We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd week was better than the first!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spruce Grove, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“2nd week was better than the first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As the second review of Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo, this represents the second week of our two week visit, Dec 29/12 to Jan 12/13. Our first week was in building 11 and our second week was in building 5. We had originally asked for a building close to the front, say 3, 5 or 7, since we were travelling with the in-laws who have mobility difficulties. Building 5 was right beside the main lobby entrance and was perfect for us. Building 5 is reserved for their Golden Club level and while the room size is the same there are some enhancements. Golden Club rooms have opaque glass for the shower door and the toilet room door. There was no toilet door in building 11. Golden Club rooms also have an iron and mini ironing board. Night time turndown service is provided and they refresh the towels twice a day. Building 11 does not have this service. We were offered to pay $5/person/day to upgrade to the other Golden Club perks but we declined. The other perks were access to a small club room off the main lobby that had two computers available for surfing and a very basic bar that had more upscale booze. The other perk was 24 hour room service. We had reviewed the simple menu for room service and were disappointed with the offering. There were no breakfast items, with the offerings left to a burger/fries, hot dog/fries, nachos, a veggie sandwich and a Caesar salad with chicken. After 11pm, the night time menu shrunk a bit and removed hot French fries. In all buildings, the absence of an ice machine and ice bucket is weird.
Overall, the junior suite rooms provide lots of living space and the maid service is good. One good tip is to bring 60 or 100 watt light bulbs. The light fixtures are all low wattage and it is difficult to read by the light provided.
We enjoyed the three ala carte restaurants. We went as a group of 13 plus a baby and found the time between courses was long. When we went again with just a table of 4, the timing between courses was very comfortable, and in one case, too fast. I would recommend splitting up big groups at the ala cartes. Only the gourmet restaurant requires long pants, collared shirt and closed toed shoes for the guys. The girls can wear daisy dukes and a halter top with flip flops and they will let them in! But please let me vent. While guys can wear shorts and sandals in the seafood and Mediterranean, please don't. Let’s all dress up and look nice and enjoy the special service and food.
The beautiful beach is the real selling point for this resort. The offshore reefs really do a great job removing the waves hitting the beach. The 9 month old baby can sit on the edge and splash without fear of being knocked over. The two pools here are very small but the beach here beats overrides that concern. The reefs just offshore cause the waves to crash 300-400 metres from the shore. By the time the kinetic energy is spent on the coral you have little or no waves on the shore. Tons of loungers. Not a lot around the pools, since the pools are small. During our second week the weather was very windy. The sand was blowing and the east end of the beach was deserted. We found when it was windy the people went the west side of the sandy point by the beach grill. We got loungers back from the main beach edge parallel with the beach bar. Under a palapa and out of the wind. Still on the great sand though. Some music and noise comes from the animation team with their dancing and exercizing. No Russians found. Spanish, lots of french canadians, finland, germany, really no Brits to speak of. Main language is spanish and second would be french. English is difficult to talk to with the staff but enough to get around.
By the way, the Beach grill is amazing. Lots of tables and chairs overlooking the ocean. Buffet is fresh and tasty. Great service. No need to go to the big buffet. They call the beach grill a snack bar but it has a full service bar plus a really large lunch buffet with soups, salads, pasta, rice, at least three types of meat on top of the make it yourself burger/hot dog bar.
We had pictures taken by the hotel photo team and it was very well organized. On site photo place does not take credit or debit cards. Cash only. $150 set only gives you 10 pictures on a disk. Every picture after that is 15 bucks until you give them $400 and then it drops to 40 pictures for 400 bucks. No haggling also. Take it or leave it. The ATM is on site at the lobby and you can only get out 10,000 pesos each day. Got 10,000 pesos for $254.03 Canadian. That is with a 195 peso fee at the machine. $39.37 peso to the Canadian dollar.
Had a lot of nice talks with Guy from Air Canada Vacations. Genuine helpful with no sales pressure. He was surprised to hear about our problems in bldg#11 and asked if there was anything further to bring it to his attention first before the hotel. He will go to bat for us. The bad days of Joel frustrating Air Canada travellers is gone with Guy now doing the north shore of Samana and Joel working the south shore.
