We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Okey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palococo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palococo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palococo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Juan Pablo Duarte 35, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It's Okey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel is okay to stay one or two nights. Next to the hotel they got a stadium were they made a lot noise. The security at night has to be better. Next to our rooms were staying some young guys that they return to the hotel in the middle of the night (3:00 am) with high music and yielding a lot of bad words and also, got into a fight waking up every body, the situation was reported to the security more than five times for different gests and they did nothing, he did not care, I could not believe it.

Room Tip: Stay in the other side of the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokotoko, Gerente at Hotel Palococo, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear client:
You are right. Sometimes, the proximity of the stadium causes discomfort . We regret to have no solution. Fortunately is not common but it can be annoying when occurs. We hope situation improves. It seems that the authorities are beginning to worry about acustic pollution.
We greatly appreciate your information on the guard.
The Manager was not informed in time.
We will transmit this to the company and will take the necessary actions.
Thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

+ The rooms are cute and there's a fridge and air conditioning in each room. The grounds are pretty- lots of flowers and a couple seats outside your room. There's a guard on duty starting right at dusk who stays overnight.
+ The beach is far away if you don't have a vehicle. The good news is that it gives you an excuse to ride the back of the motorconchos (little motor bikes) which are always available and you can get to the beach with a dollar or two (about 60 pesos each). Please don't expect a helmet though:) Other good news is that the very friendly management said they recently purchased a free shuttle to the beach and it will start very soon.
- The hotel is right next door to a stadium and while we were there a basketball tournament was going on. From around 9am until pretty late in the evening we could hear the announcer on the mic from our room!
-Breakfast was not very good- only juice served was pineapple juice which tasted disgusting and old.
- The pool was half empty.
Overall it's a comfortable and pleasant place, but how much you'll enjoy it really depends on what you're looking for. Lots of small town charm.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokotoko, Gerente at Hotel Palococo, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I regret my bad English.
Thank you for your comments, which will attempt to improve our service.
When the Community celebrates its annual festivities force us to endure some degree of noise which is fortunately very rare. Sorry for that.
I have the pleasure to announce that the two solar-electric vehicles have already arrived (yesterday June 30th) and I hope will be operational within a week as a free service.
With respect to the defect of our breakfast, I'm sorry what happened, and do not know the reasons, because we normally have two or three types of natural juices to choose from. Perhaps a pinneaple was damaged, but obviously someone did a bad job and so I present my most sincere apologies. Always at your disposal. JMA (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here in April for 3 nights, and it was really lovely - amazing value for money.

We stayed in an air conditioned room (not all of them are) which was a good size, with a very comfy bed and good on-suite bathroom. When we arrived, the towels were arranged as swans with a flower arrangement which was such a lovely touch. All the rooms have a patio area at the front and look out on to the pool area and garden.

On a minus point the food was not great, but as we were just there for breakfast it didn't really matter. It wasn't bad, just very basic (eggs, toast, cheese, coffee). Also, it's slightly out of town, so to walk to the beach would take about 20 minutes (or it's a 5 minute ride on a motorbike taxi).

The people running the place however more than made up for it. They were so attentive and helpful - helping us organise day trips, giving advice, booking transportation for us too. Especially as our Spanish wasn't great, they were really useful!

Definitely recommend to stay here if you want something excellent value for money, cheerful, and romantic with great staff.

Room Tip: remember to ask for a room with air conditioning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

everything in a few words :

good quality
CHEAP PRICE
good food
warm ,lovely staff
very clean and secure

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palococo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palococo

Address: Avda. Juan Pablo Duarte 35, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palococo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clasic landmark in Las Terrenas. Excellent valoration due to the great quality/price relationship, the elegant facilities and personalized attention. A few meters from the new highway that runs along the coast (Boulevard Turístico del Atlantico) and now closer to downtown and the beaches with its new solar-electric minibus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palococo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palococo Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Palococo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palococo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.