We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from a great week at Balcones.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcones del Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Balcones del Atlantico to your Saves list
Balcones del Atlantico
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Las Terrenas Beach, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
new york area
1 review
“Just returned from a great week at Balcones.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place was a total suprise. We booked a very last minuet trip for the Presidents week break, and did little research about the place and about the area. All I knew was, it was an easy flight from NYC and the size of the unit offered ample space for my husband, son, and I ( which is a priorty when traveling with a 17 year old). Upon arrive we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom, 3.5 bath penthouse w/ jacuzzi. It could not have been more beautifully appointed and comfortable. We had none of the problems that the pervious reviewer had with our unit. It was stocked with water, ice, had a large bathrooms and tons of closet space.

Many reviewer have commented that this is not a full service hotel. On some levels that is ture, however, our experience was that the service was there, but just not as polished or experienced as a concierge is at a brand hotel or in an area that is a big tourest destination. However, with that said, the day we arrived I sat down with David, a lovely concierge, and arrange everything. All our dinner reservations, all our taxies, and all our activities, and everything ran perfectly smoothly. I do think they could do a better job of promoting what there is to do in the area, and what the facility has to offer. A weekly list of activities and suggestions would go a long way. We truely felt the resort and the town of Las Terrenas had a lot to offer. It just need to be packed and promoted a little better by the staff.
As to that area, we loved it. What a suprise!!!!! Las Terrence is charming, with beautiful restaurants and magnificent beaches. There were few Americans, the area seems to be a hot spot for Europenas, and yes there was little english. However, we loved that and did not find it a problem at all.It just was not that hard to get by.
We travel a lot, have been all over the world and stay in very high end resorts and hotels. With that said, this hotel hold its own. The units a large and beautiful, the beach, bar area and restaurant on the property are as spectacular as any I have seen. Yes, they do need to step it up a bit in terms of polished staff and hotel sevices. But for the beauty & value that Balcones has to offer, we will definitetly be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Customer:

We sincerely appreciate having you as a guest in our property and for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay. We strive to ensure all stays exceed expectations and we are very happy to hear that we fulfilled yours in your recent stay at Balcones del Atlantico since you travel a lot, and have been all over the world and stay in very high end resorts and hotels.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again, and again, it was a pleasure for all of us to have you in our property.

My best regards,


Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    31
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a terrific few days at Balcones. First off, be aware: this is NOT a full-service hotel, but rather a condo complex. We had a magnificant 3 bedroom/3 bath apartment (overlooking the pool, across from the beach) which was nothing short of spectacular. It was beautifully appointed with every convenience of home. We did have a few issues, however (no A/C, pre-ordered groceries not delivered) which paled in comparison to other guests (no hot water, sewage backup etc). Not a good thing ANY TIME/ANY PLACE.
There were complaints galore. The front desk (if you can call it that) was not terribly helpful or engaged, and while they tried to answer questions about the area/restaurants/ etc, many simply did not know. More importantly, English is NOT redily spoken.
The pool is lovely, surrounded by wicker loungers that have no cushions! Yikes, try sitting on them...The towel hut was manned sometimes, empty others.
The food at the one restaurant on premises was better than good, however with the same menu for lunch and dinner, it gets a little old in a hurry. A daily breakfast buffet was included but, again, it's a little soft. The bar is beautiful--perfect perch for an after dinner cocktail.
The physical plant of Balcones is beautiful and our family getaway (we're a couple with 2 grown kids) could not have been better, if you look the other way a little bit and know what you're getting.

Room Tip: No elevator so be prepared to clime the steps. Ground floor rooms are much less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent a week at Balcones. Our duplex top floor villa was beautifully appointed and our daily cleaning service did a fine job. Las Terrenas has some fabulous restaurants. Nearby beaches such as Playa Coson and Playa Bonita are extraordinarily beautiful. The staff at Balcones was very friendly and did their best to please. We were very fortunate to have as our concierge Alba Marte who made our total trip a wonderful experience. She is well educated, articulate in English, dedicated to making one's trip a wonderful experience and one of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. If not for Alba, our time at Balcones would not have been a good one. As to Balcones, it is for all intents and purposes a condo development and not a hotel. Little or no music entertainment at night. Beach service available, but no one comes around on a regular basis to ask if one wants to order a beverage or a snack. It is best for families, although it does not have a children's program. It is not necessarily a good place for adults without children. The Porto restaurant staff is warm and friendly, although most do not speak English, but the menu at the restaurant never changes and leaves something to be desired. It has been advertised as a Rock Resort, but Rock pulled out several months ago, leaving it 95% condo development and 5% hotel. I would rate this a 3.5 based on overall experience. If they clean up their act and behave more like a hotel for those so interested, I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Request a third floor, two bedroom duplex, with a hot tub on the top deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for a week at Balcones del Atlantico and really enjoyed it. Las Terrenas is a great area and Balcones is perfectly located because it is about 10 minutes outside the bustling town. We were in a top floor villa which was super comfortable, decorated beautifully, with high end appliances etc. Very spacious and comfortable. The staff was kind but it is not a service oriented place like larger resorts though staff is genuine and always willing to help out if you ask. You usually can find at least one staff who speaks decent English and they were very patient with our attempts at Spanish.

Porto, the restaurant, is stunning and most of the food was quite good and the staff there was really nice.

