We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the snow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Eva Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Eva Luna to your Saves list
Villa Eva Luna
4 calle Marico | playa Las Ballenas, Las Terrenas 809, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Las Terrenas B&B and Inns
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Away from the snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I spent a week at Eva Luna and was not anxious to return to the cold and snow. Aude and her staff were fabulous. She arranged for a taxi to and from El Catey Airport and also scheduled tours with Flora Tours. My room was clean and wifi was good. Wifi is included with the room unlike some other hotels I researched. Breakfast was good too and you got a menu of 4-5 choices.

The beach is a short 2-3 minute walk down a gravel/stone street (we would call it an alley in the US). You will need a flashlight if you are walking in the dark. Beach towels are provided and there are lounge chairs on the beach anyone can use.

I walked into town for dinner. Pueblo de los Pescadores, where there is a row of restaurants, is about a 20 to 25 minute walk. Another 10 minutes is El Paseo where you can find a selection of stores.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My Wife & I stayed at Eva Luna for 11 days & enjoyed every minute there. Aude & her staff were friendly & did a wonderful job of attending to us with everything from bringing breakfast daily to arranging reservations for whale watching. The villas are very roomy, clean & comfortable. The pool is beautiful & well maintained. The beach is just a short walk away & the village is within walking distance. The landscaping is beautiful & the gentleman that maintains it is very pleasant & does a fantastic job. It was beyond our expectations & we are already talking about returning soon. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Spent three nights here. Quite lovely. The owners and staff are caring and attentive. The villa and grounds were clean and comfortable. Spacious even, with a good kitchen. The village has an excellent supermarket, so the facilities come in handy for preparing your duck confit with field greens and yucca. The unpaved road to the beach was a bit of a challenge to walk, given some puddling from rain, but only about 5 minute hike. The beach is soft pearly sand bordered by Caribbean/Mediterranean homes, with good restaurants on the sand (try Eden). Pétanque is an early evening happening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everything about Eva Luna is comfortable and tasteful. The rooms are gorgeous, the breakfasts that Marfi makes are fantastic, and the pool is a dream. We were there for seven nights and Eva Luna was a great base for us to jump off from whether it was renting a Quad, day tripping to various beaches, or walking into town for dinner and drinks. Thank you Eva Luna for an amazing week away from hustle of NYC!

Room Tip: all rooms looked gorgeous. We stayed in the first room on the left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godmanchester qc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are looking for a very quiet and cozy place away from the overcrowed all inclusive hotels of 1000 people + this is the place to stay and at reasonable prices. Home cooked breakfast included is excellent and you can order the way you like.Lodging is very comfortable and very quiet, near the beaches and the small fishing village of Las Terrenas.The owner Aude was very attentive to our requests . We stayed as a couple 14 days from March 6 to march 20 2013. The weather was excellent and the water temperature was very comfortable. We highly recommend the 5 small villas of Eva Luna. Marie and Richard

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in Feb 2013. We liked the free parking on site and the free wifi in the rooms. The bungalows are set in a quiet tropical garden around a pool. They are large, clean and have an adequate kitchenette. The owner was friendly and offered to help with information and tours and made sure we had all that we needed. The breakfast is served to you on the porch of your bungalow. We like the smaller touches like wo pillows for each guest. ample drinking water with dispenser, mossie coils as well as nets at the window, pool towels in the room. During our three week trip we stayed at six other hotels of similar standard/cost and at all of them these smaller things were either not available or you had to ask.
The only downside was the 200m long bumpy unlit track to the property

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Eva Luna Villas over the weekend. The premises are in very good condition. It is very cozy as there are about 6 or 7 villas on the property independent of one another. The rooms have a ceiling fan and air conditioning. All work. There's hot water and plenty of room in the bath/shower area. The windows have mosquito nets in case you're not interested in the AC. There's no TV, perfect for couples. You can hear birds chirping all morning. It gives it a nice touch.

The pool was kept clean, as well as the rooms. Having a full kitchen is a plus, although we only used the refrigerator.

Breakfast is prepared on demand and placed in the dining area of your villa. It's a continental breakfast, so not much we can say about it. But the service from the maids is friendly and accommodating.

The only recommendation we have for the owners is to place more signs on the "main road" on Playa Ballenas, and in the dirt roads around the properly. It is easy to get lost if you're not familiar with the neighborhood. The dirt road leading to the villas is about two blocks from the beach. We recommend having some sort of transportation to avoid walking. It is very dark at night (as with all B&B properties in Las Terrenas).

We would recommend Eva Luna Villas to our friends and acquaintances.

Room Tip: It is a walled compound. All rooms are in front of the pool area. Makes no difference which one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Eva Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Eva Luna

Address: 4 calle Marico | playa Las Ballenas, Las Terrenas 809, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensemble de cinq villas de charme concues pour deux ou quatre personnes, entre amis, en famille ou en amoureux. Decoration soignee, belle piscine centrale. Accueil chaleureux de toute l'equipe. Situes a 5 mn du centre de Las Terrenas. Petits dejeuners inclus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Eva Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Luna Villas Hotel Las Terrenas
Villa Eva Luna Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Eva Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.