We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and facilities are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCracken Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
McCracken Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic location and facilities are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The only issue we had was we thought the restaurant and the bistro had different menus. A tad disappointed with this as we booked the restaurant in advance to our stay at night and we had lunch in bistro and when it was the same it was overkill. This is the only negative in what was otherwise a wonderful and pleasurable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    121
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
179
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. The room was lovely but we asked to be moved on the first night as we had noisy neighbours. Staff arranged the move and all was good. The next day we had a car "accident" and were, as a result, confined to the resort for the rest of our lengthened stay. Management were fantastic and did all they could to assist us. Staff, from front reception, golf shop and grounds people were all very helpful, friendly and courteous. The staff turned what could have been a disaterous time into a positive, enjoyable experience. Would return here again, maybe without the car!! Schnitzel night at the Clubhouse Bistro was a favourite with myself and my daughter. Very good value for money. We have stayed here previously but prefered this stay, with rooms on the southern side of the complex.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed 1 night with 2 friends for a golf trip. Very nice, clean, quiet, spacious room overlooking the course. Great service in the bistro/bar for dinner and breakfast. Very enjoyable, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After buying a voucher to stay at McCracken, I decided to stay for a couple of nights during the week, hoping it would be a quiet break from work. I was wrong! Nothing quiet about it. The first room I was given was at the top of the main staircase, above reception, looking out on the main carpark - needless to say, I walked straight out again. The second room was slightly better (and slightly more expensive, of course) - lovely view of the golf course. Quite dated rooms, but clean. Unfortunately it was directly under a dining room with wooden floors so again, not very quiet. I could have overlooked all this though, as the staff was very helpful and overall the service very good. The only time I wondered what I was doing there was the first night at dinner - We went up for a drink before dinner, only to find a staff member sitting in prime position at a table in front of the fire in the pub - coughing and spluttering, talking loudly on her mobile phone and eating her dinner out of a take-away container. I think this is unacceptable at any time, but especially at 6pm at night! Very unfortunate as its quite a nice place to stay otherwise.

Room Tip: Not in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband, myself and our 2 teenage daughters had a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights from 25th Sept 2012. We had a holiday deal through Sun seeker Travel, and I would definitely use them again. (This was the second stay for my husband and myself). The apartment was just as fantastic as the views from our balcony. I was very impressed with the spa in the bathroom and also the appliances in the apartment and I could not fault the cleanliness. We were lucky to have perfect weather for the time of the year, but unfortunately we didn't get to use the pool as it was full when we went to have a swim, but definitely a popular spot for the little ones, as was the putting green outside out apartment. It was just so peaceful and relaxing, apart from the birds chirping on our balcony and the lovely fountain outside, it was very quiet. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but spent some time in the bar which was very nice and all the locals were very friendly. The Manger and staff all worked really hard to make sure the guests were happy and attended to promptly and I cannot fault their commitment. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner spent 3 nights here and loved it. The first night we were in the Balconey Spa room WOW the views where amazing the room was just beautiful and it was set in more an apartment style building, the spa was massive. The last 2 nights we stayed in the standard spa room, this was in the motel part of the resort and it was also very nice although we had no view the room was lovely and the spa bath was still a decent size. The indoor pool was located so close the last 2 nights the we used it a lot it's a really nice area. We had breakfast included the first night which was awesome the following 2 nights we did not and we choose to eat there the first morning but being fairly expensive choose to not eat there the next morning. There is a few pokies just off the restaurant so that was pretty cool. The staff where very pleasant and the service was good, rooms where lovely. I'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in a King room with balcony and spa. The staff were delightful, the rooms were spotless, the food was perfect.

On both mornings we were treated to a beautiful rainbow over the Hindmarsh Valley when we opened the blinds; and various little birds going in and out of the trees right in front of the bistro window kept us entertained over breakfast.

The towels in the bathroom were too small, most places we stay at have bath sheets so that was a bit of a disappointment.

Would we stay again? Absolutely!.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the golf course and Hindmarsh Valley would be first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWCourt, General Manager at McCracken Country Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your recent stay with us. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your visit to McCracken and hopefully next time you will be able to get on the golf course. I have passed your comments on to my reception team as the level of communication and information you received was far from what we expect from them. Hopefully you will get a chance to return soon (with your golf clubs), to re-experience everything we have to offer.

Kind regards

Dan Court
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.