We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimberley Coastal Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kimberley Coastal Camp
Save
You added Kimberley Coastal Camp to your Saves list
Admiralty Gulf | North Kimberley, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Port Pirie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We can't speak highly enough of KCC, the staff and the scenery. The personal and friendly touch by staff made us feel like part of the family. Jimmy and Bjorne were great guides who were as keen to get onto the fish as we were. We had several awesome fishing days both out at sea and up river. Lots of species caught including GT's, fingermark, mackerel, tusk fish, bluenose tuna, mangrove jacks, rock cod, barramundi, several types of sharks, barracuda and lots of mud crabs. The guys were great organizing the tackle, rods and getting the big fish on board. One of the highlights was coming across a hump back whale who entertained us for about half an hour before we were so knackered from catching mackerel we decided to follow him. I was able to get about 20 minutes of footage of him breaching around us about 8 times.Jimmy was able to get some great shots which are on the KKC face book page.
Back at camp Jordy and Julie took great care of us. Jordy cooked up storm every night and prepared great lunches for all days excursions, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are a long leisurely affair with home made bread, local condiments, beautiful fresh fruit, yoghurt and nuts. bacon eggs, bacon beans etc are also available on request. Nothing is too much for the Queen of the Delta.
marketing guru Ebony does a wonderful job at taking care of all the enquiries, bookings, transfers in and out, tours while at KCC and ensuring that the guests have the time of their life. Their knowledge of the land, the tides, the river, the ocean, the Aboriginal Rock art is astounding and the passion that the staff has for the kimberleys and the KCC is a credit to them all.
Hopefully we will be back in April
Thanks again Louise and Brian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I travelled to KCC for work a week ago - I am a travel/fishing/outdoors writer.
I can't recommend KCC highly enough, and no, I'm not paid to write that!
Nowhere else in Australia or the world have I had such an enjoyable travel experience.
I won't spoilt too many of the surprises but if you're a traveller who truly loves the great outdoors, there's nowhere quite like KCC!
Enjoy the jaw-dropping scenery on the way there, savour the super-tasty meals and snacks and sip a drink by the fire as the sun sets behind the cliffs in front of camp... and ask yourself how you ever lived in a big city.
KCC, an adventure unlike anything you've done before.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berikon, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Already at the time as we changed from the little Cessna into the chopper on Mitchell Plateau, we thought to be all alone on this earth. But as we landed in KCC and were embraced in such a warm welcome as if we meet old friends after a very long time, we definitely lost every sense to reality. Our first reaction was: „Wow, this is the place we would like to stay for a long time“! It was fantastic here, spartan but nevertheless very luxerious. We arrived at the end of dry season and there was only one other couple with us and the staff. There are enough gazebos for six couples, so it will never be crowded. They stand separate from each other and everybody’s privacy is guaranteed, although one can see through them from one end to the other. The floor therein is nothing but broken shells and a few little mats in front of the beds. That was just great. And it was a wonderful experience to have the bathroom under the open sky, especially at night-time with all these stars!
We got spoiled from the whole staff. Kevin, the manager and handyman of the camp, showed us the special Rock Art in an impressing way. It was very moving to here him anounce us near a grave to the old mystic Aboriginal burried there. Then Jordan, the marvellous cook. Every day she composed the fresh caught fishes of every colour and mud crabs to a special dinner. And Rebecca, the housekeeper and cook‘s right hand, always with a smile on her face, who also had a very good sense for natural decorations – everywhere lay lovely bits and pieces nicely arranged. Of course we wouldn’t have had those nice meals mentioned above, if Andy, Jimmy and Brian wouldn’t have brought „home“ the caught ingredients from the sea every day. All guests of KCC can go fishing with one of them and they will never come back without some barramundis. Dany and Owen, the chopper-pilots, rotated their job and also helped fishing and working in the camp. What was left after preparing and cleaning the fishes, was not thrown away but given to the „pets“ of the camp. In the bay nearby we found a few nurse sharks which loved not only the food but also a few caresses. And in the evening the eagle and later on the dingo got their rations as well while we all were sitting around a crackling fire and enjoying the company of each other. That’s what we call real life!