At breakfast in the main buffet, about every other day they have a table set up with Smirnoff’s vodka, tomato juice and orange juice with champagne. Only Tabasco sauce and salt and pepper. Bring a container of Mott's rimmer, I wish I had. No lee and perrons also.
One thing I did miss is horseradish. There is a lot of great beef here and the horseradish would be most welcomed. The one night we had shrimp, there was no seafood sauce. Mixing ketchup with horseradish gets you close and with some lemon and the great garlic sauce that is here for the salads, I think you would be good to go. There are always lots of fish here, but little or no shrimp or shellfish.
They have Baileys and other liquors on the shelf but that is all extra. An ounce of Baileys was like 5 bucks.
We are most impressed with how clean and tidy the resort is. We can see that this resort has been added onto via the purchase by GBP but we can see that the old buildings look the same as the new buildings. I walked down to the corner store, to the right outside the main gate, about an 8 minute walk. Basic household goods and snack items. A can of Pringles was 110 peso. $5 on the resort. Bought amber rum Brugal 1 litre for $10 .64. And the extra dark for $12.50. The cheapest bottle of red wine was $15.50. Coffee by the bean was 315 to 335 peso per bag depending on how dark you wanted. In the buffet they have a Popsicle with 3 flavours, apple, raspberry and grape. In the store they are 15 peso per bar. A bottle of baileys was 815 peso.
Overall don't worry about coming here. The General Manager and the Assistant Managers are very visible and approachable. They are truly interested in your concerns and will go and make sure whatever needs fixing will be looked after. This is a very clean family resort with a fantastic beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    1,231
    309
    99
    55
See reviews for
1,097
1,797
60
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Some friends, family and myself came here for spring break and had a fantastic time. The staff was incredible like Ariel, Daviel, Leiny and Amilka and they really made us feel right at home. We even got a chance to meet and take pictures with a popular Latin artist who stayed there! The food was exquisite, my favorites were the omletes as well as Dominican Day ( When they make domican food all day long), which is a really nice cultural experience. There were great organic beverages and cocktails all day long. My mother had such a great time dancing, relaxing, and meeting new friends that were going back for a second time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly we hope you had a good trip back home and we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Tripadvisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our service.

We hope to have you back in the near future at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and I take the opportunity to send a very warm greeting.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here from june 22-june 29.
Check in at 8:00 p.m. Nice and smooth we were given a junior suite in building 9. They charge $4 aday for a safe (first time i paid for a safe at a bahia resort)
Room nice very similar to other bahia resorts, remember to keep patio door locked or air conditioner does not work. Housekeeping was good and came early.
Beach is amazing, you can go for long walks either way with nevr feeling nervous. Lots of chairs but finding anything under a umbrella is difficult. There are also lots of trees you can lay under. Beach bar was good, and so was restaurant on beach. Ocean was nice and calm, clear water.
Pool area was nice but a little small. Not easy to find chairs at all. Also bar by pool was very good.
Restaurants we did all 3 a la cartes thevfrench being the best. We really found the buffet for breskfast and supper to be very good with lots of choices.
Lobby bar was good and service was also good.
Staff was amazing, the DOminican people are amazing.
Overall a very nice property if you keep you expectations in check.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We cannot tell you how glad we are to know that you liked our facilities, rooms and Restaurant services. We feel very proud to learn that once again we reached our goal, exceed our guests satisfaction.

Thank you so much for share this wonderful experience with Trip Advisor and it will be a pleasure to can host you in the near future.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmela, Portugal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Because as higher rate, as more people will be travelling over there, and will loose the essence of Samaná. It's a wonderfull beach, small hotel (compared with Punta Cana), all close together, no need for trains to go around the hotel, the beach is just amazing, similar to Isla Saona in Punta Cana, but can spend there all days you want, instead of just 1 day like in Punta Cana.
