We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Playa Colibri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Playa Colibri to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Caamana Deno, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Colibri is at our favourite beach area. Stayed in a studio-smallish but more than adequate for 2.
We're not pool people but the pool looked lovely & clean.
Well equipped kitchen.
Excellent water pressure
Sweet, helpful staff.
We had no complaints re beds/pillows.
Good breakfast served on the beach
Rooms cleaned daily (even our dishes washed!)
Secure,gated parking for your rental vehicle. (a plus for us)

Had trouble with wifi throughout our 5 day stay - signal only if I sat outside at the front of our unit #33. Good at pool or reception, but I needed it late evening when the bugs were out:(

Very dark walk to town for dinner, would recommend rental, or hiring taxi, motoconcho to get to town at night...but do recommend going to town at night lol

Great stay, we would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    60
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
43
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta cana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My stay there was very short I went with some friends in order to try it,before some other friends that were comming. The kibdness of th staff was excellent,my only suggestion is about the confort of the beds and pillows they are very hard and high, which makes the sleep quality very poor. Other than that everything was just 1 is very well located you can actually go to down town*Pueblo los pescadores* to have a nice little restaurants and bars. It's walkable distance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better. Cause the noise of ppl, on top mihgt bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent 6 nights at Hotel Colibri in January 2013. It was a delight. Instead of the closed resort vacation which is so often the curse of travelers in the Dominican Republic, Hotel Colibri, while a short distance from teh center of Las Terrenas, is open to the surrounding community. The kitchen was well supplied (a great surprise) with good quality pots and pans. There was consistent hot and cold water, louvered windows with good screens and powerful air conditioning. The grounds were immaculate and staff most accommodating. Being able to shop for one;s own food in Las Terrenas gives intimate contact with the area as well as the possibility of going to the French bakery and German Deli and local restaurants. The beach is directly across a small street with loungers and a good food stand. The water was calm and good for swimming as was the swimming pool. Simple, convenient, clean and a joy. A true luxury at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooom back rom teh road (although it is quiet at night) and away form the pool (although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We read trip advisor all the time but have never actually written a review, but after our wonderful stay we were compelled to write. We found this wonderful place as we wondered down the road looking for something other then the bug infested place we had stayed the night before. We were immediately taken by the beautiful gardens and inviting swimming pool. Andre who spoke english very well was very warm and friendly and offered to show us some of the available rooms. They were all lovely and bug free and we booked the larger room for the night. We were more then happy with our choice. The 1 bedroom room/apt. had a full kitchen and everything we needed to cook with. The room itself was beautiful and clean and the balcony on the 3rd. floor had a great view of the grounds and the ocean. After our night before we felt like we had died and gone to heaven. The staff for the 2 days were all very warm and friendly. They went out of their way to be flexible with us when our ride after check out arrived 2 hours late, they were kind enough to let us stay in our room. The breakfast that is included was delicious and was served on the tables on the beach which was wonderfully decadent. And again the grounds and gardens were impeccably kept. They raked the beach in the morning and throughout the day swept the paths through the grounds. So all and all it was a wonderful place to stay right on the beach. Nice and quiet. We would not stay any other place if we decide to return. you will not be disappointed with this choice. Great for families and couples. Only odd thing was there were no curtains on any of the windows, even in the bathroom. This was great for air flow but a bit exposing at times, but with some creativity it is fixable.

Room Tip: If you like a view of the ocean stay on 3rd floor. Also worth the little extra for the 1 bedroom rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the Colibri already a few times, and always had a great time! Although simple, appartments are very clean; big bedrooms, lots of closets, big bathrooms, all basic amenities in the kitchen which allow you to enjoy meals on the large balcony... The gardens are magnificent, the pool big enough to enjoy a few laps, and has a jacuzzi adjacent to it. Staff is helpful and friendly. The beach is just accross the road, with easy chairs and a beach bar that serves all kind of snacks and drinks. The town is just a 5' motocoche away (or a 15' romantic walk on the beach), and many restaurants and bars can be found there. Las Terrenas is away from mass tourism and is a nice little town, the start of many day-tours. Le Colibri is a great place to stay with a homey feeling... far from home !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We are a family with young children who had an excellent stay at Hotel Colibri. Everything looked BETTER than in the website photos; big rooms, TWO big bathrooms, big closets, big balcony, very clean, lovely landscaping, even closer to beach than I thought it would be, very friendly staff. The room decor was ok - lots of aqua painted wood furniture. We borrowed a hotel crib for our youngest and it was handmade (aqua painted wood) and huge, even for a 3 year old. Everything on the grounds and rooms was very clean. The pool was about 4ish feet deep everywhere, a little too deep for my tall 6 year old to touch. There was an adjoining side pool that was only about 2 feet deep and surrounded by a bench for sitting and relaxing, but this side pool was too small to actually swim in. The room air conditioners worked great, although there were none in the kitchen/TV room area. Sometimes I welcomed the heat of that area and other times I wanted the coolness of the air conditioned bedrooms. The staff was very helpful to us in terms of conversation, advising about side trips, directions. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I guess is that the first thing that a property must do, is to be quite clear about the type of product they sell.
If they were marketing themselves as a two star apartotel, I would say is quite acceptable, but under the current image they project is simply not to the standards of what one should accept as comfortable and attractive room accommodations.
It is one thing to rent apartments, a different thing is to offer an unattractive and very basic furniture and accommodation.I understand that while the water may not be suited to human consumption, the hotel should offer bottled water as an alternative, whether free or for a cost, but to have a huge plastic bottle, on a swinging support, is not attractive nor appealing. However if all you are looking for is a clean place close to the beach, clean and with decent food,with basic accommodations it wil be fine.
All it takes is to be quite clear and describe clearly what a property offers. I think that there are many other properties that offer a much more complete vacation experience in the same general area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Residence Playa Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Playa Colibri

Address: Francisco Caamana Deno, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#10 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Residence Playa Colibri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri is located directly on the beach and close to the centre of Las Terrenas. Most of its 45 spacious apartments, suites and studios have an ocean view. The hotel has many amenities, such as an outdoor pool with jacuzzi, guest service and information in 6 languages, a restaurant and bar with beach terrace, room service, and a high speed internet connection (DSL) in every apartment. It is a great place to spend a Caribbean vacation and encounter the Dominican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence Playa Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Playa Colibri Hotel
Residence Playa Colibri Las Terrenas
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Playa Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.