We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mother/Daughter get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sublime Samana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sublime Samana to your Saves list
Sublime Samana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Family Vacay at Sublime!
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Mother/Daughter get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My daughter is a freshman in college and wanted to go away for her spring break. I figured this may be the last time she wants to go with me. Sublime was recommended by a friend. It was perfect. The beach was beautiful as were the pools. There was bar/restaurant at the beach but it wasn't blaring out music or pestering you for drinks. The food was very good. The people who worked there couldn't have been nicer and our room was wonderful. I do wish there was just a little store on property for suntan lotion etc.

Room Tip: There are only 2 restaurants which was fine by us. There were a few families there and all the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sublime Samana for your recent vacation and for taking a time to writer your opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

All the staff want to say thank you for your visit and we hope to see you and your daughter again.

Is really import for us to know about your experience with us and you can be absolutely sure we will be best when you return to the hotel.

Saludos de parte de todo el staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    53
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
99
99
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Our son's destination wedding to the DR brought 94 friends and family together at the Sublime Samana for a week of sun, fun, eating,,drinking and celebration of marriage. Although the resort is a few years old, our group was apparently the largest they have hosted, and they seemed a little concerned about being able to accommodate us at the restaurants . Their fears were unfounded. The special event meals on the beach, cocktail parties and day to day restaurant service was wonderful!, and the food was delicious and beautifully presented.
The rooms and casitas were generally well maintained, clean and tropical. The staff, although not fluent in English , did a fine job of interpreting our needs in a friendly, polite way.
The setting is magnificent, the beach is beautiful, and the sunsets are stunning!
If you can, fly into Samana. The trip from Santo Domingo by taxi is long (2 hours) and expensive ($200. US one way).
Be sure to plan an excursion to snorkel Samana Bay or ATV the mountain.
You may find some growing pains still evident at this fairly undiscovered resort, but I promise you a wonderful, relaxing experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prohotels, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know about your beautiful experience in our hotel Sublime Samana.

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy all our amenities and wish to see all of you back again soon.

It is very important for us that you have expressed your experience outside the hotel, which is helping us to promote the town of Las Terrenas. Especially that our guests enjoy a fun tour and so take home this adventure.


Many congratulations to the newlyweds.

Saludos y abrazos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

my wife, daughter and i enjoyed our recent stay at Sublime Samana very much. The two bedroom suite was excellent, everything worked perfectly, the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Karina at the front desk who helped us resolve a rental car issue!
Meals were excellent, and the ocean is right there, so how can one miss!!!
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to be in the Dominican Republic but away from the crowds!
We plan to return as soon as we can!
John & family from Ontario

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoGaudio, Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Family,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write about your experience at our beautiful hotel Sublime Samana.

We felt very comfortable knowing that you could enjoy all of our facilities and our food.

All the staff is very grateful. I will tell Karina your thank to her.

Saludos desde Las Terrenas,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent 7 nights at Sublime Samana (January 18 to January 25). We had a great, relaxing time there. There were 6 of us (me and my wife, our 2 daughters (ages 7 and 5) and my in-laws). We stayed in the 3-BR Casita with the Rooftop Terrace (Room 1212). We could watch the sunrise up over the mountain in one direction from the Rooftop Terrace and the view the other way was out over all of the pools and ocean. Most of the rooms are not oceanfront (including ours).

The flight into Samana out of JFK on JetBlue was great (it runs on Wednesdays and Saturdays). 3 hours each way and you come right into a very nice airport that has little air traffic. The drive from the airport to the hotel was a terrific one – right through where they cut through the mountain and looking out over the ocean. It reminded us a bit of driving in Maui with the green scenery, palm trees, mountains and ocean, except this place is much more secluded.

We stayed at the Hard Rock in Punta Cana last year (huge resort; all-inclusive; tons of amenities). The Sublime Samana is basically the exact opposite of that. This was a small, luxurious, private, quiet place to stay. The weather was terrific (about 84 or 85 degrees every day) when we were there, with just a few hours of rain on just one day. The sand at the beach was soft and there was almost nothing in the ocean water (so no seaweed, no shells (except for the shells that are deposited right at the entry to the ocean)). Once you get into the ocean, there is nothing in it and the sand is incredibly soft. We really enjoyed the ocean water. My daughter loved riding one of the boogie boards that the resort provided on the ocean’s waves. The beach was great and you can walk in both directions a long way. Very private.

