We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort on a beautiful island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcones del Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Balcones del Atlantico to your Saves list
Balcones del Atlantico
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Las Terrenas Beach | Las Terrenas Beach, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort on a beautiful island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Balcones Del Atlantico is a beautiful resort with an excellent staff! We were taken care of and made to feel right at home from the moment we arrived. This is a brand new resort and we stayed in one of the three bedroom penthouses. Very spacious, each bedroom with it's own bath plus a half bath off the living area. Great kitchen with top of the line appliances. Gorgeous porch with a dining table that seats at least 10 and a very comfortable sitting area. In addition we had a whole second floor patio with our own private hot tub. Two resort pools, one with a swim up bar. I would say this resort is beach front, but not necessarily ocean front. You do have to cross a little street, but the beach is right there. Certainly visible from the front units. This is what makes the beach so beautiful.....pure ocean, beach, palm trees, and mountains in the distance. Not one high rise after another. Just beautiful, beautiful beach. Excellent food in Las Terrenas! We had a fabulous dinner every night! The wine list is a little short, but there are plenty of cocktails. Unfortunately, the resort restaurant is not quite finished. That was our only disappointment,only because it looked like a really fun restaurant directly on the beach! There is a temporary restaurant that was very nice, just not outside or on the beach. The beach restaurant is scheduled to open in April.

It is quite the drive to reach this resort. We flew into Santo Domingo and it was just over two hours to get there. The last half of the drive, although beautiful, is very mountainous and could cause a little motion sickness. Totally worth the drive! Our whole family would love to go back to the Balcones Del Atlantico in Las Terrenas!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    36
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
71
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We arrived in Santo Domingo and were greeted by, Eddie, who brought us via private taxi to the resort. The ride to Las Terrenas is 2 hours of the most beautiful scenery I have seen in a long time and am really glad we did not take a private charter to the hotel. It is also, however, a little scary as the roads are in serious need of repair and are quite steep and curvy the closer you get to the resort. When we pulled into the resort I was nervous because you don't see the resort as much as you do construction but no worries, the hotel section of Balcones is 95% finished. There was still some minor maintenance/upkeep being performed; they are rebuilding the beach restaurant (which was burned down) and the spa/fitness center is yet to be complete. We were brought to our 2 bedroom penthouse and as someone who loves interior and landscape design, I was blown away. The rooms are well appointed with the best materials/amenities and the size enormous. You would pay hundreds of dollars more elsewhere for a comparable room. The kids loved having a private tv room and hot tub on the roof and we spent our nights hanging out there. The outdoor patio/dining area is spacious and also quite beautiful. Comfortable beds, plush down bedding and great thread count sheets. One thing to note, the floors in rooms and around the pool are made of stone. While this clearly is in keeping with european design, I had to remind my kids not to run because it was slippery so just be mindful. The landscape design of the property is well planned and beautiful. I'm glad the fitness center wasnt yet open because I ran the property (security is throughout) and beach in the mornings (didnt run too far) and with the smell of all the flowers/morning breeze, had an amazing workout. There is a small playground and two pools great for little ones and older. I personally wouldnt travel to Balcones with infant/toddlers because it is so far from a major hospital. My 9 year old caught a bad stomach bug even though we were extremely cautious and are familiar w/ traveling to countries where you can only drink bottled water/need to pay extreme attention to sanitation, etc. That is just me being really careful and there were 2 families there w/ toddlers there. Because of how remote we were, we also decided not to do El Limon falls as reviews said it could be a little dangerous w/ young children. We did, however, go whale watching with Kim Baddel of Whale Samana. If you're going to do anything, book this trip. Her boat is 50 feet and holds 70 people, unlike other tours who throw you into basically a row boat. She is Canadian and her tour is extremely educational and was the highlight of the trip for my son. This resort has a very european feel, designed for ultimate relaxation and reconnecting with loved ones. Highly recommend for honeymoons. We played soccer and volleyball everyday, swam, snorkeled, took walks, played board and card games and ate. While the beach restaurant is being rebuilt, they've set up a small dining area in the reception building and have breakfast, lunch and dinner available. There is also room service. The food is good but after 9 days the menu was limited. We were honored to have Steve, the executive chef, come to our room with two of his assistants and cook for us. The dinner was perfection and the dessert scrumptious. Kids absolutely loved this. As for the staff, they are exceptional. I commend the resort for hiring, for the most part, all locals and not bringing in outside employees. Most are still learning English (they have lessons everyday), so you need to be a little patient and understanding. They truly are the key to this resort and go out of their way to get you whatever you want and their main goal is to make sure you are having a fantastic and memorable vacation. I hope we can return again to Balcones once the entire project is finished. It looks to be out of this world.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Our multigenerational family of 7 stayed at Balcones for 5 nights. It is about a 2.5 hour drive from the airport in Santo Domingo, which is a long way to drive with little kids, but it was well worth it. We had a 3 bedroom property with a hot tub close to the beach and one of the pools. Our apartment was beautiful - new and shiny and with all the bells and whistles. Service was heartfelt and dedicated. There was some confusion about room service and planning excursions, but I think this was an issue of language communications. The hotel restaurant burned down on New Year's Eve, but the replacement should be completed by the end of March.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed for 5 days in February at Balcones Del Atlantico. I'm recommending Las Terrenas and Balcones Del Atlantico. Great location, with amazing beaches, not crowds during the week and just a few people from Santo Doming on weekends. Staff was amazing and rooms were great. We had a 3-bedroom place with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in the 2-bedroom penthouse. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. While they are not yet a full service hotel, the staff is wonderful and will get you anything you want. The restaurant burned down a month ago, but the hotel provides free transportation back and forth to town restaurants which should not be missed. Food is extremely cheap and the fish is fresh all the time. You cannot be fussy here, and you need to go with the flow because everything is leisurely here. The restaurant and front desk staff are great. There is not much to do, so if you are laid back and just want to enjoy the sun, get here before the prices go sky high. We will return again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is the best hotel in Las Terrenas. Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 1st floor with a jacuzzi. Rooms are spacious, nice bathrooms. Out of the 3 rooms in my apt only 2 had TV's. We stayed in in Apt. 1401 but right next to us there is a new construction of the project and every day i woke up to banging noise from the construction at 9am. The facilities are great. you should keep in mind that this hotel is on the outskirts of Las Terrenas, so to get to the actual town, you need a vehicle. Another thing to keep in mind is that the hotel is right next to the beach, but you need to cross a main road.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is really a gorgeous facility for the most part. The staff are KEY, always friendly, always with a smile, always willing to help. As depicted the rooms are large, resonably well furnished and decorated. The property is well maintained, secure, and has a beautiful beach.

