We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just fine, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coyamar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Coyamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Coyamar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Bonita 1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
emeryville, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“just fine, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The best thing about Coyamar is the location. I thought about staying in the main part of Las Terrenas, and I'm so glad I didn't. The beach there is right next to the road, so it's dirty and load and full of deisel fumes. Playa Bonita, on the other hand is much more relaxing, and the road runs behind the hotels instead of infront of the beach, so it's a lot quieter. It's a LOT quieter, in fact, there's not much to do but each and go to the beach. But, back to the hotel... the rooms are very basic (no tv, ac or fancy beds), but the grounds are very pretty and it's right on the beach. I stayed three nights, breakfast was decent and the one time I ate dinner there, it was very tasty. I shopped around for a hotel, and it was the best value I found on playa bonita.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

we had a great time at coyamar hotel, it was super quiet there, everybody was helpful, the beach in front of the hotel amazing and it only took us 10 minutes by motor-conche to get to Las Terrenas centre! a nice place to stay for friends, couples and families! however, for those who wanna party a lot, they shouldn't expect that at the hotel, but rather check out the city's night life!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The coyamar hotel is right by playa bonita beach. My husband and I went there with our two kids and had a great time. The hotel offers a great breakfast. It fresh every morning, no buffet. The price is very affordable and the location is just perfect. They have a beautiful seating area by the swimming pool (very small) overlooking playa bonita and the sunset is unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berikon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The coyamar hotel only has 10 rooms and that is just perfect. We were there with are two children and had a very relaxing time. The hotel is right by playa bonita beach which is a very beautiful. The manager is a very friendly man and the stuff is always ready to help. We felt very safe with our kids there. The restaurant at the hotel has a beach view and the food there is great. Breakfast is usually included in the price and small kids are free. We loved it there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

WE had the pleasure to stay at the Hotel Coyamar in February/March 2009 for four weeks. IT was one of the most memorable and relaxing vacations we have ever spent. We especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.
Our room had comfortable accomodations and was kept very clean. While some might miss typical amenities like a phone or TV, we actually liked it because it further allowed us to "get away from it all."
THe hotel has its own restaurant. We enjoyed the food which was reasonably priced and well prepared. THe hotel has very beutifully kept grounds and is only a fgew feet from the Playa BOnita, one of the most beautiful beaches in the DR.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We scouted out all the hotels on Playa Bonita and Coyamar was a great find and a great deal. [--].

Coyamar is definitely a place built with love and it has very gracious hosts. Each room is unique, with nice art and very pretty landscaping. It
has a small, but cute swimming pool and the restaurant is relatively affordable and good. The rooms were $60/night, and included a light breakfast. You could also
add eggs or other things to the light breakfast for a dollar or two.

The rooms do not have A/C and the fan moved a
little slowly, but we were there at the hottest time of year and it was still fine.

Coyamar was just the kind of place we were hoping to stay- relatively simple, but comfortable and with Caribbean accents and that made us feel like we had a fun and relaxing vacation right on a truly beautiful
beach.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

At $60 a night including taxes and breakfast, we stayed at the German run Hotel Coyamar for two nights at the beginning of the offseason and found it reasonable and enjoyable. As way of background, Playa Bonita was beautiful and all but deserted except for a few European tourists. The hotels, boat rentals, and Pizzeria El Coco were in full operation, however. Playa Bonita is a strip of hotels about 8km to the west of Las Terrenas, a fishing village and another enclave of Euro tourists. Be warned that the ride to either destination from Santo Doming entails a 4 ½ hour bus ride to Sanchez and then a 17 km (45 minute) taxi ride through very steep, lush mountainous countryside. Argue for a price below 1000 pesos and don’t be afraid to tell the driver to drive “mas despacio” (more slowly). The road is not paved, often narrow, and downright treacherous at points. Also the poverty on the way might stay in thoughts as you rest on the beach.

Location

Coyamar is the first hotel (in reality a couple of two-storied bungalows) on the Playa Bonita strip. Because it is at the corner of the strip and the road to Terrenas/Sanchez, there can be some motor traffic but this was very light in the off season. Note, the hotel is very German. We knew this in advance and it suited us because we speak German and enjoy hearing the language. Peter, the owner, speaks enough English to accommodate his guests but his wife does not.

Room

The room was very simple and had a tile floor. The bed was low to the ground and very comfortable. There is no AC but a cold shower before bed and the fan kept us relatively cool. The bathroom had soap but lacked shampoo/conditioner etc. The place was clean but it could use another floor towel because of our wet feet and sandals. No telephone or alarm clock in the room.

On the second day, the water stopped and it took an hour or two before it was partially restored (hot water too but low water pressure). There were no blackouts.

Premises

The hotel is made up of a couple of two storied bungalows and offers ten rooms altogether. The area was safe enough although the poverty you see on the way in makes you think twice. Judith, the owner’s wife, did not recommend walking the beach at night but we walked along the unpaved strip to the Pizzeria shortly after twilight and found it acceptable. If there is trouble, you can always run into one of the hotels on the strip. It is probably even safer during the high season.

The pool is obscenely small and really meant for kids of guests. They let us take the inflatable tube to the ocean with us. The grounds are well manicured but nothing special. The restaurant and bar are open air under a thatched roof. It’s pretty enough. Every Thursday night, they show a movie (probably auf deutsch) after dinner. They bring out their own 40 inch screen and project a DVD onto it.

Finally, there were often landscape workers trolling around the premises during the day and twilight. I guess they were doing some renovations during the off-season.


Breakfast & Dining

The breakfast was a few slices of (admittedly very delicious country style bread), two small dishes of jam, and honey, some pieces of sliced fruit, juice, and coffee. It looked small but sufficed due to the tropical heat’s affect on our appetite.

The menu selection was varied but small. The prices were reasonable. The food was plain though and tasty enough. I’d suggest trying the other restaurants and the Pizzeria El Coco at the end of the strip (just past Atlantis).


Service & Attitude

European hospitality is somewhat different from American style. Peter and Judith are very friendly and laid back but you will have to speak up if you need something. They let us check out very late. Bring your own towels for the beach. Phone calls to the states are 50 pesos per minute. He kindly checked the bus schedule back to Santo Doming for us and ordered us a taxi. Likewise, the wait staff only speaks Spanish, which we found odd because locals at other places had managed to learn enough German and French.

Because the hotel is intimate, it is possible to get to know the other guests very quickly. This was a lot of fun. Plus, the Germans love speaking English, especially when drinking during dinner.

Overall, I enjoyed the Coyamar and if it weren’t for my curiosity about the other hotels, I’d stay there again. It might be the best deal on Playa Bonita. I recommend it to those who do their research.

  • Liked — price, location, german speaking owners
  • Disliked — no creature comforts
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coyamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coyamar

Address: Playa Bonita 1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coyamar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Coyamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coyamar Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coyamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.