We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Bonita 1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
London, Canada
1 review
“Most pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful beach. Go to the right by the surfing school or in the extreme right past the little river for a very calm private time away from major waves. Perfect jogging. Perfect scuba diving off the islands across from the hotel. The hosts are a young French couple very passionate about their new homeland and most helpful in all bookings. Their advices are precious. There are dogs on the island and a few hang around. They are friendly and mostly distant though they dislike moderately the occasional moto-taxi coming down the beach walkway. I thought they rather added to the experience because although they do not all have designated owners they are healthy fixed --thanks to a team of German volunteer vets--and fed. They are well behaved and used to the numerous visitors and guests who enjoy the hotel. I seldom had a better experience in a country of limited economy. The people are very friendly in the town and villages. Follow the fares as understood and recommended by the hotel owners as guidelines as you barter the prices. I recommend renting a qwad. Horse riding on the beach. The guagua to the Tainos museum for the not faint of heart. Well done and haunting history of their genocide. The coffee road and the the Moron beach were fun visit. For lovers of jewelry ask about the local stone. The owner is a "foodie" and has a very creative menu. He also gives simple dishes upon request. I positively loved my stay there

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you just have to trust your gut! I will not recommend doing this for non locals because it is too risky but we drove from santo Domingo to Las Terrenas after lunch on a Saturday over a long weekend without a room reservation on an impulse. We wanted to stay overnight beachside in lovely Playa Bonita. Hotels we had stayed before were fully booked but after enjoying bathing and eating a superb late lunch with lobster and grilled fish at Rest. Luis in Playa Cosón, Swiss pastries and expresso at Mocambo's, we finally went looking for two rooms with air conditioning and wi-fi at a reasonable price. Our search lasted 10 minutes and to say the least, we were very blessed by locating Casa Grande, a 10 room boutique hotel in a spacious property right where we wanted! Owners Pascal and Valerie had just arrived from France and accomodated all our needs and more! Continental breakfast was included and the restaurant met our expectations for lunch. Rooms are basic and ranged in size but our front #6 was huge! Everything worked! Staff was superb friendly, the garden in front of the beach was well kept and had comfortable chaise lounges. The beach was a little rough that day in front of the hotel but we were able to enjoy the available 2 person kayak just by walking one minute to a suitable entry location. Overall, a pleasant stay. NOTE If you love nature, french cuisine and the simple life, Casa Grande is for you.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Unlike some hotels in the Las Terrenas area, Casa Grande allows dogs to roam freely on the grounds, off-leash. So dog-owners seem to flock to this place, and at various times in the day there can be packs of them, virtually out of control. I was attacked by two dogs in the afternoon of Nov. 30, 2012, while walking back from a swim beyond the point. I was badly bitten in the left calf by one of them. The dog owners were staying at the Casa Grande, and were lounging on the chairs beside the beach promenade. They did absolutely nothing to help me, although they could plainly see the blood streaming down my leg. This speaks volumes about the type of people staying at the Casa Grande. I would never go near the place again.

Room Tip: Playa Bonita can have a lot of mosquitoes from November to February. Make sure that the room can be...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Pros:
On a beautiful beach - go to the left and around the point for the most beautiful, serene swimming.
Very laid back. Owners not there during our stay, but the caretakers were exceedingly friendly and accommodating.
Cons:
Rooms need updating, some paint at the very least.Not very clean.
Beds/linens/drapes/lamps/towels - need new ones! Had only two very thin bath towels in bathroom.
For $90 per night, would expect some amenities other than one bar of soap in the bathroom.
Breakfast consisted of coffee, some fruit, and a little bread, so if you want something else you are out of luck.
The fish we had for dinner was dry and not good, also overpriced for what you get.
No credit card machine so it is cash only.
Oh, and if you want to have the air conditioner on while you're there, you have to pay an additional $15.

BRING MOSQUITO REPELLENT. I had the worst bites ever.

Room Tip: One facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Casa Grande is located right at one of the most beautiful beaches in Samana. The staff is attentive and helpful, and the breakfast very nice. It has a wonderful garden which is lovely for reading or hanging out. The rooms are simple and the showers a bit strange, but all clean, decent and originally decorated. I can recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Perfect place for a relaxing stay, not to mention the awesome owner Jacky. This place will remain special in my heart forever also because we managed to rescue a friend from drowning with the help from the staff of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The place is excellent, very quiet, great location in front of an amazing beach. The food is amongst the best I have tried. The rooms are simple, but the price is excellent. Excellent place for a relaxing weekend or vacation. Good internet connection, work if you want, the garden is great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Bonita 1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Grande Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the white-sand beach of Playa Bonita and 10 minutes drive from Pueblo de Pescadores Town, this beach front hotel features an extensive garden, a furnished terrace and free Wi-Fi throughout. The rooms offer minimalist decor, air conditioning, a fan, desk and flat-screen TV. The bathrooms come with shower and are private. The on-site restaurant serves French cuisine and guests will enjoy free breakfast. There are also a variety of restaurants and bars within 10 minutes' drive. Excursions to Humpback Whale Sanctuary, to Los Haitises National Park and to El Limon Waterfall can be arranged at Hotel Restaurant Casa Grande. This hotel is 5 km from Las Terrenas Town Centre and a 25-minute drive from Samana El Catey International Airport. Las Americas International Airport can be reached in 1 hour and 45 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Grande Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Grande Beach
Casa Grande Beach Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.