We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view to wake up to each morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCracken Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added McCracken Country Club to your Saves list
McCracken Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a view to wake up to each morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had two nights here in Aug 2012. Very pleasant staff and helpful.
Our rooms very clean - the view over the golf course was quiet and great view.
Even if you don't play golf it's worth a stay.
A car is needed as it is 5 or so minutes from centre
Would recommend

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    121
    51
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
179
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here with my husband as part of the Winter deal (Spa room for $99 per night)

Were able to check in at 2.30pm (when we arrived from the city), check in staff were very polite.

Made our way down to the bistro for lunch. $9.90 lunch specials, salt & pepper calamari is to die for. Views of the golf course, etc are a lovely backdrop while you're enjoying your meal.

Had a wander around the property, its very nice and very well maintained. We are not into golf, so did not experience it to the fullest, but still enjoyed it.

Went to Furphy's bar for cocktail hour, reasonably priced and quite tasty.

Restaurant was closed for a private function, had to have dinner in the bistro.
Used Entertainment Book card for this, ended up getting the seafood platter for $35. It was amazing taste and value (even at full price, we would get this)

It was very loud in there due to a couple of large groups having dinner as well as everyone getting into Friday night football, but did not bother us.

Bed in the room was very comfortable, Spa was very nice.

Did not have the buffet breakfast, as we ended up leaving early to make our way to Victor Harbor Farmers Market.

It is in a very good location, a very short drive from the main street in Victor Harbor and not far from Port Elliott.

We definelty would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely weekend away at the property. Helpful staff, great pool/sauna and in-room spa facilities BUT the room walls are extremely thin. For a light sleeper like myself, sleep wasn't possible until neighbours had stopped watching tv, finished showering and finished walking around/talking in their room. The property wasn't even half full at the time so if we'd asked for a room without neighbours either side then our stay would have been amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from others if possible - if your neighbours are watching tv, showering or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Apartment accommodation was very comfortable, with all facilities avaiable as advertised.

Room cleaning was OK but could be improved to meet the advertised standard of this property.

All windows were in desperate need of cleaning! Spoilt the outlook view. Attention to maintenence could be a little better. Cupboard door hinges needed adjustment, dishwasher need minor repairs.
This was our 5th or 6th stay and in spite of above would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was the first time we had visited this resort and it will definitely not be the last. The facilities are excellent and the views spectacular. The service prompt and the staff friendly and helpfull. We ate in the bistro and found the food excellent and well presented and with the special offers very affordable. Our room was very comfortable although it would have been nice to have a couple of T.V. chairs as watching T.V. in bed is not that comfortable and the dining chairs were not suitable for sitting in too long for older people. Other than that small thing we will be going again and again for a most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: King Balcony excellent and extremely quiet and view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We loved the stay here. Clean, quite, modern, but still close to everything. Room smells nice and was very spacious. Nice view looking out over the golf course and the water in the far distance. Very happy, would stay here again if we could get the same last minute rates!

Room Tip: Fourth level in the executive spa suite was excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a beautiful apartment overlooking the golf course - would've liked to stay longer! Staff were very good, the accommodation was spotlessly clean. We particularly enjoyed arriving to a warm room - the heating was on prior to our arrival - very nice on a cold evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCracken Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCracken Country Club

Address: McCracken Drive, McCracken, Victor Harbor, South Australia 5211, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Victor Harbor > McCracken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in McCracken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McCracken Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCracken Country Club is a 4 star resort overlooking the championship golf course at Victor Harbor, on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McCracken Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Harbor Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCracken Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.