We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Las Terrenas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Bonita

Playa Bonita
Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I love Las Terrenas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent place to relax, with family, friends or couple. Beautifull villas for rent in the area, quiet, safe, comfortable and well equipped. Playa Bonita's beach it's beautifull! nice boulevard to walk...and many places for confortable swimming in the beach. For the past year I choose Dominican Republic vacation in Las Terrenas, instead of Punta Cana / Bavaro.. Las Terrenas town is only 5/10 minutes by car, where "El pueblo de los pescadores" you can find various restaurants, bars, clubs, sea front, excellent to walk during the day and early evening with family and children, or at night! with your partner or friends to dance and take a drink!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    37
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Playa Bonita is a beautiful beach not far from Las Terrenas. Large stretch of sand, very peaceful and beautiful, much preferred by us to Las Terrenas which is pretty touristic.
It has nice surf and a few hotels.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bonita!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were here a few times, and each time was a different experience. There are sections that were quite wavy, and were the playground for a few surfers, other sections were perfect for wading way out and then body surfing, or just letting the waves crash on our heads -- they are not so strong as to put you in the "spin cycle," so it was great fun!

There is also an area that was quite secluded and dead calm. If you find the hidden spot, don't be surprised if a guy comes to ask if you want food or drink, etc. He's ok, and will walk to a restaurant to get you what you want. How convenient. Playa Bonita is probably my fave beach because of it's diversity...and in the two months I've been here I've yet to see it crowded - lucky if there were a small handful of people there while we were.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a must see beach for people travelling to Las Terrenas. There are several restaurants and small boutique hotels that make up Playa Bonita. Its has a pedestrian path made of pavers, and the beach is lined with palm trees. There is a small rock formation to the right of the beach and more restaurants to the left. Its a very pretty area with easy beach access and plenty of beach for walking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's all in the name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Playa Bonita, which means pretty beach is a beautiful beach with soft sand and an amazing blue sea. It has a few and small waves but nothing you can't handle. We swam near Acaya Hotel where we could had a few beers between swims.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Bonita also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to Playa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.