting at 6am was like a wakeup alarm.
Other positives - Service from the staff at all times was courteous and helpful. Good location for walks to the town centre, and nice and easy for tour pickups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Styles Kununurra, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear TraceyLH,

Thanks you for your comments regarding your previous stay. I have spoken with our housekeeping team regarding the room servicing. We have a number of other room types that may have suited your stay, I apologise that you encountered some issues with noise.
The team hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

A fairly basic motel-style hotel. Clean with good size room with air con. What made this outstanding was the service - they picked me up from the airport and organised a light breakfast for me to take to my room the night before as I was being picked up at 4.30am the following morning.
What was most impressive though was that I tried calling a cab which didn't arrive so Tushar the assistant manager drove me first to the bottle shop and then on to where I was meeting my friend without a moment's hesitation. Fantastic friendly service well done!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ibis Styles Kununurra, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Nat L

I am so happy to hear how my team was able to help you out. I have a great crew and they absolutely love helping people! '

I will make sure Tushar and the team jump on to tripadvisor and look at your fantastic feedback.

Thanks!

Jason Buckton
General Manager
ibis Styles Kununurra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Kununurra

Address: Cnr Messmate Way & Victoria Highway, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kununurra)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibis Styles Kununurra 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Styles Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Styles Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Kununurra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.