We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carretera Samana Toll Road

Carretera Samana Toll Road
Atlantic Tourist Boulevard (Boulevard Del Atlantico), Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Update attraction details
Type: Scenic Drives
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is a must. The views from this road are amazing! I drive on this road to and from Las Terrenas. We were a group of six adults and two babies. We stopped to admire the view on the way there and on the way back. Went from Santiago, cut through San Francisco De Macoris and Nagua. Will be taking this road each and everything I travel here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    9
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“try on your way back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Its expensive, but worth it on your way back to Sto. Dgo. or Stgo. On your way to Samana, the views on the old road are breathtaking.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince edward county, ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lots of twists and turns but I got beautiful pictures of the rock cuts and views of the ocean while driving

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, NH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“New road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

High priced toll road but the views were magnificent & driving easy (unless you get caught up in the views)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carry lots of pesos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We would love to know why there are so many toll booths on this stretch of highway??? Toll rates vary up to 484 pesos! We had stopped for a cold bottle of water at the beginning and we were short 100 pesos on the last toll booth. Scared us good. They except ONLY pesos. They had us back out off to the side And we were grateful for the guard , with his gun, to open his wallet and trade pesos for American dollars. Because he saved us, he made a few extra bucks. Not sure how much but worth it. If we had to turn around and go back there is no telling how our vacation plans would have been altered! Carry PESOS...lots of them!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carretera Samana Toll Road also viewed

Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Carretera Samana Toll Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carretera Samana Toll Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.