For kids, there is a playground. And they have boogie boards and some beach toys available to use. But there is no kids’ club and no kids’ activities to speak of.

Room: The room was great. We had 3 bedrooms and 4 full bathrooms. The room had a balcony off of the master bedroom, a balcony off the second bedroom, and a large balcony off the dining room and living room; plus a rooftop terrace that ran nearly the full size of the whole 3 bedroom/4 bath suite below it that we were staying in. The master bedroom was actually really great, with a little bit of the outdoors brought inside with some open air in the master bathroom (very private still). It was great. Kitchen appliances were top of the line. Washer and dryer included in the unit, too. Great indoor and outdoor space. We were very happy with the room.

Food: We thought the food was generally good to very good, but not great. The included breakfast was good and included eggs, bacon, toast, pancakes, etc. We had no problems finding stuff to eat each day at breakfast. There is really only one menu, essentially, that is used for lunch and dinner at the resort for the whole week. As you can imagine, given it is a smaller resort and the menu is not endless, we did grow tired of the same choices day after day. They tried to have something special each day, but the menu definitely got tired. And our group wasn’t really interested in going out into town to dinner, after a long day playing in the pool and ocean. Introducing something off menu as a special each day would help. It would also be nice if they had a delivery service that you could order dinner out a night or two and have it delivered. Or something different just to break up the monotony. Room Service was good, too. Drinks ranged from OK to great, depending on who was making them and what you ordered.

I thought the prices for drinks and food were what I would expect for a hotel that is part of the SLH of the World collection. Not cheap, but not that expensive, either. 28% is tacked on top. The 18% Dominican tax, plus 10% service. But nothing more was expected. There wasn’t even a line for anything additional. You just sign and go (yes, we were able to sign for everything and have it charged to our room). I would recommend you bring some small bills, though, as it is not that easy to get change here.

Service: The service was very good. The hotel staff and restaurant workers were all very friendly. I’m sure we’ll forget some people, but we wanted to give a shout out to Edwin, Leonardo, Aurelio, Pedro, Ramon, Ariel, Augustine, Santo and Albert, plus Bruno (the GM) and his front desk staff. They were all great. Bruno was present around the resort every day, so it wasn’t hard to find him if you wanted something. They could have been a little more pro-active in serving us drinks when we were pool-side. But that was a minor complaint.

Other: If needed, the Wi-Fi connection at the resort was good (at least in my room). The resort was very quiet with no entertainment or nighttime activities. If you like action at night at your resort, this wouldn’t be the place for you. There is no store on-site. They do put refreshments (beer, soda and water and a bowl of fruit) in your room each day. But if you need suntan lotion or snacks or anything, you have to get a taxi (or rent a car) to drive into town. So I’d bring suntan lotion with you (though Bruno did offer to send someone to town to get us suntan lotion - we figured we might as well go ourselves and pick up some snacks).

Things to improve: Finding a way to vary the menu more in some way over the course of a week would be a big improvement. Increased options for kids’ activities would be great, too. Even something as simple as having the resort arrange for the kids to have the ability to paint coconuts or something simple like that once a day or something. A small on-site selection of snacks/refreshments, suntan lotion, etc. would be great.

Overall, we really had a great week at the resort. If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax, then I’d highly recommend the Sublime Samana.

t-scholtes@hotmail.com

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Scholtes,

Thank you for choosing Sublime Samana for your recent stay in Las Terrenas. and thank you too for to share your great comments with the TripAdvisor community. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

Please be assured we will work on your comments regarding the things that will need to improve

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Sublime for your next holidays.

Un gran saludo de todo el staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from a lovely four night stay to the beautiful Sublime Samana. Our three BR, three bath unit was fantastic--lovely appointments and a beautiful view from the top deck. The staff is friendly and well meaning, though English can be a bit of a problem. The beach is private and tree-lined and goes on for miles--great for loooooong walks. Food was terrific (our breakfast was included) and the beachside restaurant was perfect for lunch (dinner was good, not great).

Bottom line: Sublime Samana is fantastic. Do NOT, however, go here if you're interested in nightlife, bars, and an upbeat vibe--it is quite, romantic and relaxing. Enjoy...

Room Tip: We loved the top floor--great views of the mountains on one side and the sea on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holidays with us. I will send your feedback to the staff. This is our best motivation.

