We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia las Ballenas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia las Ballenas to your Saves list
Bahia las Ballenas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose Antonio Martinez | Playa Bonita, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A little piece of heaven on earth! A very unusual place. If you want to experience something different from the conventional hotels this is the place! The beach as it was meant to be enjoyed in the tropics!

Room Tip: Expensive but a nice treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    6
    12
    9
See reviews for
19
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is just to warn other people so it does not happen to them.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week and two guys broke into our bungalow in the middle of the night.
The hotel is all bungalows and the back of the hotel has completely open access from a boardwalk on the beach and no security (that's how they got in the property)
The bungalow has open showers and is separated from the bedroom only by a flimsy door with wood blinds.
We heard noises in the middle of the night and when I went to investigate, found myself face to face with two guys, one of them brandishing a knife and the other warning that he would shoot if I didn’t obey.
Thank God my wife had put a little lock on the door, which at least prevented them from getting in, but definitely not if they really wanted to.
Before they would think about it too much, I told them I would give them the cash so they go away and so I did , and they fortunately left with that.
The next morning, the manager acted all surprised because according to him there was security, which there wasn’t. The moment I mentioned cash was involved, he changed completely and even implied i was fabricating the whole thing.
We have no proof, but are pretty certain it was an inside job, because that same day I had gone to the front desk and asked how much the bill would be and they knew i was paying cash.. I had also asked for the Wi-Fi password, so they knew I carried a laptop and the robbers had asked me for my laptop ...how did they know?
We were also the only guests staying there (and that was probably our mistake) ..So how do they know where exactly to go if all the lights were off and nothing was outside to show our room was occupied? (no towels, shooes or anything)
In short, please save yourselves a nightmare. If you still decide to go, do not go when there is low season and very few people around and demand to see the security at night!
By the way, we did go to the police and they said they wouldn’t do anything …they would not investigate ! Because there was “no visible harm or signs of entry.” I guess you have to be bloodied around there in order for someone to do something. The hotel staff had erased the footprints left on the wall by the robbers.
Wish you all the best and please learn from this experience stay safe

Room Tip: yes. my adivse is : Don't choose it here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Bahia las Ballenas for 5 nights and found a fabulous location far from the Mekka of All Inclsive Resorts. The authentic DR! A real Paradise with gorgeous beaches. The Bungalows are in a big well kept green sorrounding, very charming and romanic ambience. Nice Pool, wonderful breakfast and in the Restaurant very friendly and smily staff. (not the case at the reception, also check carefully the hotel bill when leaving!) The rooms urgently need some maintenance and the beds /materasse are very uncomfortable, but the surounding and location makes up for this small defects! Hope to go back some times. By the way - try to arrive by car and not by plane, the trip from Santo Domingo to Las Terrenas (2h) offers some pretty countyside and spectacular views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I fell in love with this place after seeing our lovely villa! Far apart from the other villas it makes you feel like you are in a private island. The room was spacey and comfortable. Having the bathroom "outside" was a nice touch. Breakfast was nothing special and service a bit slow, but the surroundings are beautiful. You can rent motorcycles and make little trips to town and around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this place for a two night stay but we left the next day. The room we got was very spacious and nicely decorated but was very musty. I was not into the outdoor bathroom, which also had an interesting odour. The breakfast that was included was not good so we didn't try anything else. We were hoping that this place be nice to recommend it to our out of town guest for our wedding but this will not be the case. There is definitely potential since the surroundings are breathtaking.

Room Tip: Ask for an aired out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I arrived at Bahia Las Ballenas for a three-night stay in September 2012. I first heard of the hotel from Tablet Hotels.com. The photos on the Tablet website were very misleading, and made the rooms look much more modern and well-maintained than they actually are. However, the rooms were clean and although there were some basic maintenance issues (e.g. broken blinds, chipping paint, broken lights), everything functioned well. The staff was not very attentive. They never asked if there was anything we needed, they could not provide area information when asked, and were unfriendly during breakfast. The hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of beach connected to other hotels via a nice walking path. The grounds are well-maintained with lots of beautiful foliage and a nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is calm & clean and the staff is very attentive. It's a great place to read in a hammock, jog on the beach, relax by the pool or go on an adventure in the town, which the hotel can help accommodate. The manager is French and knows how to cater to his guests. Large bungalows with outdoor private showers - very authentic! The food at the restaurant is so good, you never have to leave. Fresh pineapple juice! I feel recharged and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get an ocean room so you can fall asleep to the sound of waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bahia las Ballenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia las Ballenas

Address: Jose Antonio Martinez | Playa Bonita, Las Terrenas 32200, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia las Ballenas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool, tropical gardens and a private beach area, Costa las Ballenas is located on Las Bonitas Beach in Las Terrenas. Free Wi-Fi access is available in public areas. Bungalows at Costa las Ballenas have a balcony with views of the pool, gardens or sea. All bungalows include a private bathroom with a shower, hairdryer and towels, while some also have air conditioning. At Costa las Ballenas you will find a restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, a horse back riding ranch and an on-site surf school. The property offers free parking Costa las Ballenas is situated 3 km from Las Terrenas town centre, where you can find shops, restaurants and bars. El Limon Waterfall and Samana El Catey International Airport are both within a 25-minute drive. We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 34 HOTEL ROOMS: 32 Facilities of Costa las Ballenas Outdoors BBQ Facilities, Outdoor Pool (all year), Grounds, Terrace, Sun Deck Activities Golf Course (within 2 miles), Fishing, Windsurfing, Cycling, Diving, Snorkeling, Water Sports Facilities (on site), Solarium, Spa, Massage, Hot Tub, Private Beach Area, Indoor Pool (all year), Beachfront, Bicycle Rental Food & Drink Restaurant, Bar, Breakfast in the Room, Restaurant With Dining Menu Internet Free! WiFi is available in public areas and is free of charge. Parking Free! Free private parking is available on site (reservation is not needed). Services Room Service, Airport Shuttle, Car Rental, Shuttle Service (surcharge), 24-Hour Front Desk, Express Check-in/Check-out, Tour Desk, Concierge Service, Babysitting/Child Services, Laundry, Ironing Service, Suit Press, Daily Housekeeping, VIP Room Facilities General Safe, Shops (on site), Facilities for Disabled Guests Languages spoken Russian, Italian, French, Spanish, English Back to top Policies of Costa las Ballenas Check-in From 15:00 Check-out 11:00 - 12:00 Cancellation/ prepayment Cancellation and prepayment policies vary according to room type. Please enter the dates of your stay and check what conditions apply to your preferred room. Children and Extra Beds All children are welcome. The maximum number of extra beds in a room is 1. Pets Pets are not allowed. Cash only This property only accepts cash payments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bahia las Ballenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Las Ballenas Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Bahia Las Ballenas
Bahia Las Ballenas Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia las Ballenas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.