The beach is narrow but gorgeous and the water is crystal clear most days. Some days were very windy which brought a mild surf and lots of wind surfers to observe but others were calm and created great, calm water for our two little kids. The one odd thing is they had lots of chaise lounges on the beach which should have cushions on them (uncomfortable without) but only a handful of cushions. My other minor complaint is they had a hot tub in our villa and 2 hot tubs by the really nice pools but none were warm-- why have hot tubs if they are going to be cool water?

If you are looking for a place that will entertain your kids for you this is not the place. My kids were perfectly happy swimming all day and playing in the sand but that is pretty much the extent of it.

Las Terrenas (10 min away) has a nice night life and some good restaurants but there are lots of motor bikes, trash, and bustle and I wouldn't have wanted to stay directly in town itself unless you want a lot of activity. I don't recommend walking back from town at night to Balcones which we did one night and it was totally pitch black on the road and the sidewalk is not level.

The other thing is taxis are ridiculously expensive and can take a long time to show up-- cost us $80 to the airport, $20 roundtrip to town (less than 10 min drive), $100 roundtrip to Samana etc. If you are a confident driver who doesn't mind driving on winding single lane, hilly roads you way want to consider renting a car.

I really hope Samana doesn't turn into another Punta Cana because the small resort vibe is a great alternative to the larger mega-resort feel of other parts of the DR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Balcones del Atlantico is truly a gem that outshines many competitors in the Dominican Republic! I have spent time in Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Punta Cana, Las Galeras, Barahona, and I've been a guest in other hotels in Las Terrenas. Balcones del Atlantico is the best by far. Beginning with its location on an enchanting beach that is full of beautiful coral, Balcones has scenery that is breathtaking. The restaurant Porto has a delicious menu that uses local food products, so everything is fresh. The accomodations are unparalleled. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. The staff is extremely professional and readily available to make your stay memorable. You will find yourself wishing you could stay at Balcones even longer than your vacation allows!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Balcones is a 5 star physical facility on a pristine RD 1/2 mile beach. The jewel is the outdoor restaurant/multiple bars complex 'Porto'. The food was well prepared and drew from the surrounding area for inspiration. The staff throughout were well trained and guest conscious. The nearby town of Las Terrenas had many great restaurants and a lovely French wine bar! The excursions ranged from scuba ,to horseback tours, to atv romps to the native, on the secluded beach, Restaurant Luis... thanks to our 'guides' Tina and Alba from the Balcones!!! Will be back next January.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxaida M, General Manager at Balcones del Atlantico, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear valuable guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience in Balcones. We are delighted to read that you loved our Restaurant - Bar Porto and the food, and how you enjoyed your vacations in Las Terrenas.

I´ll make sure to share you comments and feeback with the team specially with Tina and Alba.

Look forward to seeing you in January.

Best regards,

Maxaida Marte
General Manager
Balcones del Atlántico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just got back from Balcones del Atlantico and had the most wonderful and relaxing five days! Las Terrenas is a gorgeous area and we were thrilled we chose to visit that region for our first trip to the Dominican Republic. We stayed in a beautiful one-bedroom jacuzzi suite at Balcones. The staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. It was a much more personal experience than some of the all-inclusive vacations we've taken. The front desk staff knew our names and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our accommodations. Our room was completely new and did not have a phone yet so the hotel provided us with a cell phone we could carry around and use whenever we needed to contact reception.

The one bedroom suite has an outside dining area complete with dining table and Weber barbeque. As an alternative option to dining at Porto (which is a great restaurant) you can fill out a supermarket shopping list at reception and they will dutifully go off and do the shopping for you! Also outside the suite is the Jacuzzi; when you first get to the resort make sure you ask the staff to fill it up with water…at first we thought this was a bit weird but then we realized that it was just another example of Balcones going above and beyond to make sure everything about the accommodation is fresh and clean.

On our first night at the resort we were invited to a cocktail party at Porto’s beach side bar. It was a great way to meet the staff, including the Food and Beverage Manager (Franklin), the Chef (Bruno), the Front Desk Manager (Darling) and one of the resort owners (Maxaida). All of them were gracious and friendly and made us feel very welcomed. The front desk manager Darling Toro, in particular, was always there to help us with anything we needed. For example, I had to go to the pharmacy in town (5 minutes away from the resort) one morning. Darling immediately arranged for a cab to pick me up and a staff member accompanied me in case they needed to translate.

The resort offers several excursions that can be booked at the front desk. We went zip lining which was a great adventure in itself, but additionally it provides the opportunity to see the countryside, drive through the city of Samana and to have a delicious lunch of fresh fish on a secluded beach. There’s an excursion in which you can snorkel with whales...check when they are migrating past the island if this is something you’d like to do!

If excursions aren’t for you then the beach is a great place to relax; its quiet, relatively secluded and the water is great. There are also two pools available, both really nice and
When you visit the resort make sure you take cash as there isn’t an ATM available unless you go into the town. You can charge most things to your room, but you will need cash to pay for taxis, excursions, meals in the adjacent town and of course tips. If you can try to book a flight to Samana (AZS) instead of Santo Domingo (SDQ) as SDQ is a 2-hour drive to and from the resort and the car transfer is pricey.

Bottom line – we would definitely recommend Balcones del Atlantico and we hope to be able to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas Beach, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balcones del Atlantico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, a beachfront Spa, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samana Peninsula, Balcones del Atlantico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcones del Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.