We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Questro Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Questro Homestead to your Saves list
El Questro Homestead
Gibb River Rd, PO Box 909 | El Questro Wilderness Park, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Amazing is the only way to describe the experience.
Staff were wonderful the food sensational, every whim has been catered for.
Heli fishing was great as were the guided tours which are included in the stay.
Nothing is missed and our Private dining experience on the cliff was spectacular.
Would recommend everybody stay here at least once in their lifetime!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Natalie R

Thank you for the amazing review, we love to hear that we have been able to create some special moments for you. We too think that everyone should visit El Questro Homestead once in their lifetime, or more!! I hope that you always remember your cliff top dining experience and chef’s delicious cuisine.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Homestead at El Questro. The food was amazing...a set menu for lunch and dinner that was absolutely delicious, every meal. Our 3 children were also with us and the staff catered to them as well...nothing was too much trouble. The position of The Homestead perched on the edge of the Chamberlain River is magical, and the accomodation is very comfortable, although a little tired and could probably benefit from an upgrade... that would be my only complaint. The best part is probably the variety of amazing experiences available, all within a 40 minutes drive of the homestead. Highlights included a hike and swim at Emma Gorge, relaxing at Zebedee Springs and fishing at Explosion Gorge. The rangers who work at El Questro are extremely helpful and knowledgable, and all wonderful company. We really loved our time there.

Room Tip: The Chamberlain Suite was stunning and the cliffside retreats looked fabulous, and also very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear DomT

We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family visit The Homestead and are so pleased to hear your most favourable review, thank you for sharing your experience on line. We are particularly glad that we could accommodate your children, teenagers are often a challenge to feed.

I do understand that some of the rooms, the Homestead Garden rooms, are starting to feel a bit dated. We can see the need for an upgrade and it may be on the cards for the near future. You are spot on though with your recommendation for the Cliff Side Retreats and the Chamberlain Suite. The Retreats being only 13 months old are a very special way to enjoy El Questro’s stunning vistas.

Perhaps a return visit to enjoy these views and explore all of the additional gorges and experiences on offer.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Magnificent location with stunning views and surrounding country side . Everything is superb from the accom -Chamberlain gorge room ,to the food , the staff and activities . Do the heli fishing ,amazing views with great fishing thrown in ,for the morning .Every review you read is accurate . What else can I add ?

Room Tip: Splash out on the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Worldtraveller1953

It was our pleasure to have been able to provide you with an amazing holiday experience. It is very gratifying to hear that we have accomplished what we set out to do, our staff strive to make everyone’s stay at El Questro Homestead a memorable one. And we agree with the views on the Helifishing trip, they are worth the price of the flight. We hope that we will see you visit the Homestead again in the future.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a very special place!
We enjoyed every minute of our 4 night stay, waking up each morning to magnificent views from our Cliffside room. All the Homestead staff made our stay a pure pleasure from beginning to end, nothing was too much trouble. Every meal was a gourmet delight with great service, dining privately or joining other guests.
We enjoyed walks, horse riding, fishing, gorge hikes, swimming in water holes and relaxing in warm springs...a truly awesome adventure. It felt like time stood still at El Questro, the most relaxed we have been in a long time.
Thanks Lori, Alan and your team for a wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cliffside Retreat and thoroughly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear bluhaze

Thank you for the most magical of reviews!! We understand that busy people need to switch off and are glad that The Homestead offers that incredibly relaxing environment in which to unwind. You managed to enjoy so many highlights but still found that time to take in the peaceful environment. I know how much the staff strive to look after our guests so thoroughly, again it is terrific to see that they succeed in creating that welcoming atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble. Alan and I will both enjoy your company again if you are able to return in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Liwtack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was my third visit to the Homestead in more than 10 years. It has hardly changed at all and most important the service and quality are as high as ever. It is a VERY special place and worth saving up for as a great treat. The location on a cliff above the Chamberlain river in the middle if a million acre estate is unique. The food is gourmet class, thanks to Alan who masterminds it. The local trips are wonderful - a helicopter flight is amazing and if you can do go to the Bungle Bungles. Hire your own 4WD in Kununurra for adventurous outings, or go on one of the many guided tours. The staff and guides are truly wonderful: service is a dream. Quite simply, I know of nowhere like this in the world.

Room Tip: The Chamberlain suite is the best, next is the Chamberlain room. But all rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ADSOxford

It was delightful to see you again at El Questro Homestead after so many years. I am happy to know that the experience was at the same excellent standard that you first encountered 10 years ago. Both Alan and I and the Homestead team work hard to maintain the consistency over the years and I love to hear that this was noted. We will be here for visit number 4 when you are in Australia once again.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

El Questro HS is as good as the reviews say: comfortable rooms, pleasurable outdoor dining and elegant food. The gorge walks and cruises are lots of fun, although it would be helpful if the activities were more clearly described. The guides were uniformly full of info and energy, and the household staff was happy and helpful. Overall, a wonderful experience. One comment: If you are looking for remote, wilderness travel, this is probably not the place for you. On the other hand, if you want pampering and upscale amenities with your kimberley experience, you'll love the homestead

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear CB172

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Homestead stay and that it offered some pampering on your Kimberley holiday. It is different than a true wilderness experience, although you don’t need to wander far to get to more remote parts of the property. The guides are now assisting guests with planning their activities, this should be an excellent way to better offer more insight into what we have on offer. We hope that your experience was a memorable time and would look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the Homestead on our honeymoon. The staff made us so welcome, consistently advising on excursions to known highlights the property has to offer, beautiful private gorges, hot spring pools & sunset views to die for. On return from the days adventures we were always presented with cool towels from a friendly member of staff, keen to hear your thoughts of the days activities. We found the knowledge of the young, enthusiastic guides to be more than adequate.
We stayed in one of the new Cliff Top Suites, which is just a short walk down to the main Homestead. It was spotlessly clean & very private with an outside bath & shower and uninterrupted views over the Chamberlain Gorge.
Although private dining is available in various stunning locations around the Homestead, we also found the option of being able to share the dining experience with the diverse range of guests we encountered during our stay was fantastic. On the subject of dining, you could travel the world & not find the quality food we experienced at El Questro, every day was a culinary delight. From perfectly poached pear, to scallops, so good they could have been straight off the boat. Perfectly prepared, locally caught Barramundi. The list goes on, each corse matched to a beautiful, mostly Australian wine.
A Library with WiFi connection for that correspondence that can't wait.
From the helicopter excursion in, till the reluctant farewells 5 days later, Lori & her Team gave us a memorable experience & is the perfect destination for anyone planning a Honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear AudreyM735

It is wonderful to see couples enjoying their honeymoon at a location as special as El Questro Homestead and in a Cliff Side Retreat which makes it even better. We very much appreciate that you have shared such a special time with others who value these reviews. Thank you for the high praise of the staff, the cuisine and the facilities. It feels very good to know that their hard work and dedication is well regarded. Hopefully we will see you for your first anniversary too. We would look forward to it.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.7 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.1 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#10 of 17 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
119.6 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro Homestead

Address: Gibb River Rd, PO Box 909 | El Questro Wilderness Park, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Questro Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Questro Homestead Hotel Kununurra
El Questro Homestead Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Questro Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.