We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to be with your family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alisei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alisei to your Saves list
Hotel Alisei
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de la playa (Beach Side Street) | Francisco Alberto Camaño Deñó, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to be with your family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The place is just right in front of the beach. Very convenient place. Facilities are ok, I wouldn't say it is a 5 start hotel and not even 4, but it is quite good.
Las Terrenas is a great place with a lot things to do and enjoy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    64
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
94
138
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alisei for four nights in early October. We were on the highest floor in a studio. We were in the building closest to road (not an issue), and closest to the beach, which gave us great views. It had a small balcony where we could sit and watch the late afternoon thunderstorms pass by. The restaurant was just steps away. The breakfast, which was free, was very good and fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful! The pool was great and Roy was a great pool bartender! We ordered what has to be the freshest Pina Coloda we've had with fresh pineapple. Dinners at the restaurant, Baraonda, were also very good and the wait staff was fantastic. The owners were on site and were very accomodating. While in Las Terrenas, we went to the water falls in El Limon. You rode horses part way and then walked. It was well worth it! The falls are stunning! We set up the trip through the hotel and Saulo was our guide. He was great and spoke very good English. It was a very good stay in Las Terrenas!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lovely Hotel Alisei in early October. We stayed in a 'studio' room which is on the highest floor of the hotel but the view was worth the extra steps! We especially loved our shower with a glass wall overlooking the gardens, pool and beach. The pool was especially pretty, clean and inviting with its pool bar! Breakfast was fantastic every day and the staff were excellent. Enjoyed watching Red Sox playoff games with staff who love Big Papi! Although all are to be commended we specifically want to thank Freddie who went out of his way to make our stay memorable (Hi Freddie - I will send you pictures separately!) and Roy who makes an awesome coco loco. I am just sad to be writing this now as I wish to be back in Las Terrenas! Baraonda is a great restaurant, better than those we tried in town. It was off season so Pueblo de los Pescadores was pretty quiet but that is an easy walk from the hotel. Although it's further from town, we liked this location far better than Hotel Albachiara because it's a bit quieter. All in all a fantastic trip. Definitely worth making the trip to Playa Coson and Playa Bonita and absolutely take a left out of the hotel and walk the beach until you can go no further... it gets prettier as you go. Thanks again, Chuck and Peggy... Go Sox!

Room Tip: Worth checking out a studio before upgrading to a one bedroom. If you're in the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago De Cali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I visited Alisei Hotel a few months ago and I can highly recommend it. The food its amazing and it has a lot of options for you to choose. The restaurant is 10 steps away from its beach (yes I counted them) so you can literally do a friendly whistle or just wave your hand and order a beer or food to the kindly staff. You can actually use your laptop or any device that requires wifi and use it at the beach.
The pool is beautiful, refreshing and it has a perfect size. And it has a bar in it!
The rooms are nice, clean and the balcony is a perfect spot for you to have a nice breakfast, dinner or have some wine with good music while enjoying the night with your couple.

Room Tip: Well, try to choose the one closest to the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I truly enjoy this hotel its more like a home then a hotel, privacy, service and setting are first class!!! the Owners take great care of the property, and they care about all of their guests. I wish I could just move in!!! The staff is great, food and drinks as well, love this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I had not been at Alisei for a few years, went early September 2013 with my wife and 7 other couples and their kids. Alisei is still a great choice at Las Terrenas, hotel is close enough to town to walk there, but far enough to be quiet. Both the apartments and the grounds are nicely kept. The staff made us feel welcome throughout our stay. Enzo was very helpful during the reservation process for eight families, with needs for different apartment sizes, and arriving at different dates. When we arrived everything was as planned, good job Enzo.

Baraonda, the hotel restaurant, is one the top dining choices in Las Terrenas, but if you want to add some variety to your meals, Pueblo Pescadores, with many choices of bars and restaurants, is a short walk along the beach.

Back at the hotel, don't miss the Piña Coladas at the pool bar before heading to your own hammock at your apartment terrace for a nice afternoon siesta.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at Alisei apt 52 on a first floor, it was a very good stay, we were 4 adults and we had our room keys at noon as we arrived ( didnt have to wait until check in time at 3 pm) staff very friendly & courtious, grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers and well manicures trees. The apartment was very clean & comfortable, everything we needed was there.
Our entrance door was defective and in quick time it was repaired.
Location is excellent! Its beachfront, it has a full restaurant on site and its close to any other eating places.
The daily price includes a breakfast buffet that has many variations of breakfast options, cereals, fruits and the dominican tipical breakfast of mangu ( smashed green plantains)!!!!!!
The reason for not giving it a max rating is due to smoking permitted on site and finding this uncomfortable as well as cigarrette buds everywhere, including the beach!!! Also it's promoted as a "small" pet friendly hotel ( its says chiguagua) and we found at least 5 dogs over 30 lbs on the premise, well behaved but on the same note lots of "doggie mess" on the lawn and beach, making this uncomfortable, hopefully with some more vigilant staff this is taken care off
I would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for price and comfort in a relaxed enviroment

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alisei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alisei

Address: Calle de la playa (Beach Side Street) | Francisco Alberto Camaño Deñó, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alisei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Beach Front Apartments, where life is a breeze. Hotel Alisei consists of 54 brand new apartments with en-suite bathroom(s), private access and spacious terrace. Decorated in stylish Caribbean elegance with rich tropical hard wood furniture, king size bed(s) and/or single beds, fine fabrics in soft tones and a cozy integrated seating and kitchen area with plenty of colorful pillows. Tall glass doors lead to a large private terrace with enchanting ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alisei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisei Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Alisei Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alisei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.