We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth visiting 2-3 of them to get an idea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Churches in the Troodos Region

Painted Churches in the Troodos Region
Cyprus
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting 2-3 of them to get an idea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you are in the Troodos area, try to include a visit to these churches as part of your itinerary. You should definetely do this if you are renting a car. There are actually 10 churches and as a local i ve only visited 6 of them so far! They are all impressive with magnificent frescoes and interesting architecture. If you visit 2 or 3 you still get the idea. I would definetely recommend (i) Virgin Mary Phorbiotissa (also known as Our Lady of Asinou) near the village of Nikitari, (ii) Agios Nikolaos Stegis near the village of Kakopetria, with the impressive double roof (stegi) and (iii) Agios Ioannis Lampadistis Church in the village of Kalopanayiotis, which is my favourite. These 3 churches are easliy accessible (compared to others that are more difficult to find). As other commentators mentioned, some churhes are sometimes locked and its difficult to locate the key holder. The 3 churches i mentioned are quite popular and whenever i went, they were open and there was always someone there (eg the local priest) who was willing to give a small tour for the visitors and point out the unique frescoes and other artifacts. You can visit all 3 churches in the same day. The route is very nice as you are surrnounded by green forest. Close to the church of Asinou there is a tavern where you can have a stop. The village of OLD Kakopetria (5 minutes drive from church 2) is also lovely and maybe you should consider a stop there too. And finally for church number 3 in Kalopanayiotis, there is also a very interesting museum with Byzantine artifacts next to the church. From the church you can see the village of Kalopanayiotis which is very pretty and within walking distance. Very near the church there is a small river with an old bridge and its nice to go for a walk there too. Do consult the following site on the internet (The Cypriot Monuments of UNESCO Religious Route), for the opening / closing times of each church as it would be a great pity to visit and find them closed - the interesting bits are inside the churches! Arrange you itineray accordingly, but with the above suggestions you can spend a very nice WHOLE day in the Cypriot mountains!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The delightful Painted churches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ranging in building eras from 1100 to 1500 these little stone churches are delightful. Unfortunately many have to be kept locked against thieves and vandals and finding the key holders is hard work! Worth the effort, though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
270 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Unesco knowns how to underline hidden gems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We approach 3 of the 10 churches on the Unesco list and fully understand why they have been put under safety. From the outside most of them do not look astonishing, actually in some smaller cities one could walk next by and not notice what is hidden inside. The quality of the paintings and the small cities they are located in make it nice mixture of history. Byzantine churches at their best.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Focus your efforts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are always on the look out to chalk up another UNESCO site so we made a real effort here. We went in October, so out of season and I think that was important. The churches are all small and I suspect many of them are now not used and if they are it will be a very specific times, as such for the majority of the day, they are shut. The churches are very spread out and it requires a dedicated trip to reach one, which is a real frustration if you then find it is closed. We made 5 attempts to visit 3 churches and managed to get inside only 2 of them.
Once we got in one then it was lovely but care needs to be taken in working out whether it will be open, so I can see the attraction of an organised tour. We manaded to get into two which had the benefit of being in or near large places, so the foot traffic justified the place being open or manned. We went to the church of St Michael in Pedoulas opposite a museum and the church of St Nicholas outside Kakopetria (which closes at 16:00 in october not 18:00 as the lonely planet indicates).
The churches are a window into a simpler smaller more devout world, and if I could get into more of them would get 4 stars...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are visiting Kykkos Monastery then it is definitely worth visiting some of the painted churches along the way. They are all impressive. You will not be able to take photos.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Churches in the Troodos Region also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Platres, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Painted Churches in the Troodos Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Churches in the Troodos Region, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.