We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WHAT IT'S McCRACKED UP TO BE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McCracken Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
McCracken Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT IT'S McCRACKED UP TO BE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For a 4 & half star resort we expected it to be better,
Had a spa room and that was good but the bed was like sleeping on concrete, we didn't have a good sleep for two nights!
We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night as they had a special $10.90 Schnitzel night we both ordered this, then when the bill came found out it was an extra $7.00 for the topping, now how is that a special!!.
We ate at Red Orchid in Victor the next night they had nice food for a good price.
We also had two mornings of buffet breakfast which was very standard, had to ask for poached eggs and which took forever to come out and when they did they were almost hard boiled.
No fresh fruit unless you want it out of a prepacked tub from the supermarket and the cooked food was very scarce, you could see the staff were only topping food up only if they had to.
Overall we found this country club to be average on par with many good motels around.

Room Tip: Ask for a softer mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    121
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
179
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Haven SA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at McCracken and found the facilities excellent and the staff friendly, helpful and professional. The room was large and comfortable and the view spectacular. Dinner at the Baudin Restaurant was memorable. We booked for the Bistro on one night but were repelled by very loud singing and guitar playing by a young female performer. When we left before ordering our meal, the bistro supervisor offered to deliver the meal to our room and also gave us a complimentary glass of wine. Well done Heidi!
Three pleasant days. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Thanks to a bargain Wotif deal we stayed in a luxurious balcony spa room for a bargain price. We also had a 2 for 1 breakfast deal and thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfasts. The staff were very helpful and lovely to deal with.
The room was spacious with a view over the golf course. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at McCracken Country Club and we have never been disappointed. We have stayed in an Executive King Spa Room and a Balcony Spa Room and each time the accommodation has been perfect, comfortable and spotless. It is very peaceful with views over the golf course. Our holiday included a buy one get one free breakfast, we chose the continental buffet breakfast, there is so much to choose from and it is all great food and excellent value. The bistro has some great specials on evening meals too, well worth a visit. The staff on reception and in the bistro are always very friendly and helpful. What we liked least on this trip was the fact that we had only booked to one night, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had short stay at McCracken in order to play golf with friends. Booking accommodation and a round of golf was easy. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Our rooms were well appointed, clean and quiet. We had a great view over the golf course and a balcony to sit on for pre-dinner drinks and chit-chat.
We were surprised how busy the complex was for an early week night, but then realized it was 2 for the price of 1 meal in their restaurant that night. What a great idea! It obviously attracted regular locals and was a bonus for we visitors. Meals were fine - good size, tasty and pleasing to the eye. The restaurant wasn't fine dining, but we weren't expecting that. Staff were very helpful and ready to please with selections of food and wine. The wine list was good and very reasonably priced.

The golf course was popular and really well cared for. It offers challenges and great views.

We'd recommend McCracken to people who want a short get away in a facility that has so much to offer.

Room Tip: We really liked our balcony room. It provided a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed only one night in the two story furnished apartment. The bedrooms and bedding were good but everything was a little bit tired. The country club for dinner however was great, we had an excellent meal (although 15 dollars for bringing our own wine, bought from a local winery was a bit steep) and the kids enjoyed the location. My wife played golf but unfortunately, due to a competition on the day, play was very slow and she only managed 9 holes before we had to move on. A longer stay might have been better but we didn't have much time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in a Balcony Spa Room. Fantastic very peaceful beautiful views of the golf course. Meals were wonderful value especially the specials of the day. Wine $4 a glass for bubbly where else? Continental breakfast was included awesome. Will definately stay again

Room Tip: Definately choose a Balcony Spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.