Maybe I didn't explore enough, but I was bored and ready to leave by the end of my 4 day trip. The hotel has NO restaurant anymore since it burned down. And it isn't the easiest task to find a reasonable market in the town. Not too mention the one restaurant I tried was not good at all with stray dogs running around inside - although it did have a lovely view.

Not having a phone in my room or an internet was a bit of a pain but a worksable situation as I was close to the reception.

The reception isn't much of a reception more like a sales office and model showroom.

Again, the people are wonderful. They really are. Those that man the front desk especially. Without these dedicated, friendly, motivated, gracious people - I doubt I would rank this above 3 stars.

RockResorts needs to decide if they want to run a hotel/resort or if they want to sell condos because in some of there other properties (i.e. Tempo Miami) - doing both doesn't work long term. At least not for me.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
4.9 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#6 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa Coson
Casa Coson
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Albachiara Hotel
Albachiara Hotel
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
5.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bahia las Ballenas
Bahia las Ballenas
#29 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcones del Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcones del Atlantico

Address: Las Terrenas Beach | Las Terrenas Beach, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balcones del Atlantico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Xeliter Balcones del Atlantico, the newest luxury resort in the Dominican Republic. Balcones features lavish one- two and three bedroom villa suites, a beachfront Spa, Porto, a beachfront restaurant and bar, and a wide variety of Caribbean vacation activities including watersports, eco-tourism and more. Get the full luxury experience by staying at the Penthouse Villa where you will enjoy a rooftop deck offering incredible views, an impressive private plunge pool, and close to 4000 sq ft. of luxury space for 6 to 7 friends or family. Located on the Dominican Republic's Samana Peninsula, Balcones del Atlantico is nestled in a lush tropical oasis on nearly a kilometer of Playa Las Terrenas. Discover some of the world's most pristine beaches, untouched landscapes and underwater splendors while enjoying world-class accommodations and amenities. Check out our current Caribbean vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Balcones del Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcones Del Atlantico, a Rock Hotel Las Terrenas
Balcones Del Atlantico Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcones del Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.