We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albachiara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Albachiara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albachiara Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this hotel from their website http://www.albachiarahotel.com was not familiar with the area but it turned out great. Perfect location to get away with a special someone. On the beach, and beach was very clean and private. Everyone who worked at the hotel was great, special attention to every thing. Free breakfast was included. Very close to all the restaurants and bars of the area. Keep in mind this is a secluded area so the town was small, probably 10 restaurants and bars along the beach area. Food was great. Highly recommend. Will return.
We stayed on the ground floor and there were no noises to worry about

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    47
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've just returned from 16 days in the Dominican Republic - 6 of those nights were spent at the Hotel Alba - and we loved staying there! Having just spent 2 stressful nights in Santo Domingo, Hotel Alba was a welcome relief - visually, comfort level and location. How wonderful to see the beach directly across the street with strategically placed lounge chairs on the sand in front of the turquoise ocean. The hotel reception was welcoming - especially Josephine the manager. We had a wonderful King Suite with an ocean view in front of the fabulous pool - this looked beautiful both in the day and night. Loved the resident rabbit as well! The hotel is strategically located on 27 Febrero Street - walking distance to all of the great restaurants, car/quad rental place, art and clothing stores. And the morning breakfasts were delicious and filling. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation ask for a room in the back with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

returned to nyc mon. june 11. 2012 relaxed and content with the great service provided by josephina and her staff. have been to las terrenas many times and first time at Albachiara. this hotel will be my 1st choice from now on. can't wait to return. spent 5days sun and fun with my brother paul, great trip. signed jerry m. nyc

Room Tip: very quiet at night any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very pleasant stay, rooms where clean and fresh , Josefina the manager was very kind and helpful making sure we had what we needed.
Rooms are nice eventhough the showers are a bit small and there is no iron available in the apartments.The beds are good just about the right amount of softness and firmness.

Overall the hotel is very nice,beautiful pool and the beach across the street,I really enjoyed my night and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I went for this hotel because i saw the "how awesome" reviews I read in here, I was very disappointed and amazed that this hotel is rated for the second best hotel in the whole Samana. I am not saying it was bad, but certainly I had been to other hotels in the peninsula that were better by far. Great service, ok breakfast, good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Great service, great location, great people fun friendly and safe place with amazing apartment like rooms with ocean views!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My huband and myself decided to go to Las Terrenas this time and it was the best decision!! We felt like we were in our own vacation apt. The service, the food, the pool, the apts. Everybody was real pleasant and friendly at all times! I will highly recomend it and any time we go back to Las Terrenas, that will be the hotel we are going!! Thanks so much to the lady n the reception for making us feel so special!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albachiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albachiara Hotel

Address: Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albachiara Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front , Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality.The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen,comfortable mattresses,jacuzzi,air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea.Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minutes drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Albachiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albachiara Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albachiara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.