We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of lake argyle cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Argyle Cruises

Lake Argyle Cruises
| Lake Argyle, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
0891687687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Activities in Kununurra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Argyle was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of this country's largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once "Argyle Downs", a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wildernessin the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named "Lake Argyle", this majestic waterway can at times encompass an area of more than 2000km2, a volume equivalent to 54 Sydney Harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developedinto a unique eco system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better way to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialisedcharters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Exmouth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best of lake argyle cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

FANTASTIC. We went for the six hour (plus) cruise with 4 children on board. It was an amazing day and we felt truly immersed in the day and the experience. There was something for everyone and Both Greg (bus) and Matt on the tour let us know what was going to happen for the day. It was so packed with interesting things to see and do and the day kept going on and on (in a good way!!). We came off the boat so thrilled to have spent the day (and our money) with this company. The only problem is that no other cruise on our 3 month holiday has come close to as good as this one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a great little outfit for seeing this spectacular lake. The guide was so knowledgeable as was the owner, the boat was comfortable and all our needs were met. One of the nicest tours my Mum and I have been on.
Thanks guys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful sunset cruise. Most from our trip around the Kimberleys went onto the sunset cruise and it was a fantastic afternoon. We saw Rock Wallabys, euros, freshies, all sorts of fish and birds and docked for a swim and bubbly before watching the sunset . I found Matts comentary very useful and knowledgable and would recommend this cruise for a great arvo out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent cruise. Great day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from the full day Best of Lake Argyle cruise. I had such a great time. The cruise boat is great and well stocked for the cruise. Matt, our tour guide, was brilliant - very knowledgeable, friendly and professional at all times (even when handling a young precocious kid who was very demanding of his time). We did a bit of everything - spotting rock wallabies, crocs, fish, wallaroos and a lot of the local bird life.

We were provided with a snack of fruit after fossicking for zebra stone on one of the small islands in the lake. It was the small touches like providing cold cloth towels to everyone after the sticky fruit so we could clean up and refresh. Cold water, coffee, tea and biscuits were available all day at the back of the boat.

We then ended the cruise by stopping near and island to watch a beautiful sunset for a drink and nibbles. Beer, wine and doft drink were provided. We could also go swimming off the boat as there is a swim ladder attached to the back of the boat. It was a definite "pinch me" moment to be swimming in the lake at sunset and then climbing aboard to have a drink and nibbles whilst the sun was setting over the water.

I thoroughly recommend all visitors to kununurra take the cruise. It's money well spent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This cruise was superb cruise, skipper Matt gave a relaxed but detailed commentary as we cruised around the lake. We saw fresh water crocodiles,rock wallabies,wallaroos , lots of fish and bird life including a sea eagle nest and a stork's nest, where we saw their young who had left the nest.
It seemed odd that having scrambled up a number of gorges and escapements you could just cruise to the top on water as the tops are now islands.
The afternoon was topped off with a swim and a glass of bubbly and a tray of biscuits and dips which we consumed while watching a magnificent sunset.
This cruise should not be missed.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Western Australia
Kununurra, Western Australia
 
Kununurra, Western Australia
Kununurra, Western Australia
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Argyle Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.