We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, Amazing, Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park
Save
You added Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park to your Saves list
Lot 3001 | Lake Argyle Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome, Amazing, Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What was initially meant to be a 2 night stay, turned quite quickly into a 4 night stay. The Lake Argyle Resort is amazing. The staff (Leanne, Kim, Di, Di, Dave Chris and more) made it even more memorable. The pool, food and service is all incredible. It's a fantastic place to relax, do some walks and either camp or stay in the cabin. Don't forget if you are there to do the sunset cruise on Lake Argyle - it's both informative and enjoyable. I will definitely be back again.
The people make the place. Love love love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Daina,
Many thanks for your great review. Leanne, Kim, Di, Dave, Chris and the rest of the team loved reading your comments. Thanks again for the compliments, and we look forward to seeing you again when next you travel through the Kimberley.
Kind regards and best wishes from the management and staff at Lake Argyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
59
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night in the campground. Had a nice shady & grassy spot. Showers and bathrooms weren't 5 star but certainly did the trick. The camp kitchen offered only the basics, toaster, kettle, fridge, and bbq. But the pool! awesome, awesome, beautiful view. I can imagine in peak season it would be packed, but we had it almost to ourselves most of the time, and it provided a nice opportunity to chat to others in the park. Staff were quite friendly. Overall worth a visit, even as a poor backpacker- you will get your money's worth through the pool, the lovely surrounding area, and the beautiful scenic drive to the park!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Steph,
Many thanks for your comments about our property. Yes, the pool is very popular and as part of our upgrades in the near future we are planning to build a larger pool just below the existing one to cater for the demand and to cement Lake Argyle's reputation for having one of the best views from a pool that you will find anywhere in Australia!
I noticed that you only gave us an average score for cleanliness. We acknowledge that whilst some of our facilities are not 5 star, we do pride ourselves in ensuring that all facilities are very clean and well maintained. We would love to hear from you in more detail regarding your opinion of the facilities to assist us in improving them for the future.
Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best for your travels.
Kind regards,
From the management and staff at Lake Argyle Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom villas for two nights on our way back to Broome . What a great place to stay and relax , great pool , great food and very friendly staff , we are going back as soon as we can

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hi Dave and Trudi,
Many thanks for your great review. Always good to hear from happy customers. As you may be aware we are developing some great new facilities in the near future, so make sure you call in to check out what has changed next time you are up this way!
Thanks again from
Gary, Leanne, Charlie, Chan and the crew at Lake Argyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I live in Kununurra which is only an hour drive from Lake Argyle, and constantly go to Lake Argyle every chance I get. Ive been every Sunday for the last three weeks because of the awesome opportunity to take in the famous Infinity pool for a $10 day pass, which includes using the bbq aswell. The staff are expceptionally friendly\, helpful and always a pleasure to deal with. I finally have my holidays coming up from work, and am going to be staying there. I cant express the beautiful uniqueness this place has to offer and the exceptional people that are always smiling! there customer service is just as good as view which is extraordinary :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Renee,
Thank you for writing such a great review about Lake Argyle! The management and staff always look forward to reading about our guest's experiences and it is great to hear from a local.
We look forward to seeing you soon on your holidays and please make sure that you let us know who you are when you book in!

Kind regards,
From the Lake Argyle team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just come back from a 4 night stay at the resort in the very stylish Lake View Bungalows. Sunrise over the lake was beautiful and the water was gorgeous. We specifically went to the Lake to ski and we weren't disappointed. The resort is very well managed and all of the staff were very helpful, so thank you for all of your assistance. We were a family group and stayed in the 10 Bed Villa. Plenty of bathrooms! Airconditioned throughout and an equipped kitchen. The BBQ is just a short walk away. Very exciting to hear about the future plans and we are already discussing a return visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Clio M,
Many thanks for your great review of our establishment! The management and staff of Lake Argyle Resort work hard to ensure that guests expectations are always met or exceeded, so it is very rewarding to hear back from our satisfied customers.
Thank you once again, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and yes, we are also very excited about the upcoming developments that are taking place and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
From all of the team at the Lake Argyle Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed over night in the Villas and oh my god what an experience.
The staff are so friendly the rooms are perfect, and the view... where else in the world would you find something like that.
The work they will be doing over the next few years will only add to it.
The pool is rated in the top ten pools in Australia.
The food is very nice, decent sizes too.

I would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The villas can be 4 bedroom, 2 or 1. depends what you want to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Charlie,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments! Always great to hear back from our guests. The dedicated team at the Lake Argyle Resort look forward to seeing you again when you return.

Kind regards,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a magical place to stay. We just had 5 days there and it was simply amazing. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the caravan sites were very shady and large. During our time there we had the experience of some fools lighting a fire where they shouldn't have and a rather large bush fire ensued and the staff were absolutely wonderful and worked tirelessly to keep the situation under control. They really need to be commended in the way they handled the situation. I would definately go back there and think that Lake Argyle should be on everyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S, Public Relations Manager at Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Cheryl,
Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We have a very dedicated team working at the Lake Argyle Resort and it is always great to hear from satisfied guests!
Kind regards,
From all of the staff and management at Lake Argyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park

Address: Lot 3001 | Lake Argyle Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular location on hillside overlooking Lake Argyle and breathtaking rugged Kimberley scenery. Lake View Villas, Cabins, Safari Tents, caravan park and camping ground. Famous "Infinity Pool" with views over the lake. Activities include: boat cruises, helicopter flights, float planes, bush walking, fishing, swimming etc. General store, restaurant and bar open from 7.30Am to 8pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Argyle Resort & Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.