Room Tip: all gazebos are equal with sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had 2 days at Kimberly Coastal and its as good as it gets, I have been all over the world and stayed at some incredible hotels and this one just takes the cake ! The best way to describe the experience, is it is like a 5 star Safari without the animals. The staff are so welcoming and obliging, the food was really brilliant, the staff to guest ratio made the experience a treat, the decor is trendy outback groovy ! I loved the chili mud crab, cooked up as an entree and eaten around the fire before dinner ... the rooms are very comfortable and I loved the toilets and showers ... they are really well done, in a thoughtful environmental way. Another nice extra was washing ... We went for a few walks and saw the best Bradshaw rock art I have ever seen, the staff are so obliging, we fished, we drank, we laughed and we had a fantastic time. I cant recommend this place enough, we will be back this year with our wives, instead of our "smelly" sons and they have internet and phone and are not twitchy at all allowing guests to log in or make a call ... well done to the team at Kimberly Coastal !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at Kimberley Coast Camp this August (2011) as part of a business trip - and can't recommend it highly enough.
We arrived by helicopter. The quick flight there from Mitchell Plateau is a treat in itself. Aquamarine waters fringed by white sandy beaches as you leave the stunning Mitchell Plateau region and head to the Camp. We even saw some crocodiles sunning themselves in the water in the heat of the day.
On arrival you are met by the incredibly helpful friendlly staff who take your bags and show you to your room. The bungalows are just delightful. Open air style cabins. Shells crunch under your feet. You fell like you are sleeping on the beach, but in complete comfort and luxury. Simply but very elegantly furnished, exceptionally clean and you are literally perched at the waters edge.
The area where you dine/relax/drink is of a similar high standard. All open air, large couches, lounge chairs designed for sitting and whiling away the hours with a drink.
Sunset is spectacular.
Meals are served at the long communal table with views of the gorgeous surroundings. The food is fantastic. Think Mud Crab, beautiful pan fried fresh fish, stunning salads,, huge platters of cheese and nibbles etc. Breakfast is fruit, muesli's etc and of course a cooked breakfast of eggs, bacon and the like.
During the day the boats are loaded up and you are taken to some amazing locations for fishing, walking and more incredible seafood, cooked over the coals on the remote beaches.
The local Aborginal rock art is also definitely worth the hot walk to it's location not far from the camp.
I was travelling with a mixed family and they absolutely loved the experience at KCC, however I thought to myself the entire time I was there that it would be a fabulous location to come to with a partner. Incredibly romantic.
Just a few reminders also, this is a very remote location, which is of course it's charm, so forget the hairdryer (electricity is very limited). A hot shower is available at certain times of the day, and at the time of my stay, there were no ensuite bathrooms - a short walk from your cabin. However, I was told that by next season each bungalow will have it's own facilities, which I am sure some people - particularly the ladies - would appreciate.
You can't swim in the Kimberley region due to the danger of the crocodiles, there is a small plunge type pool at the Camp for cooling off however.
It is very exclusive, but there are no airs and graces, just a commmitment from the entire staff for you to have an wonderful time during your stay. Highly recommend it. It is truly 'an experience'.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
206.0 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
206.0 mi away
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
205.9 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
125.5 mi away
The Berkeley River
The Berkeley River
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
205.9 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#2 of 17 in Kununurra
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
206.1 mi away
Kimberley Croc Lodge
Kimberley Croc Lodge
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Coastal Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Coastal Camp

Address: Admiralty Gulf | North Kimberley, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are a very few places in the world where you can enjoy fabulous scenery, gourmet food, unique beach front accommodation, spectacular fishing and ancient rock art – all combined with unparalleled hospitality in a remote wilderness location. THIS IS ONE OF THEM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kimberley Coastal Camp Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimberley Coastal Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.