We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, great staff, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Valley Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Home Valley Station to your Saves list
Home Valley Station
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Gibb River Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great venue, great staff, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Every time I stay here I am never disappointed. The service is great, the food from the bar and grill is great, the rooms are clean, and the location is awesome. Accommodation to suit all budgets and you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfull holiday backed up by great staff. The food was fantastic venue and accomadation very comfortable.
The entertainment each evening by Country Singer Corey Colum was excellent. His wife Tara working in reception was more than helpfull and could not stop smilling.

Cheers HV8 thanks again for the great holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just completed several days stay at home valley. It was our first time there so we really didn't know what to expect . The bungalow rooms were very clean overall however one room
we had did have an odour from the bathroom area. Eating was interesting in that you did need to book for dinner . We thought we were cut ally going to miss out one night even though we were staying there,This process appeared a little clumsy as bookings were handled at the bar and not at reception. Hint: include this function in your bookings system..... Not hard,
We sent back a kids pasta one night as it had a hair in it....no apologies either. My wife's steak was also over done on one side and sinewy. If you are paying city prices then these days you expect better I think. Breakfast one morning was a joke.... Most trays in the buffet empty at one point and suggestions to staff appeared to be ignored. Once again simple things like that could have been addressed. Matt the manager was great , switched on but his team could have stepped up I think especially in food service . Take this as constructive feedback please . Overall great place, great stay just a couple of things that threw us off a little. Kids loved fishing and horses!!!
P.s ham and cheese toasties for lunch are easy to make .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Driving on the Gibb River Road in the middle of the desert and what did we find? An amazing and beautiful oasis! Like a tropical paradise, it seemed to just pop up out of nowhere, good food, good wine and friendly staff. Even a pool! We were only sorry we could not stay and do all of the wonderful drives and walks they had up on the activities board. We would have loved to have stayed there for a week or more and will be back on the Gibb River in the next year or so and intend to do this place justice and stay and enjoy! We can't wait. Thanks Home Valley, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Somehow this station has a pleasant atmosphere - it just seems everyone is friendly and happy here. Loved the toilet/shower cubicles and there were enough of them so that I didn't have to wait long. I did hear the washing machines thumping away and someone commented that they don't clean your clothes, just make them smell nicer!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Home Valley Station ("HV8" for short, the cattle brand) for a day and a night as part of a broader flying Kimberley region tour. We had heard great things about this place and really wanted to experience it for ourselves. After "roughing" it for a few days prior to our arrival at HV8 staying in safari tents (not really "rough" but "rustic") the guest room at we were allocated was a welcome sight. The facilities are first class for such a remote area and the activities such as horse riding, walk trails and scenic flights keep the interest and adrenalin levels high. The central Dusty's Bar, an open sided shelter made from an old aircraft hangar, serves an array of great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and also is the place where live performances, such as country solo artists and bands are presented. The accommodation ranges from basic campsites right up to luxury guest suites, the supporting facilities are excellent and the activities many and varied. Added to this HV8 is an accredited training facility for the local indigenous students. Of course it is also a working cattle station, I forgot to mention that part. Do yourself a big favour and get to the Kimberley and get to HV8, Home Valley Station. A special mention about Ben and Matt the GM and Ops Manager respectively who went out of their way to make us welcome.

Room Tip: If you can score a luxury riverside suite then spend the extra money for a truly unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulin, Western Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Attended the resort for a wedding. Accommodation, staff, (Ben, Simon, Matt, Sarah, Tim, & Elizabeth) venue, food, were fantastic!! My hubby was MC for the wedding and he is over the moon with the organisation the staff did. Have been to other resorts in the Kimberley's and this one is the best by far. Stayed the from Friday to Monday and standard of food never faltered. Awesome live music Corey Collum!

Room Tip: Stayed in the guest house, has it's own private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
60.4 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
60.4 mi away
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
Pinctada Kimberley Grande
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
60.5 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
60.6 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#2 of 17 in Kununurra
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
61.2 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Valley Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Valley Station

Address: Gibb River Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Valley Station 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home Valley Station we pride ourselves on providing guests with the ultimate Australian outback experience. Accommodation across the Station provides options for travellers of all preferences - from those who prefer their rugged outback adventure with a twist of luxury to those seeking a more intimate experience. Our spacious Grass Castles on idyllic Bindoola Creek are lavishly appointed, providing guests with the ultimate in outback lodging. Homestead Guesthouse Rooms provide a comfortable retreat and are perfect for couples and families. The safari-style Eco Tents, located in a quiet bush setting, will impress those seeking to connect with nature. Those wishing to roll out a swag under the stars are invited to enjoy the Gibb River Road's best camping facilities at our Homestead and the picture perfect Bindoola River Bush Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Home Valley Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Valley Station Hotel Kununurra
Home Valley Station Kununurra, Australia - Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Valley Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.