We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great large 'country type' hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCracken Country Club

Save Saved
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McCracken Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in McCracken
hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great large 'country type' hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

impressed with this hotel - built around a golfing area. Rooms had balconies with views of the golf park. The Bar/bistro was very cute - still retained an 'old english' feel about it. Food was great. Has pokies.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    101
    40
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
142
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

One of the best places I have stayed in in SA. Must be new as the place is so clean and the staff are very attentive. The indoor pool is good and the mini-bar prices are not through the roof. The spa bath in our room was wonderful and the room had plenty of space to move around in.

Being a bit out of town and near a golf course, it is very quiet so you'll get a good night's sleep. Did get breakfast so can't comment on that, but the little cafe/general store just out of the estate near the roundabout (across the road from the petrol station), does a cheap satisfying breakfast.

Cheap internet too - 5 hrs for $20, and we could park right outside our room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I spent two weeks travelling South Australia (Sales Rep) and this Hotel was the best I stayed in and the cheapest (got a promotional deal for $99 for the night).

It was the cleanest hotel I stayed in while being in SA (and I stayed 10 different hotels while in SA). The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel gym was great for the space it had - you could work nearly every muscle using alternative methods - free weights, pin loaded weights, cardio equipment. Indoor pool. Restaurant on site. Heaps of space in the room. The beds are comfy, the bathroom clean and a responsible size.

And it's about a 5mins drive to Coles and the hub of town.

I didn't want to leave.

Would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

I stayed here in April 2009. I booked the "romance package" which included 1 nights accommodation, champagne, chocolates, and late check out. When we stayed the weather was extremely poor (not unsurprising for the time of year!) but we truly did not want to leave our room!

Upon arriving we were told we'd been upgraded to an apartment. It was beautifully decorated, clean, spacious and had two huge bedrooms and a large bathroom. There was also a large window that overlooked the golf course which was lovely. I truly could not fault the room or its amenities (e.g. the full kitchen).

The service was immaculate, the girl at the desk was incredibly friendly and made us feel so welcome - the perfect combination of relaxed and professional. We ordered room service which was at a great price, the menu had nice, casual food such as fish and chips, which suited us perfectly. There are free movies though I have to admit the selection was pretty dismal!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and my partner and I still speak fondly of it! I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

At AU$99 per night, this was excellent value. Overlooked the golf course. The room was of a very high standard. The only down side was that there was no elevator to the floor we were on. Staff carried our luggage on arrival and would have if asked on departure; but we chose not to ask.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We stayed last week in the two br. villa. It was an excellent choice for a few days touring the surrounding area. A quiet haven near to busy Victor Harbor, during the last week of school. The accommodation was apart from the main building, a short drive, but very clean and comfortable, with every convenience.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant, which was convenient and good choice, with lovely views over the course.
We would stay there again, it was all we wanted for a few days away and relaxing surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for a work conference for one night and then a further night with my husband. The hotel is modern, friendly and has a lovely setting surrounded by an immaculate golf course and is just out of Victor Harbour. For the first night I stayed with colleagues in one of the apartments. We were all very impressed with this accommodation. The apartments had very modern fittings, spacious lounge, kitichen and balcony with a flat screen TV and king size bed (or two singles)in every bedroom. The second night I transferred to a one bedroom suite in the main part of the hotel. This was obviously built earlier and although fine with a great view, not quite up to the standard of the apartments. I ate at the hotel on the first night and breakfast next day. Food was okay but not great however the coffee was really good. The hotel has a bar (happy hour Friday night) and bistro, cocktail lounge as well as restaurant and for entertainment - apart from the golf course(my husband played and commented on the friendly service), a pool and gym, so it didnt feel isolated like some country clubs and there is plenty to do. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.