Best regards!! Nos vemos pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park7860
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you are looking for a cost efficient destination to getaway from all the craziness in the world, this is the place you want to be. It's perfect for families or couple looking to getaway to a quiet place. We've been to DR before, but never heard of Samana before. Samana will be a popular destination spot and you want to visit here before others hear about it. You must rent their 2bd or 3bd Casitas. Get the 2nd floor Casita and you'll have the roof access with a jacuzzi on top. Here are my notes that may help:

Pros:
- Service is Good. They are not as attentive as your higher end hotels but still good in DR standard
- Food is Good. We didn't get the all inclusive since we wanted to eat out at local restaurants. It's good for 3-4 days but anything after that, you'll want to explore since they don't change their menu. Otherwise, it's good
- Spa - MUST BOOK their spa. Their holistic massage is a must. Coconut Whisper is unique (wish they would have used warm water)

Cons:
- No nightlife. Even though we wanted a quiet relaxing place, we'd would have liked a little nightlife. Everything closes by 10pm
- Jacuzzis take long time to warm up. Sometimes, it doesn't heat up. Although it's 80+ degrees outside, their jacuzzi is cold. Call the front desk to have them set it up for you.

Helpful Notes:
- Jetblue flies here direct from JFK - NY. Wed and Sat. Best way to get to the island. If not, you'll need to fly into Santo Domingo and drive (2hrs) to the hotel.
- Check out Las Terrans town or set up an excursion to the Cayo Levantado Beach. they usually offer this as part of Whale watching (if you get sea sick like me, i wouldn't recommend it) You'll go through 5-8 feet waves... but their beach is a MUST. White sandy beach and beautiful calm water
- Luis Restaurant - Check out their local Luis restaurant. It's a nice little walk from the hotel. Cash only. Food is amazing.
- Coco Loco - Make sure to get some Coco Locos out there. Fresh Coconut with rum!

Hope this helps. Enjoy and Shhhhh keep this place quiet. It's a hidden gem!

Room Tip: 2BD or 3BD Casitas - You will not regret it. Full kitchen. Numerous decks and Jacuzzis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoGaudio, General Manager at Sublime Samana, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel. We really appreciate your comments about the things that our guest are able to enjoy near Sublime. All of these activities are one of our greatest assets.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in with us.

We look forward to welcome you once again in Sublime Samana!!

Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
short hills, NJ USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The beach is private and lined with palm trees, making for privacy and welcome shade on a beautiful beach. The vibe is so relaxed and calm. At times it feels like you are the only one there. Breakfast is complementary which is unusual because its extensive - you can get eggs, pancakes, etc. Bring bug spray - there are little bugs that bit and they itch terribly. Bring calamine too. Even with the bugs, its a terrific spot. Walk left on the beach for 15 minutes and eat lunch there - lots of fun. The rooms do not overlook the sea but in Samana Penn, I don't think they allow buildings to be built like that. The two bedroom room is large with beautiful bathrooms. Rent a car so you can drive to Las Terrenas - we did, every night for dinner, drinks, sunset. The massages are right ON the beach - also unusual and fantastic. The whole place had a very quiet feel to it - yet we felt comfortable with our 6 year old. Its not "quiet" like that, more like serene.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face the sea so all are similar. THe 3 bedroom rooms are closer to the beach. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3.0 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#6 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Coson
Casa Coson
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Albachiara Hotel
Albachiara Hotel
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
18.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sublime Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sublime Samana

Address: Bahia de Coson, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sublime Samana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Northeast coast of the Dominican Republic lies the dramatic lush, green tropical jungle clad hills and fine-sand beaches of the Samana Peninsula. Tucked away in this unspoiled tropical paradise lies Sublime Samana, a modern yet elegant luxury resort and member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World.The seven-acre property centers around the expansive canal of pools stretching nearly 500 feet from end-to-end. Rooms have been artfully built to create a contemporary setting in harmony with nature. One- and two-bedroom suites feature a living room, master bedroom and bathroom, guest bathroom, spacious balcony, and kitchen with Viking appliances. Views from the room are of the canals of streaming pools that line the lush gardens. Even more opulent are the 2- and 3-bedroom villas that feature large bedrooms, indoor and outdoor living spaces, a Jacuzzi and state-of-the-art kitchen with top floor villas featuring a rooftop terrace and plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sublime Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sublime Samana Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sublime Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.