We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dominican Republic Honey in Las Terrenas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Dolce Vita Residence to your Saves list
La Dolce Vita Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 27 de febrero, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Sutton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dominican Republic Honey in Las Terrenas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We traveled to Santo Domingo to meet up with our daughter interning at the Canadian Embassy for the summer. While we loved our escape one weekend to our first all-inclusive at Natura Park Beach Resort in Punta Cana, our visit to Las Terrenas and the La Dolce Vita Residence was our kind of vacation.
A quick 2 hour bus trip from Santo Domingo brought us within walking distance of the hotel. We were quickly and warmly received at the registration kiosk and were taken to our unbelievable unit-a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom 'villa' overlooking the gorgeous Caribbean, and the hotel's pool, and beautifully maintained grounds. We had a kitchen, indoor living room, and outdoor dining area with an additional sitting area which I really enjoyed using to read while I waited for 'the girls' to awake.
The beach is gorgeous with very little seaweed, and you can walk in this community feeling safe. The restaurants are fabulous and the hotel had it's own restaurant. We didn't use it but it was always busy....we walked into town to enjoy restaurants right on the beach. Great value anywhere you went.
We were just there for 2 nights and we had the best side trip. We rode horses to the waterfalls in Limon (Limon Falls!!!). We organized a $30 package (each) to take the horse ride, enjoy an unbelievable swim right under the falls (perfectly guided by 2 Dominican Republic lads, followed by a great lunch at the host restaurant. WHAT AN ADVENTURE FROM START TO FINISH!!! One warning....it's very easy to take a bus from right in front of our hotel to Limon. We didn't realize that transportation to Limon wasn't included an took a taxi organized by the hotel ($60 for a 15 minute ride return!!!). It was our fault for not figuring it out so we paid. Either take the bus, or negotiate a better price.
OTHERWISE....the continental breakfast brought to our 'patio' each morning was great and we could not have had a better location, or better accommodations at what I considered an extremely reasonable rate.

Room Tip: If you want a 2 bedroom unit, Room 8 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was by far my favourite place to stay because of its well presented facilities, spacious terrace and comfortable room- not to mention good sized pool and on-site restaurant- literally a stone's throw away from the beach. Las Terranes itself is a small but characterful little town with cosy eateries and bustling bars full of locals, overlooking the most stunning coastlines and sandy white beaches I have every seen. The tides comes in so far, you can practically roll into the warm waters of the Caribbean!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is very well located, but also quiet, no matter a lot of night places near. The beach is in front, but the best ones are outside the town. The rooms are well done, but look that has some time already, no matter well maintained. All the stuff works and when need something arrived fast and easy. Is not a luxury place, but more than enough for vacations with a fair price. Recommended to any kind of groups.

Room Tip: If negotiate with owners will get some little discount in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My husband and I have been at this hotel three times in the last year. We live in La Romana , Dom . Rep. and we travel three and a half hours to Las Terrenas. La Dolce Vita is an apartment building. It has 1,2 and 3 bedroom apartments, with 1,2 or three bathrooms accordingly. A modest kitchen, but complete, with stove some have ovens and the kitchen utensils. The restaurant at the entrance is managed by an italian father and son team, who have been in the restaurant business for years. The italian grandfather was also a restaurateur. The food is great, traditional italian food from pasta to seafood. The wine selection is also very good. The beach is public, it means you can go anywhere you want to go. There are restaurants at the beach. You order your food, you go swimming and they call you when your food is ready. When we are there, we do not want to be anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dolce Vita Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Residence

Address: Calle 27 de febrero, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dolce Vita Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Dolce Vita Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Residence Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.