We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natures wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triple J Tours

Triple J Tours
1B Coolibah Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
+61 8 9168 2682
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Triple J Tours have been offering one of the longest river cruises in Australia between Kununurra and the Ord Top Dam at Lake Argyle (a distance of 55km one way) for over 26 years. Cruising on a section of the Ord River known as Lake Kununurra, Triple J Tours will have you admiring spectacular scenery, flora, bird life, crocodiles and flying foxes all from the comfort of one of their vessels aptly named ‘Peregrine’, ‘Harrier’ and ‘Osprey’. Fully shaded and with toilets on-board, these vessels cruise the river with ease and are ergonomically constructed so as to cause as little damage as possible to the river bank. Touring options can include a 70km coach transfer Kununurra to Lake Argyle (or vice versa), a magnificent cruise, a tasty buffet lunch at a riverside camp and/or afternoon tea. A commentary is provided on not only the flora and fauna, but also on the nature and history of the mighty Ord River.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Natures wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We did the J4 tour from Kununurra to the base of the Argyle Dam return. At the Argyle Dam we picked up 28 others and cruised downstream before parking where our skipper, Dillon, pulled down a map of the area and gave us a really informative tutorial on the whole Ord River Irrigation scheme which explained so much. We then proceeded further downstream, viewing crocs and other flora and fauna including bird life. Later we had afternoon tea. It was excellent but I'm not saying much about it as it is a real treat. We were almost home but stopped to enjoy the beaut sunset first. The boat was terrific, you feel very safe, Dillon is a real pro and great narrator and the scenery leaves you feeling a little humbled. Best tour around Australia for my money

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you Gordon for sharing your Triple J experience with others. We really do appreciate the feedback from our passengers, the good & the sometimes added suggestions by people, to enhance their day. We do feel the whole package covered by our various staff/skippers/coach drivers/etc makes for a memorable tour on the Ord River & surrounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yes, do this trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this boat trip on the Ord, after the bus trip up to the Durack Homestead and Lake Argyle. The scenery was awesome, with so much of interest to see. But it was the amazingly knowledgable Jeff, a great communicator, who made the day something really special, sharing his expertise and love of this beautiful part of the world. A great day out!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We really appreciate your time taken to write this review, especially if you are on holidays. Your feedback & of many others who experience our beautiful Ord River environment gives us satisfaction that we are showcasing it to its fullest advantage. You are also correct that Jeff & indeed all our skippers, coach drivers etc provide a special touch to that experience. Travel safely & enjoy the remainder of your time in the Kimberleys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Absolute must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Did the so called J3 tour which was just amazing, Jeff, owner and busdriver and skipper all at the same time took us on the 70 km busride to Lake Argyle, and then with the boat back to Kununurra, racing to give us the greatest sunset views at the end.
There was so much more on this trip, Jeff told so much about nature and we saw so much but you have to experience that for yourself !!!!! Absolute must do, best thing we did in Kununurra.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
You definitely got the trifecta on your tour date. Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know of our amazing Boss, Company & what our J3 tour in particular showcases. All skippers, drivers, & other staff enjoy working & learning from Jeff, & the vibe within our workplace is fantastic. Once again we appreciate you giving your review of your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Triple J, Top day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent a very informative day on Lake Kununurra, up to the Argyle Dam wall with Dylan our skipper and guide for the day. He introduced us to the workings of the Ord scheme which I found very interesting. Fresh water crocs, bat colonies, turtles and a variety of bird life were to be seen. Afternoon tea on the bank to stretch your legs etc was very pleasant. The stop on the way back to watch the beautiful Kimberley sunset was, as usual, spectacular. Well done a Triple J

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, & taking the time to put your experience into words. It seems like you saw quite a lot of bird & wildlife on the river. Afternoon tea always impresses people & the chance to step off the boat at our unique campsite/s is a winner. Once again we thank you for taking time out to write your review. Travel safely. Co-incidently Triple J Tours has just won "The Best of Kununurra 2014" tour experience - promoted through Spirit Radio & Red FM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic introduction to the Ord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic afternoon with very knowledgeable young man. The Ord is an incredible system giving the region fantastic opportunities. Well done Triple J.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTripleJ, Manager at Triple J Tours, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you both for your reference to Triple J & our younger skipper. We know that they enjoy showing our passengers our beautiful Ord River envoirnment & what we have to offer. We trust the remainder of your time in Kununurra exceeds your expectations & that you may return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple J Tours also viewed

Kununurra, Western Australia
Kununurra, Western Australia
 
Kununurra, Western Australia
Kununurra, Western Australia
 

Been to Triple J Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple J Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.