We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Bonita

Playa Bonita
Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Playa Bonita is a beautiful beach not far from Las Terrenas. Large stretch of sand, very peaceful and beautiful, much preferred by us to Las Terrenas which is pretty touristic.
It has nice surf and a few hotels.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    73
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bonita!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were here a few times, and each time was a different experience. There are sections that were quite wavy, and were the playground for a few surfers, other sections were perfect for wading way out and then body surfing, or just letting the waves crash on our heads -- they are not so strong as to put you in the "spin cycle," so it was great fun!

There is also an area that was quite secluded and dead calm. If you find the hidden spot, don't be surprised if a guy comes to ask if you want food or drink, etc. He's ok, and will walk to a restaurant to get you what you want. How convenient. Playa Bonita is probably my fave beach because of it's diversity...and in the two months I've been here I've yet to see it crowded - lucky if there were a small handful of people there while we were.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a must see beach for people travelling to Las Terrenas. There are several restaurants and small boutique hotels that make up Playa Bonita. Its has a pedestrian path made of pavers, and the beach is lined with palm trees. There is a small rock formation to the right of the beach and more restaurants to the left. Its a very pretty area with easy beach access and plenty of beach for walking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's all in the name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Playa Bonita, which means pretty beach is a beautiful beach with soft sand and an amazing blue sea. It has a few and small waves but nothing you can't handle. We swam near Acaya Hotel where we could had a few beers between swims.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Awesome Villas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We love this beach area.
We go there at leat 1 per year.
We love the villas in that area, speciall VILLA CLARA INES and CASA ANA,.

What we love about this beach is that you have areas with lots of waves for surfing, and then few steps ahead VERY CALM for kids!
Also there is a peatonal boulevard that we loved walking after diner.. very romantic!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Bonita also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Playa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.