We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McCracken Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
McCracken Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

While the staff were very friendly and helpful I was very disappointed in the room accomodation. It was on par with a much cheaper alternative. When sitting at the dining table in the room we were bitten by ants. The balcony area was very dirty with bird droppings across the width of the window and door, rusty outdoor furniture and cobwebs covering the balistrading. The grout in the bathroom was missing in places and the pillows were like rocks.The Bistro was very nice and the food and staff excellent. However, I feel the accomodation was NOT value for money.

Room Tip: View from the Balcony Spa Suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    123
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
181
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the McCracken Country Club. It overlooks and amazing golf course. We are not golfers but enjoyed the view from the restaurant and the beautiful meals. The staff were very friendly and welcoming too. Hightly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was overall quite nice. Nice room with good views over the golf course from our balcony spa room. Spa was smaller than i expected but still okay. Swimming pool was beautiful. Great breakfast included in our package. A/c and fans were noisy at night. The bathroom had a noisy venting system that you couldnt control.

Room Tip: Balcony spa facing the golf course. I think i would go for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our experience was so relaxing and comfortable, with lovely views while eating breakie at the Bistro. We were so busy that we didn't have time to use the pool but we enjoyed the spa bath in our room! The location was ideal, as it was on a hill overlooking the pretty scenery. It's minutes away from Victa and Port Elliot. We'd love to stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the golf course had the best views but the afternoon sun was intense
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Did not stay at the Motel but dined in the McCracken Restaurant , Found the service excellant , they were a little late coming out with my husband's food and apologised , they served a free round of drinks to compensate for the late delivery, which was a nice touch, They also give 20% off for RSL members , they took $40 off the bill on our table of 4 , all being RSL members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were more than happy with the accommodation and the helpful girls on reception especially Kylie..The breakfast was excellent also. We enjoyed our stay very much! Shall certainly book again..the closeness of the town centre, Port Elliot, Middleton and Goolwa were great to visit too.

Room Tip: Just ask reception, when phoning/email, for a balcony room..wonderful view of 1st tee
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the to leave such nice comments. I'm glad that Kylie helped make your stay an enjoyable one and that you were able to visit some of the great places the south coast has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williunga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Although we live less that 40 kms from Victor Harbor, McCraken offers a time to relax and wander around the nearby towns of Pt Elliott and Goolwa, as well as Victor Harbor. The staff are most friendly and remedied a couple of minor meal mistakes. Yes the kitchen was busy!
Great views and an opportunity to read and share quiet times over the 3 nights.
There are new shops around the towns and they and others are full of surprises.

Room Tip: Choose those facing north or south for the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us but must apologise for any mistakes with your meals, be them minor or not.I'm glad you could use this time to relax and explore the area. We hope to see you next time you need a small break.

Dan Court
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.