We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McCracken Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
McCracken Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Belair, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at McCracken country club 4 times previously and we have had no complaints until now. For our 5th time we decided to book 3 rooms and bring 4 of our friends with us, and we are absolutely embarrassed we recommended McCracken to them. Eating at the bistro our food took a long time to come out and when it did it was disappointing, it was on the cold side, our schnitzel was burnt and our steak was tough. Our room was very grimy,the walls were heavily marked, there was dust on the skirting boards, the fan and the tops of the powerpoints and light switches. The spa in the bathroom was sticky like it was covered in hairspray, the bottom of the shower screen had a good 20cm of soap scum and the bottoms of the shower tiles were brown. We were hoping it was just our room that was like this but unfortunately all 3 were as bad as each other. However the cleaners were absolutely lovely and did a thorough service when we complained to them.

Not sure if we will be returning which is sad when we've had 4 previously lovely stays. It doesn't seem like a 4 1/2 star standard resort anymore.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you your feedback, it's disappointing to read your comments and as a result of them we have certainly had a call to action. Please except our apologies for the standard of the rooms and we hope that you will stay with us again so you can see the improvements first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    169
    63
    13
    9
See reviews for
72
250
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Barker, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Arrival greeting very good, all 5 rooms booked as per booking. All staff pleasant, polite and helpfull. We booked the Terrace with BBQ for private function and this was all setup to our satisfaction with resort supplying plates, cutlery, tools & condiments. Pool clean, but heavily clorinated at 32 deg. The spa bubbles did not work. Golf arranged through Pro Shop was organised well thanks to Ben and Ann-Marie.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of the facilities that we have available within the resort facility. We look forward to welcoming you back some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here for business. Had several colleagues staying and the rooms were quite variable. I think I had one of the least expensive ones (to my colleagues' great amusement). It was small, but it was functional, had a good little kitchenette, quite new fittings and a lovely little bathroom with a spa bath. It sounds very picky, but the reason I've only rated it three stars was because the room never felt cosy or welcoming - everything was a bit firm or hard, and the lighting at night had an eerie white or greenish tinge. Definitely worth moving to warm white globes! In-room breakfast and the lunch catering were very good. We had a business dinner buffet one night and the food was not great. Sorry, but it was a bit dry and tasteless. The staff and service were lovely, however, and the public areas had great warmth and charm. McCracken would just be great if they extended that ambience to all rooms (my colleagues described their rooms and they sounded pretty spacious and fantastic and I am sure they weren't just having me on!) and ensured a bit more consistency with the food. My advice? Be very selective about your room type and don't pick the bbq buffet for your large group.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments in relation to your stay. Your feed back is very constructive and we will certainly take your comments on board, it's always good to gauge your product from a consumers perspective and you certainly raise some interesting points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Rooms pleasant and clean but appallingly slow service in the restaurant with a poor response from staff when we complained. Then a refusal to give a refund for an overcooked meal that was twice returned to the kitchen. Stay here but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments, were all pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and found it comfortable and clean. Sincere apologies for your dining experience, I think were better than this. I'm disappointed we didn't deliver on this occasion and rest assure your comments will be taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and stayed here for the weekend and it was just perfect. The room was nice and clean, modern and nice and roomy.
The staff were all great and friendly and very accomadating and it was just a pleasure to stay.
Cant say anything about the restuarants or food as we didnt eat there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, we try very hard to provide clean and comfortable accommodation and were all glad you appreciate the effort. The next time you stay with us please try the new menu we are introducing I'm sure it will be well worth trying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Thank you for our accommodation over the weekend. We enjoyed our Balcony Spa Suite and the great views over the links golf course and hills beyond. The weekend package was great value as was our dinner in the Bistro area which we enjoyed. The reception staff were very friendly and offered there help if needed during our stay. Recommended for an affordable stay in accommodation offering resort facilities.
Thanks again Clayton.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Clayton,

Thank you for your kind comments, were all really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Victor Harbour booked out for Tour Down Under, lovely ladies at Info Centre booked us into this gem, Initially thought it would be much too dear, but no!
Great room, vista and services. Tried the pool, spa and sauna all very nice.
If you are looking for quiet and a bit of luxury at normal hotel prices you can't go past this venue!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful assessment of our product, facilities and service associated with your recent stay. We try and position ourselves as a affordable family friendly resort than can provide a relaxed atmosphere with a good range of facilities and food & beverage options for our guests to enjoy.All the very best for 2014 and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCracken
1.5 mi away
Anchorage at Victor Harbor
Anchorage at Victor Harbor
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
18.8 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
Comfort Inn Victor Harbor
#5 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apollon Motor Inn
Apollon Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.