We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Dominican Republic beach getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albachiara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albachiara Hotel to your Saves list
Albachiara Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect Dominican Republic beach getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We've just returned from 16 days in the Dominican Republic - 6 of those nights were spent at the Hotel Alba - and we loved staying there! Having just spent 2 stressful nights in Santo Domingo, Hotel Alba was a welcome relief - visually, comfort level and location. How wonderful to see the beach directly across the street with strategically placed lounge chairs on the sand in front of the turquoise ocean. The hotel reception was welcoming - especially Josephine the manager. We had a wonderful King Suite with an ocean view in front of the fabulous pool - this looked beautiful both in the day and night. Loved the resident rabbit as well! The hotel is strategically located on 27 Febrero Street - walking distance to all of the great restaurants, car/quad rental place, art and clothing stores. And the morning breakfasts were delicious and filling. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

Room Tip: When you make your reservation ask for a room in the back with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    51
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
94
107
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

returned to nyc mon. june 11. 2012 relaxed and content with the great service provided by josephina and her staff. have been to las terrenas many times and first time at Albachiara. this hotel will be my 1st choice from now on. can't wait to return. spent 5days sun and fun with my brother paul, great trip. signed jerry m. nyc

Room Tip: very quiet at night any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very pleasant stay, rooms where clean and fresh , Josefina the manager was very kind and helpful making sure we had what we needed.
Rooms are nice eventhough the showers are a bit small and there is no iron available in the apartments.The beds are good just about the right amount of softness and firmness.

Overall the hotel is very nice,beautiful pool and the beach across the street,I really enjoyed my night and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I went for this hotel because i saw the "how awesome" reviews I read in here, I was very disappointed and amazed that this hotel is rated for the second best hotel in the whole Samana. I am not saying it was bad, but certainly I had been to other hotels in the peninsula that were better by far. Great service, ok breakfast, good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Great service, great location, great people fun friendly and safe place with amazing apartment like rooms with ocean views!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My huband and myself decided to go to Las Terrenas this time and it was the best decision!! We felt like we were in our own vacation apt. The service, the food, the pool, the apts. Everybody was real pleasant and friendly at all times! I will highly recomend it and any time we go back to Las Terrenas, that will be the hotel we are going!! Thanks so much to the lady n the reception for making us feel so special!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here at the end of February - beginning of March 2012: thought I would try it because of its rank on TripAdvisor. A big disappointment. My room was not ready upon arrival, and it took a couple of hours to sort things out. Housekeeping skipped a day here and there, taxi driver hotel sent to pick me up from the airport stopped to give lift to relatives along the way, on my US $60.00. Don't mind helping people in need, but I felt taken advantage of, and that it was planned and not an accidental encounter with the relatives. Breakfast average, senior hotel staff somewhat aloof (the woman in the admin office actually cringed when I said hello). Beach in front of the hotel very poor, and the hotel is also on a busy part of the road with near constant motoconcho noise and fumes. But I know the hotel can't help its location. I must say, the junior hotel staff were very good. One young woman found an envelope of my vacation cash and returned it all to me. One of the kitchen staff was great too, and she carried breakfast to my room a few times. Those two got lots of tips from me. But I believe their actions are a reflection of Dominican honesty and kindness, not necessarily of the service standards of hotel itself.

Next time, I will stay at the far better Alisei which features an excellent restaurant, Baraonda, where I have eaten at least 30 times and never been disappointed, or the Colibri, with its friendly, conscientious staff, beautiful grounds and excellent beach. I stayed at the Colibri for two weeks in 2011 and it was lovely.

Room Tip: My suite was very nice. It was the service and the more human aspects of the hotel that were lacking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albachiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albachiara Hotel

Address: Calle 27 de Febrero | Camino Playa de Popy, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albachiara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albachiara Hotel Luxury Beach Front , Las Terrenas disposes of 36 luxury apartments with all the amenities to enjoy a truly special holiday in the Caribbean. The luxury furniture is made of precious wood in an elegant but sober design that strikes the right compromise between the Caribbean style and modern practicality.The apartments are fully equiped and wonderfully appointed with kitchen,comfortable mattresses,jacuzzi,air conditioner, TV, internet access and have a balcony or terrace with views of the sea.Located close walking distance direction Playa Punta Popi in the heart of Las Terrenas in the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic less than 3 hours from Santo Domingo’s Las Americas International Airport, just 30 minutes away from the new international airport El Catey Samana, a 5 minutes drive from the local airport El Portillo. If you are arriving from Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is about 3 ½ hours, while from La Romana or Punta Cana, the trip can take about 4 or 5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albachiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albachiara Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albachiara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.