We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

THE BEST HOTEL ! *****

We my husband and I were on vacation for 9 days in the November/30/2013 in this Hotel "Bahia Principe El Portillo".

The experience was very nice, beautiful and very comfortable in all services. Whent for the celebration of my birthday wich all service personnel we made to feel like a "Princess, in the dorm room, as throughout this Hotel.

Hotel very quiet, familiar, cleanliness excellent efficient care and especially their hospitality very cute, staff very simply and always friendly. we are on location was very little family. The Restaurants and Buffet with lots of specialty and consenting to the guest in all they desire excellent food.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach

We hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    1,100
    274
    90
    52
See reviews for
966
1,575
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a great time. The rooms and food were good. The staff and service were great. Pricing was reasonable. We will return and recommend it for families with young children. Property and beach are beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is really nice of you shared with us your experience at our hotel. Our goal is to satisfied the needs and wishes of our guests, we are satisfied to read that with you we did it. We learn from the reviews of our guests to improve every day.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo it will be a pleasure to welcome you again here,


Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent facility , first-class service , rooms are better than expected. The main surprise is the beach - it really clean , nice and crystal-clear. Warm water , sun , plenty of space . You dont have to "reserve" seat at 6AM with the towel . Two pools are clean and hot. We were been there with 4 years old and he had a lot of stuff to do ( water park , pool , beach , etc )

Room Tip: Avoid buildings 7 - 12 , 24 , 25 and 17 - 23 because it really far from everything ( 5-10 min waling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff provide exceptional attention and service. They have fun but remain very professional. As a family with celiac, the staff understood the importance and we had no problem finding food that kept us healthy. We were provided an additional a la carte night beyond the 3 offered in our travel package and the meals at the a la carte restaurants were wonderful. Rooms and hotel property are clean and we'll maintained. One can walk for miles along the beach. This part of Dominican is less developed or touristy which appeals to us. It is beautifully tropical and mountainous. We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.


Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We enjoyed our holidays at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, although the overall experience was slightly less great than expected. Since we paid about 25% less than what we usually pay we still believe we received a good value for the money spent.

First what we were impressed with:

The room - we had a junior suite, very spacious. The junior suites are bigger than the regular rooms, have higher ceilings and bathrooms with shower cabin and toilet separated by opaque glass doors - a very convenient feature. Apparently the difference in the price is not that big, but I don't have the numbers.

The beach - plenty of shade, beautiful nature. Long beach walks are possible to either side of the resort. The swimming area is somewhat limited by the reefs, so you can't really swim far. On the other hand the reef protects the beach from the big waves, so you can swim in almost any weather.

The grounds - very clean

The a la carte restaurants - the quality of food is much better than in the buffet. We liked Portofino the best, but the Pescador and the gourmet restaurant are also very good.

The beer - the house beer in the resort is great, and serving it in the clear beer mugs was a winning touch.

What we liked less:

The food selection in the buffet restaurant - the selection was limited almost to Cuban standards. Very little changed from day to day - same dishes at the same stations. There was a very limited choice of fresh juices and sea food. The fish dishes were made from frozen fish. Pastries/dessert selection was also less than great. The was no real butter - the available butter was in fact a margarine product containing vegetable oil. On the positive note: all the soups we tasted were very good, besides there were new soups every day. Locally made bread was also very good.

The staff was very friendly, but clearly some personnel lacked training. The language skills of the personnel varied from great to virtually no English. Sometimes the beverage service in the buffet restaurant was very slow.

The free Wi-Fi service in the lobby was limited to 60 minutes a day. This is plenty if you can use these 60 minutes in separate sessions - the people at the reception claimed you can do it. Unfortunately it never worked this way - the countdown begins when you log in and continues even after you log out. I had to buy 60 minutes of Internet access for $8 from the souvenir store to be able to go online more than once a day. The purchased service actually did allow logging out and using the time in multiple sessions.

We recommend:

Going to Las Terrenas - it is a 1 hour beach walk to the West from the resort or a $10 flat rate one-way taxi ride. There is a charming French-Italian mini-mall in the town with nice boutiques and cafes. The mojitos in the beach bar cost $4-5, but better than what you can get in the resort.

Packing water shoes - the sand on the beach is soft to perfection, but the reefs are rough. We talked to a person on the beach who accidentally stepped on a cluster of sea urchins on the reef - he had to go to Samana for a small operation. Water shoes are also a must if you will take an excursion to El Limon waterfall - the bottom is rocky, and our daughter cut her foot swimming there.

Getting some treats for the friendly dogs on the beach - if you are out for a beach walk outside the hotel (highly recommended) you will inevitably encounter quite a few friendly dogs, usually well behaved and not aggressive at all.

Visiting the gift shop in the departure hall of El Catey airport - the selection of souvenirs is better than in Duty Free beyond the passport control.

Room Tip: The lower the building number is, the closer it is to everything. It is not critical though as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.
We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach

We hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to this hotel in Sept.2013 and I must say this has got to have the friendliest staff ever. Our room was fine we didn't have any problems at all with it, the food was average for A/I. .The only problem we had was that the lights were turned off at11.45 p.m and we like to play cards at night so it would be nice to keep the main lights on just a little longer. The disco was o. k but not what we would use us, being of the older generation. The beach was excellent , nice and shallow for not so good swimmers! and a good touch was the bar on the beach. We had a brilliant welcome on arrival and a lovely farewell when we left. We will go back again in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just got back to Canada from Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. We stayed 14 days, we found the staff to be very friendly. Stayed in a couple of junior suites. We have stayed previously at Grand Bahia Principe Coba four times and also Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa. This property is mainly flat, it has a new impressive looking children's water park beside the combination tennis court and small half court basketball net. My youngest is 14 years old he and I looked at it when we tried out the basketball court. It has a small pool bar\ refreshment station. My 14 year-old agreed he would have loved a facility like this when he was between 4 years and maybe 10 years. The hotel has two other pools to swim in plus a beach that has coral reefs close to shore. Bring your mask and snorkel, You can walk for kilometers or miles in each direction on the beach. Between the four of us we all thought we would like to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad y Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is really nice of you shared with us your experience at our hotel. Our goal is to satisfied the needs and wishes of our guests, we are satisfied to read that with you we did it. We learn from the reviews of our guests to improve every day.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo it will be a pleasure to welcome you again here.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 3 a la carte restaurants 4 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 462 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Club Hacienda Junior Suite and Superior Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.