We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful route from Santo Domingo to Las Terrenas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carretera Samana Toll Road

Carretera Samana Toll Road
Atlantic Tourist Boulevard (Boulevard Del Atlantico), Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful route from Santo Domingo to Las Terrenas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Breathtaking views adjacent to the national park and coast. Approximately $25.00 USD in tolls, but the road is well paved and safe. Toll booths have toll amounts clearly posted. Enjoyed seeing the countryside in the interior as well as the spectacular ocean views.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    13
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is a must. The views from this road are amazing! I drive on this road to and from Las Terrenas. We were a group of six adults and two babies. We stopped to admire the view on the way there and on the way back. Went from Santiago, cut through San Francisco De Macoris and Nagua. Will be taking this road each and everything I travel here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“try on your way back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Its expensive, but worth it on your way back to Sto. Dgo. or Stgo. On your way to Samana, the views on the old road are breathtaking.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince edward county, ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lots of twists and turns but I got beautiful pictures of the rock cuts and views of the ocean while driving

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

High priced toll road but the views were magnificent & driving easy (unless you get caught up in the views)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carretera Samana Toll Road also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Carretera Samana Toll Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carretera Samana Toll Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.