We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience at Sublime Samana!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sublime Samana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sublime Samana to your Saves list
Sublime Samana
Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at Sublime Samana!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went to Sublime Samana for a wedding and the whole week was amazing. The staff treated us so great. They were willing to help us find anything we needed or wanted to do with our time in the Dominican Republic. The accommodations were great...very clean. The wifi was in and out our whole stay there. I'm sure they will fix that soon though. Very cool place to stay...Wander World highly recommends this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Wander World,

It was a really big pleasure for the entire staff to have this event so important for your family; it was amazing experience for all of us.

We will share with all the staff your beautiful words, is so important to us comments like this to improve every day our service.

Thank you for the comments about our property, rooms, etc.

Thanks a lot for your pretty comments and also to share your experience in Trip Advisor.

Esperamos volverles a ver.

Saludos de todo el Staff de Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    34
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
65
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodhaven, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I went there for memorial weekend and had the best time. It was my mom, daughter and aunts. Karina the front desk manager gave us a wonderful service and the breakfast was delicious! i am looking forward to stay there again this July. A great place to relax and be away from it all. I highly recommend it for Adults 25 and older.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mrs. Díaz,

We are so happy knowing that you had a memorial weekend at Sublime Samana. Thanks a lot for your beautiful comments.

We will share with Karina your beautiful words and also with our chef about the delicious breakfast. It is so important to us comments like this to improve every day our service.

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor.

We are forward to welcome you again.

Saludos de todo el Staff de Sublime Samana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, peaceful, well maintained and the rooms are enormous and very comfortable. The beach is one of the best I have ever been to and the staff was wonderful and friendly. The food at the restaurants was good, there were some exceptional dishes like the sancocho and the octopus ceviche, but the menu could use more grilled options as opposed to fried. I definitely recommend taking them up on the culinary experience, it was the best part of our stay. I'm sure all of their chefs are decent, but Connie was our chef and everything she made was fantastic.

My only issue with our room was a very loud air conditioner vent in the living area. I was told by maintenance that this was normal, I doubt that, but I didn't get to see if any of the other rooms had the same issue. I'm not usually one to complain about noise, I live in NYC and I can sleep through almost anything, but that vent was too loud.

A few things to take note of:

1. They presented a specials menu for dinner one night. For Americans a specials menu is a menu of the day where you can select any one thing you want from the menu. In Sublime Samana the specials menu is actually a pre fixe menu. This is not indicated on the menu, nor did the waiter mention it. So we ended up being very surprised when we ordered one item from the menu and instead all of these courses came to the table. The final bill was a shocker as well.

2. The hotel is quite a ways from the small town nearby and the cab that takes you into town costs $40 roundtrip.

3. Bring a lot of off spray and or bug repellent candles if possible. They said their machines to repel insects had broken and that there usually weren't so many bugs. We were basically eaten alive while we were there. They didn't have bug repellent candles or torches anywhere and it was almost impossible to have a meal outdoors without a legion of flies landing on your food.

4. Keep all of your receipts. When we checked out they quoted us one total for everything and when I got home they changed the charges on my card and tacked on another $200+. Also, I had emailed them to ask about an incidentals deposit before I arrived, I was told there would not be one. However, when I checked in I found out there is a $200+ deposit for incidentals. Just some things to keep in mind for those of us that like to be clear on charges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sublime Samana. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and suggestions.

We will share your comments with our team, especially with the ones of the restaurant and the ones of the maintenance. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We have checked the charge that we made for incidentals and we have send to you, if you need a future clarification, please contact us.

We will share your comments with Connie for the Culinary Experience.

Thank you again for your comments.

Esperamos volverles a ver.

Saludos cordials,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I visited for 2 nights, 3 days and the hotel is small, calm, beautiful and breathtaking. The beach is amazing, so are the pools and the rooms. Breakfast is very nice! However, some things need to improve. If you don't speak Spanish, you can expect some misunderstanding. We ordered room service for a dessert called "Chocolate mousse and fruit coulis" and they brought the chocolate mousse plus a small fruit salad on the side (a very expensive one). If your menu is in English, make sure your staff at the restaurant knows the names correctly at least! Also, of the three days we were there, two times the cleaning lady came inside when we were showering or not completely dressed. This could be easily solved with "do not disturb" sign, but we didn't have any. The staff was OK... Not as nice as expressed on the other comments. It is definitely a nice place but it is obvious that is new and needs improvement to be considered 5 stars.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your comments in Tripadvisor. It is so important for us your suggestions.

We are very glad knowing you enjoyed the hotel and all the areas.

We are so sorry for the inconvenience with the restaurant and with House Keeper, that normally does not happen in our hotel; we will check with both departments to make sure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your comments.

Esperamos volverles a ver.

Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Sublime Samana for three nights during the fall period.
Everything was perfect. The room, the hotel surroundings and the incredibly friendly and competent staff. We had the beach all to ourselves. It was magical
We can't wait to go back.

(That being said, don't go to the Sublime if you're looking for a party atmosphere or afraid of waves.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sublime Samana to spend your holiday and for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.

It is a great pleasure to read, that you loved our hotel, especially the beach and wonderful staff!
On behalf of them, I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Sublime Samana.

Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The entire staff was amazing, polite, helpful and the grounds were simply….Sublime! The beach was impeccable and the bungalow service made this a dreamlike atmosphere. It was quite and peaceful during our stay and everyone seemed to be smiling constantly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your beautiful experience in our hotel Sublime Samana. It is very important to our entire team to know the feelings of our guests, to improve our services all the time.

We wish to see all of you back again.

Saludos y abrazos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We just returned from our 5 night stay at Sublime Samana and ever since then I have been missing it. Stunning beach, amazing property and the ever so kind staff and general manager. We were blown away with the grounds and how immaculately they are well kept. The people here work so hard to make you pleased and they love their job. Not once I have seen a grumpy face.The locals will tell you that the beach in Coson area is the most beautiful one and its actually where the Hotel is located. I think this was the most incredible beach I have seen with miles of palm trees and blue water. You couldn't imagine the colors at the sunset!
Also I should mention that the food was beyond my expectations. We had long hours of breakfast every morning enjoying the every minute. We also had a few visitors at the hotel who were actually staying at different places in Las Terrenas and they were all amazed telling us this place is paradise. By the way make sure you rent a casita because you will not believe it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your impressions about Sublime Samana. It is very important for our staff to know and understand the guest’s expectative and feelings about the job they are doing. Comments like yours motivate our team every day to improve the quality of the services we offer.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your villa, the beach and your breakfast every day.

We certainly have one of the best beaches of Dominican Republic and the Caribbean itself and we are glad you enjoyed them.

Thank you again for taking the time to express what Sublime’s Experience meant to you.

We are waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again.

Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sublime Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sublime Samana

Address: Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Northeast coast of the Dominican Republic lies the dramatic lush, green tropical jungle clad hills and fine-sand beaches of the Samana Peninsula. Tucked away in this unspoiled tropical paradise lies Sublime Samana, a modern yet elegant luxury resort and member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World.The seven-acre property centers around the expansive canal of pools stretching nearly 500 feet from end-to-end. Rooms have been artfully built to create a contemporary setting in harmony with nature. One- and two-bedroom suites feature a living room, master bedroom and bathroom, guest bathroom, spacious balcony, and kitchen with Viking appliances. Views from the room are of the canals of streaming pools that line the lush gardens. Even more opulent are the 2- and 3-bedroom villas that feature large bedrooms, indoor and outdoor living spaces, a Jacuzzi and state-of-the-art kitchen with top floor villas featuring a rooftop terrace and plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sublime Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sublime Samana Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sublime Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.