We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra to your Saves list
Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Lakeview Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Like us on Facebook!
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our stay at Lake Kununurra has been so wonderful we have decided t stay here for another week. The managers Kathryn & Mark have been wonderful hosts & their knowledge of the area so helpful. The burger nights & camp cookouts they organise are a wonderful way for the park residents t mix and enjoy each others company. Thanks again for our most enjoyable stay everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Raelene L,

Thank you for your kind words. We with our team enjoy the interaction and also the positive feedback from our guests. We recognise there have been a lot of friendships made through the interaction between our guests on evenings we organise that will carry on. Happy travels.

Kathryn P
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Although Lake Kununurra is really just a section of the Ord River that is dammed at both ends, it provides a peaceful site for this caravan/cabin spot. We stayed in a 2-bedroom cabin here and, although it is relatively close to the airport so that you hear the planes arriving and taking off during the day, we were not disturbed at night at all. (The airport is busy due to the close proximity of several tourist destinations - Purnululu National Park with its world heritage listed Bungle Bungles plus the Argyle diamond mine and Lake Argyle.) The owners of the caravan park were lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure that all our needs were met. We used the clean, well laid out laundry to bring our clothes back to use. The park itself is set out on an isolated spit of land so that you feel as though you are miles from anywhere whereas in fact you are only a short hop from the shopping hub - or, if you feel like a nice meal out, the Pumphouse Restaurant is within walking distance and also overlooks the lake. Due to the remoteness of the area, we found everything quite expensive but their trucking-in costs must be high too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Nera 0414,
Our Oasis on the Ord is as you say peaceful and isolated, although only 2km from the town centre of Kununurra. The location to the airport is in close proximity providing an easily accessed service to all the Kimberley has to offer. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent a week here and it was fabulous.. From the initial check in up until our departure.. could not find any faults, and it was during the muster week as well, and the park was fully booked. Kathryn and Mark are great managers, always smiling and helpful. I must say the 4 meals they put on each week are an excellent idea and a good way to meet other travellers and exchange experiences.. the food was really good, even catering for special diets. We will be back. Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We thoroughly enjoy what we do and sharing our back yard with you and all who visit is an absolute privilege.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

From beginning total muddle, booking made with staff over phone - staff member booked us for wrong arrival date, unpowered tent site instead of powered van site, no consistency as to where vans are put, came back on the Saturday and Sunday night to find we were blocked in at front, even though there was room to spread vans out, total lack of organizational skills as to were vans and tents are put. Asked manager about places to go on the Sunday for lunch was offered 2 suggestions found it easier to drive around ourselves and find somewhere. Have decided that due to poor organization that we will stay elsewhere next time even if it is more expensive

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Debbie 2509,
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable time for all of our guests, however sometimes things go wrong. Unfortunately it seems your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been. We do email a confirmation at time of booking and ask that this is confirmed when received or at least verbally confirmed when booking. We will undertake further training with our team to ensure this important step is not missed. As we have only been managing this park since December 2012 we have needed to experience a season to ascertian the faults with regards to the layout of the park. To rectify this we have got plans in progress to make the park more conducive to organised and efficient use of land space. We can only guess your stay coincided with the Kimberley Moon weekend, which is our busiest time on the calendar with many tents occupying sites that are usually reserved for caravans. Whilst we take the time to show guests to their sites sometimes they move slightly to enable a better position and we found that during this weekend there were several guests that had multiple cars on their sites that only choked up ours. As we do not have formal markings on the ground fo all sites it is difficult to ensure guests stay within boundaries set. If there are any problems at the time of the guests stay we ask that these are brought to our attention immediately so we can address them to make the stay more enjoyable. When asked for suggestions regarding places to dine there is only a limited choice, our first recommendation is the Pump House Restaurant situated right next door. We would welcome the opportunity to host you again and gain feedback as to any noticable changes and to enable us to offer you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great spot if you like a busy place, the lake views were relaxing and so was the spa bath, fabulous, some of the staff were great - like the man who checked us in with the great sense of humour, hilarious.
How ever where was the childrens activities or jumping pillow playground etc? If there was one we didnt see it and the pool was small with no seating around it so when hubby took the kids for a swim his only choice was to lie on the concrete, a chair or two would have been great.
I did think this place was very overpriced, we were even charged $15 extra for the use of the portacot which for a few more dollars you can actually buy one! And the cot was not set up or made up either, I have to say the $15 extra for the cot was not a winner with me and really got my back up....... out of all the places we have stayed over the years I dont remember ever been charged $15 for a portacot for one night! In fact the next place we stayed provided a brand new portacot which was assembled AND made up with clean sheets and blanket with the edges turned down to boot and was provided free of charge ( and had a free breakky for a cheaper priced newer accomodation with a far better view) ....... are you hearing me.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value all feedback both positive and negative and are always striving to improve on the products and services we provide to our guests. Should you like to discuss any particular aspect of your stay with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked in for 3 days stayed 2 extra and then came back a week later and stayed another 4 days. Kathryn and Mark are very hands on Managers and have only been here a few months but you would think that they had been here for years. They have different events arranged for 4 nights of the week - Camp Oven Cooking, Sausage Sizzle, Barra Burger Night and Seafood Platter Night and the cost is by donation to the Starlight Foundation and the St Johns Ambulance. Anni and Hollie in the office are fantastic, Anni is full of local information. The grounds are kept neat and tidy and the pool is excellent. It is not far from the main shops and it is very quiet. You can launch your boat from the park onto Lake Kununurra. We would highly recommend this park to anyone travelling.

Room Tip: We had riverfront Powered Sites both times but any site would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, thanks for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment I arrived, I was treated with the best customer service I have received in a long time. Mark was great, he gave me some tips in what were the best sites to see around town and he was always free for a chat whenever he saw you. The burramundi burger night they held on the Monday night was a great idea. The holiday park itself it great, its just outside of town in a nice quiet place along the river. Will be back the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn B, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Mark and I enjoy making people feel like they are at home. We understand what people want through our own experience in what it is we are looking for when we are on the road travelling.
Thank you for your kind comment.
Kind regards,
Kathryn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra

Address: Lakeview Drive, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Holiday Parks - Lake Kununurra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.