We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful route from Santo Domingo to Las Terrenas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carretera Samana Toll Road

Carretera Samana Toll Road
Atlantic Tourist Boulevard (Boulevard Del Atlantico), Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful route from Santo Domingo to Las Terrenas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Breathtaking views adjacent to the national park and coast. Approximately $25.00 USD in tolls, but the road is well paved and safe. Toll booths have toll amounts clearly posted. Enjoyed seeing the countryside in the interior as well as the spectacular ocean views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia_illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is a must. The views from this road are amazing! I drive on this road to and from Las Terrenas. We were a group of six adults and two babies. We stopped to admire the view on the way there and on the way back. Went from Santiago, cut through San Francisco De Macoris and Nagua. Will be taking this road each and everything I travel here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edouble00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“try on your way back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Its expensive, but worth it on your way back to Sto. Dgo. or Stgo. On your way to Samana, the views on the old road are breathtaking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank silvio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince edward county, ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lots of twists and turns but I got beautiful pictures of the rock cuts and views of the ocean while driving

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank countygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, NH
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“New road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

High priced toll road but the views were magnificent & driving easy (unless you get caught up in the views)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carretera Samana Toll Road also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Carretera Samana Toll Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing