We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

It was very good experience for me, my wife and for our friends. It was our 4th visit into DR for the last 15 years. We were in different places, not all of them were nice. To make the story short I will tell we this resort was the best. We liked everything: friendly customer service, accommodation, food, and beach. 2 times we rented the car in the hotel and we visited waterfall in El Limon, Samana town, the island with other Bahia resort and Playa Ricon beach. It was very easy to drive in Samana: the roads are good. What is very important we save a lot of money and we did the excursions on our own schedule. On the left and on the right from the resort there is the beautiful sand beach. You can walk, swim or sit down under the palm and wait when the coconut fall down on your head. Nice. We booked the vacation package in Cheap Caribien with flight from JFK by JetBlue (very good plane), in addition we did reservation in "Optima Taxi Samana" for the round trip to resort and back. The owner of the company was accurate and polite and we are ready to recommend this company. What else. What we do not like- the show. It is common for any resort and to be honest there were a lot of people who liked it. I recommend to spend in Samana at least 10-14 days. You will like it.

Room Tip: If you do not like the room - call to the receptionist: he/she will be more than happy to find for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    1,100
    274
    90
    52
See reviews for
966
1,576
53
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have been to 5 Bahia's, this was our favorite, the beach is just perfect and the grounds are always impeccably maintained. It's the staff at this resort that stand out. We had a great time and would consider coming back, this time for two weeks, we were so relaxed and did not want to come home. Thanks go out to Eucliedes at the beach bar, what a star! Loved him. And Franseco at the quite pool bar. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Liskeard, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited El Portillo March 21st to 28th 2014, this was my third visit in recent years.

Very relaxing, good food, great beach, very friendly staff and a very clean resort.

My memory for names is not very good, but I would especially mention Felix who

greeted me by name when I arrived ! Also Ismael & Martin.

The bar & restaurant staff were also excellent especially Josephine who remembered

that I usually ordered cappuccino and Hugo in the buffet.

All in all a great time & I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive greetings from the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Best regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We travelled as a couple with Friends at the end of March. After landing and exiting the plane it took maybe 15 minutes before we were on the bus on our way to the resort - never have we experienced such a fast turnaround! The drive was amazing; very scenic through the mountains and all the small villages!
The hotel was exceptionally organized - we signed in at a separate table and were whisked to our waiting room. We were on the beach in no time!
The rooms were great - we were in the junior superior suite and it was exactly as advertised; very large and clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows.
The grounds were immaculate with teams of staff continuously cleaning; all staff went out of their way to say hello and make you feel welcome. On our first day on our way back from the beach we were offered the Dominican coffee while walking through the lobby – I do suggest you accept this, very delicious and such a good show!
We loved the beach with its amazing mountain views! I would suggest water shoes as there is quite a bit of coral and if the water is choppy it is hard to make out, on a clear day though you can see it perfectly. Also loved that you got sun from 8am – 7pm, no buildings obstructing the light!
The pool offered endless entertainment – through people watching and the entertainment staff.
Food and drinks were great – we never went hungry and could always find something to drink. I found that the selection of mixed drinks at this resort were lacking in comparison to other all-inclusive resorts we have visited. The language barrier added to the complication of finding something you loved. I would suggest brushing up on some simple Spanish drink terms, and bringing a fairly long list of things you like with you in case they don’t make your favorite.
We did the El Limon excursion and HIGHLY recommend it, this was a fantastic experience – please remember to tip your guide though, these guys are volunteers who live off of tips alone and they work very hard!
Only complaints are similar to what others are saying; smokers light up everywhere – no smoking signs or not; and not very much of a night life – we found we were in bed by at least 11:30 almost every night. We did check out the disco and were the only 4 people there; this is likely because this resort is very popular with an older crowd.
Overall we had an amazing time! If we are ever in the Samana area again we will be returning to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo for sure!

Room Tip: Loved the Junior Superior Suites - very large and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

The entire Bahia Principe Team is very happy to hear that you have had an amazing time during your recent stay at our hotel.

Thanking you once again for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back soon at the El Portillo.

Kind Regards,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I can highly recommend that hotel, people here are very friendly a polite to their guests, very good experience. Room was always clean, everything okay. Food was amazing! We really like a good meal and that was it. Big up. We really loved the beach which is always clean, no problem to find a place and you can take a walk to the left side and also to the right side to see beautiful beach, houses and sea. Just paradise and very relaxing. Thanks to the hotel for great memories and we hope to come back soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Sandra,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

First off, my wife and I are age 32. The approximate average age of the crowd during our one week stay was probably 45-65. I would guess 80-90% of the crowd were also French Canadian. If you are looking to meet other couples or groups your age and don't speak French, it could be difficult. That being said, we met several couples from Ontario that were great to hang out with.

The staff are absolutely amazing. They work ridiculously hard and long hours. They always have a smile on their faces and always say hi. Some staff can speak English and some have a hard time, maybe a few words at most. It can be a little difficult communicating however we never found it to be too much trouble. If you are looking for fancier drinks, we found ordering directly from the bartenders at the main bar inside to be the easiest.

The resort is very clean and well kept. The staff does an amazing job cleaning and grooming all areas. They are always working and do an amazing job. We were very impressed!!

We booked with Sunquest and flew with Westjet. From the time we landed at the Samana airport, it took no longer than 45 mins to reach the resort. From there, the staff took care of all our bags, our keycards and information we needed and there was no need to go to the front desk. They quickly transported us by a golf cart to our rooms and quickly carried our bags to our rooms. From airport to pool, it was maybe 1 hr tops. We were very impressed!!!

Buffet is good, some days better than others. I found my favourites and was content. The annoying thing is how pushy and impolite the other guests were. I felt rushed most of the time. Once seated, everything was fine and the staff were great!

A la cartes are fantastic! The food at the gourmet and seafood restaurants blew our minds. The Italian was a bit of a let down, but still pretty good. We had higher expectations for the Italian. Please note, if you don't enjoy seafood, there are other options available and you really should check it out, you won't be disappointed. Make reservations once you arrive in the front of the lobby near the store. Our ratings: Gourmet is best, Seafood close second, then Italian.

Pool and ocean were both great and quickly fill up with guests. We found if you came down around 8 am, you could reserve spots no problem by simply laying your towel on the chairs. The ocean offers an interesting reef which blocks most waves and allows for great swimming and snorkeling. The pool closes around 6 or 7 which we thought would be annoying, but it didn't really bother us at all.

Our only compliant and the reason I gave 4 stars was the smoking. The pool is supposed to be smoke free, however this is not the case. Also, there are tables in the lobby where guests can smoke; some are smoke free. I used to smoke so it didn't bother me too much, however my wife and friend didn't enjoy the smoke and I imagine anyone with kids wouldn't either. If you are a smoker, than you will have no trouble.

All in all, great experience and well worth checking out if you are looking for a fun, relaxing time. This is not a party resort by any means so if you are looking for a crazy party, you may want to look elsewhere. Safety was no concern at all. The rooms have deadbolts and chains and there is also security.

Room Tip: Our room was in block 24, top floor. Near the tennis courts and furthest from the lobby. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Regard,

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I just returned back with my family from a wonderful 1 week vacation at the fabulous Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. This was our second time in a year staying at this property and I would like to take this opportunity to tell you that we love this property and the wonderful people that work at this resort. I would like to say thank you to the Animation staff Adriana, Eliezer, David, Roody, Luis and Rosa who always had us involved in some activity.. A special thank you to Carlos and Amilcar who were friendly and always accommodating. They are truly what customer service is all about.l. I consider these people great friends and we will definitely be spending our next vacation at this resort.. This is a lush property, the grounds are immaculate and breath taking. The food was delicious with a great variety to choose from. I have never been to a resort that has had such a variety of fresh fruit. The beach is beautiful with clear calm waters.. I have already recommended this property to many of my friends and family and will continue to do so.
Way to go, keep up the great work.

Room Tip: This is not a huge hotel and no matter which building you are in you are to close to everything. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe de Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Christina,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us.

Thanks to employees like them that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests. We will gladly pass on your compliments to each of them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to can host you in the future.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Dianellys Nuñez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 3 a la carte restaurants 4 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 462 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Club Hacienda Junior Suite and Superior Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.