We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Las Terrenas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albachiara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Albachiara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albachiara Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Las Terrenas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Albachiara. We were greatly pleased with the experience. The staff at the Albachiara hotel was super-friendly and committed to offer the best possible experience to their guests. As an example, they had no problem letting me make as many local calls as I wanted to different people and tour guides. I felt the hotel was very convieniently located - you can take an express bus to Santo Domingo from the hotel - and it is close to all the shops, restaurants and beaches in Las Terrenas. Breakfast was good and service impeccable. Rooms are big, modern, and very clean. Could not ask for more, we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are very happy that you are pleased with the Hotel and the treatment you received from our staff. I will make sure to let all of them know about your generous comments. Thank you very much! We will be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    47
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent. Rooms were very big, very well kept and the property is very nice. The service was excellent, very accommodating of all of our requests. The location of the hotel is just ok. To bars to the left are not as inviting for you to sit at. For that reason alone I would recommend playa de las ballenas.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest, It was a great pleasure to host you. Thank you very much to let us know your impression. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Albachiara was one of the best hotels i've ever stayed in. from the moment we walked in and were offered fresh fruit smoothies, to the helpful reception staff who called all their contacts to try get us a tour on an off-day (couldn't be done unfortunately -- make sure you check what days the tours you want to do run!). And the room, the room! More like a 1 bed apartment, it was like the island home we wished we had. Never seen a better laid out 1 bed, in all honesty, with a lovely spacious indoor-outdoor living kitchen and patio, overlooking the pool and garden!

In all seriousness (well, almost!) we considered buying the apartment, #4, and actually, it turns out you can! Or at least, some of the accommodations at Albachiara are privately owned, that's how lovely the place is.

Included breakfasts were delicious and generous, and the location, directly across from the beach and just out of town, was perfect.

Clean, lovely, welcoming -- you can tell by now, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are very happy that you are pleased with the Hotel. We are looking to welcome you in Albachiara, Las Terrenas soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent hotel, with pool, right in the center of town and all the action you want, yet very quiet. Huge pool.
We got a really good deal - this was low season after all.
Very friendly staff. Decent buffet breakfast included. Ideal for the family or the solo traveler.

Room Tip: Had the 2BR 2Bath suites. Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest, For us it is a great satisfaction to know that your stay at our hotel was a pleasant experience for you. We will be very happy and pleased to welcome you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The rooms are not luxury but are very clean and comfortables.
Awesome place in front of the beach. Great places to see around town, with beatiful beaches all around town..……………………………
Will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found the best place to visit Las Terrenas at the best price! The rooms were nicely decorated and fully equipped; with a great view to the beach just in front of it.
Also 100 mts to the left on the beach everyday the fishermen come to sell you cheap and fresh sea food which you can buy at a great price and have it nicely cooked by the hotel personel in your apartment or in the hotel's kitchen (to avoid mess) and have the food served in your place at the time you decide -amazing! Included on the price, I just tipped the cook.
A 5 min stroll on the the beach to the right you are on beautiful Punta Poppy and even closer to the left beatifull Pueblo de Los Pescadores with great restaurants. My favorites restaurant were "La Yuca" short less than 5 min walk to the left or "3 Carabelas" 8 min walk to the right.
Definitely I want to return to Las Terrenas and definitely Hotel Albachiara would be the place where my family and I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very pleased to hear that the hotel and the town met all of your expectations. We are looking to welcome you in Albachiara Hotel at Las Terrenas soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I have looked at some of the other hotels in the area and by far this is one of the best out there for the price. It has its own beach right across the street that has a really nice sunset great for taking pictures to the left of the beach right before the sun goes down. There are plenty of restaurants,bars and shops all in walking distance. The people at the hotel are very friendly and will help you with any needs you might have. We decided to take advantage of the kitchen and went to the local supermarket and cooked some great food for a really good price. This would be good for big family's staying. Breakfast is usually included so that also helps on the wallet. If your stating for more then two day rent a four wheeler for around 30 us. so far this one of my favorite hotels in dr.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to know that the Hotel met all your expectations. We'll be very happy welcoming you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albachiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albachiara Hotel

Address: Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albachiara Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front , Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality.The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen,comfortable mattresses,jacuzzi,air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea.Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minutes drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Albachiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albachiara Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albachiara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.