We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albachiara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albachiara Hotel to your Saves list
Albachiara Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am very glad we chose Albachiera. We stayed here 4/24- 4/28, which was Semana Santa, or Holy week, busiest hotel time of year. The highest compliment I can give is to some of the best customer service, especially Johanna, who made sure everyday we had everything we needed. The pictures reflect honestly the nice decor, spaciousness, and furniture. Six of us easily had privacy in our 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, full kitchen, large spacious veranda with a view of the ocean, breathtaking. The beach is private, with the best area for swimming. Most of the other areas have long grass and you can't walk out in the ocean far. Here you can walk or swim out very far, nicest beach. The breakfast buffet in the morning was good with hot food, eggs, etc. The only minor draw back was when at the beach, it is alongside the road, so it was noisy with motorconchos driving back and forth, but it was the busiest time of year with holy week, so I imagine it's usually not so busy. The location is great with french bakery, many restaurants, shopping areas all within a short walk. We stayed far away at Colibri, during our last trip and spent too much money on transportation getting into Las Terranas and back to hotel. This trip at Albachiera, no money on transportation since we were in the middle of everything. I saw the below post about ladies coming to visit, and did not see that at all during our stay at Albachiera. Out about at restaurants I saw some of that, which you will find in most tourist areas, in most countries I have travelled in the world. I would refer this hotel to couples, families, solo travelers, it is safe area, clean rooms, great staff, full apartments, awesome veranda, great location, great view of ocean, great private beach for swimming.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to let us know how you feel. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will be happy to welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    63
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
108
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Situated close to the beach and with a shopping center within 2 minutes walk; fully equiped rooms (kitchen e.g.); quiet airconditioning; nice beds; perfect breakfast. I could imagine actually living here, likea lot of French people do. Besides: having a bunch of French close at hand has advantages: there is even a nice winebar out there.
Good job guys!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbaHotel2010, Front Office Manager at Albachiara Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your lovely review.We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure to serve you again if your future plans bring you again to Las Terrenas. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just wanted a place by the beach. But what I got was a hotel suite and private terrace with staff who went out of their way. On entering I thought that the sheets and towels were white with embrodery. Only to see that the staff had hand placed tiny flower petals geomentricaly on the sheets. There was bottled water, coffee and sugar. The breakfast was over whelming with a stand by chef ready to make eggs for you as you sat on the upper floor over looking the sea.
I just wanted a place to be close to the beach and I got much more. Will return. 3 1/2 hours to JFK and a 20 minuite taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had such a great experience on this trip. The prices were great, the service was spectacular, the staff was very helpful, and kind!!! The staff overral made the experience fantastic. The rooms were so carribean like, it was perfect! Definitely a great place to get away!
The staff offered us and worked a great price for me and 3 other guest. We asked them where we can get 4wheelers for a good price, and they called the 4wheelers to come to us.
If you want a great experience, with great service, and prices. This is definitely the place to go!!

IF ANY OF YOU READ THIS ASK FOR JOANNA, OR RON AND SAY YOU READ THIS REVIEW!
SHE IS SUCH A KIND STAFF MEMBER, AND WILL DEFINITELY HELP YOU!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There isn't enough room to describe how pleased we are to have chosen this hotel. This vacation included my wife and son along with her parents. From the moment you reach their parking area to the day you depart the attention to detail doesn't stop. Beginning with Joanna the hostess to the very sweet cleaning lady (who by the way leaves your room sparkling ) to josefina the manager and a fee others. All these fine personnel work very very hard to ensure that you are having a great time and I have to say mission accomplished. Give them an opportunity to serve you and you won't be sorry. Please don't forget to tip them they deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently stayed here with three friend's of mine and we could not be happier that we chose this hotel. From the second we checked in, we felt like we were in paradise. The pictures on the website do not do this hotel justice as it is way more picturesque in person. Our room was also very clean and spacious with fresh flowers carefully placed throughout the bedrooms. We had a large balcony overlooking the pool and beach that contained both a dining table, lounge chairs, and coffee table. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a plethora of fresh juices, eggs made to order, fresh pastries, and the best damn coffee! Each morning, we started our day eating breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea. One of the best parts about the hotel was the staff. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Joanna at the front desk checked in with us daily to make sure we were enjoying our stay and also helped us plan our daily excursions. Not only was the hotel amazing but so was it's location. It is a central location between two downtown areas that are both walking distance from the hotel and across the street from the beach. Overall, I was extremely impressed and satisfied with my experience here and most definitely want to come back! I highly recommend staying at albiachara to anyone visiting Las Terrenas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an overnight mini vacation on April 13-14, 2013. The hotel is truly charming with an excellent location across to street from a beautiful beach and closeby to shops and a very well know night club, La Bodega, where we danced until the early morning hours. The hotel room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff on premise gave us a warm welcome on arrival and were very courteous. Hotel services were excellent. As residents, living in Santo Domingo, we have traveled extensively throughout the island. This hotel is one special getaway not to be missed !.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albachiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albachiara Hotel

Address: Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albachiara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front , Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality.The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen,comfortable mattresses,jacuzzi,air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea.Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minutes drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Jetsetter so you can book your Albachiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albachiara Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albachiara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.