The hotel itself is not the higher quality you might expect from a Bahia Principe, but the location is just like paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We would like to think we are not a smaller hotel, we are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked about two weeks before departure and got a great bargain with Thomson holidays (UK). This is our second visit to Dominican Republic - both times to Samana - last time staying at the GBP near Samana town.We have travelled quite a bit in the Caribbean - Jamaica, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Virgin Islands, Tobago, Trinidad, Puerto Rico and used to look down on Dominican Republic - big mistake. DR has some of the best beaches that we have seen anywhere and the people that we have met have been friendly, mild mannered and helpful. As you will see in the other reviews this hotel is excellent food, service, room quality and size, balcony, 2 swimming pools etc. In an ideal world I would not stay at all inclusive because you are not really seeing the country that you have travelled 9 hours to get to but it must be said that it saves a fortune and takes a lot of stress away but even so we try to get out as much as possible. The bad news here is that the local town Las Terrenas is approx 1 hour walk. The taxi drivers outside the hotel charge $10 each way which for the distance is more expensive than London! You can flag down "buses" at 50 pesos each - that about $1. The buses are open backed trucks but they do have a few seats inside. Unfortunately they stop running at about 7pm so we hired a car from George - his office is close to the Piano bar on the way into Las Terrenas. We paid about £27 per day for a small Daihatsu - no problem but watch out for missing man hole covers and massive speed bumps. Back to the hotel - Food was provided buffet style with waiters to serve water, wine etc. There was a great selection including some local specialities. I was very pleased to see plenty of local fresh fruit which was sliced up and ready to eat - Mango, banana, Guava, Sour Sap and some that I had never seen before - great! The beach in front of the hotel gets too busy for our liking and the usual idiots are out reserving beds with their towels. It has to be said we did not get to the beach before 11am but on one occasion a couple appeared on the beds next to us, put down their towels and then did not come back all day! The beach stretches for miles in either direction with beautiful curving bays but of course there are no sun beds there and the only shade is from trees but for sun lovers just take a towel and lay on that.
We particularly enjoyed the beach side bar/restaurant - Paella, chicken, Pork, fish and more + fruit and of course cocktails. We enjoyed late afternoons here and some lunchtimes - the peace was broken by bingo every day at 5pm.
You can call me a miserable old git - I cant stand animation teams but clearly many people love organised "fun". The animation team did not impose themselves but in my view most animation seemed to consist of Merengue Dancing - and there is a hotel theme song that gets played every time a new batch of tourists arrive or depart that starts to irritate after a while.
My ideal holiday usually includes a late night drink under the stars - it would have been great if the beach bar was open at night but unfortunately the only late night option was the disco or sit outside the disco. Far better to go into Las Terrenas and sample the many bars and fabulous restaurants. El Limone waterfall is only 15 minutes drive and definitely worth a visit. They put you on guided horses to take you down to the falls and they are beautiful - take your swimming trunks and a towel. One last point worth mentioning - The BHP Privilege club. We went for a 1 hour presentation and after about 4 or 5 hours signed up to a trial but after much consideration I recommend you avoid. The sales technique follows the classic time share format eg ask you about your interests how much you spend on holidays, how many a year etc then at the final sale you get passed to other "experts" who offer you different deals. if its such a good deal surely they would just have a few posters showing the options and the price - as when buying anything else - so just don't go - just enjoy your holiday. I have pointed out some areas of irritation but can definitely recommend this hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 18 - its easy access to restaurants and beach and about 5 minutes walk to the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!
We are really happy that you have enjoy your holiday in El Portillo and at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us.

We apologize for the inconvenience with the club privilege your comments have been tried with the up most diligence and have been referred to the General Hotel Manager as well as the Club Privilege Manager to take the appropriate measures in your case. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for everyday to improve the quality of our service which we provide.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is the best that we have visited. It was our 5th visit to the Caribbean , but our first to Dom Rep. The hotel, grounds and staff are outstanding. The management team provide an excellent service in keeping the hotel running smoothly. All the staff were friendly, helpful, smiley and seemed very happy in their work. I didn't take note of many names, but Isabelle, a waitress, was wonderful and giggly - made you happy to be around her, and Hugo was always welcoming and had time for a chat.
I am a vegetarian and found plenty of lovely food to eat. The rest of my family were very happy with the varied selections of meat roasts available and my husband especially enjoyed the paella at the snack bar, which should be renamed 'buffet' as there was so much selection.
If you fancy a short 10 minutes walk, leave the hotel, turn right, and about 10 mins down the road, on the left, is a local convenience store, which sells drink, cigarettes, essentials and a FEW souveniers . They only take pesos, but it is cheaper than the shops in resort.
We went water rafting with Thomson, which was a brilliant day, but it is 4 hours away, so a long day - 8 hours travelling- but WELL worth it.
The beach is beautiful, the sea warm, the cocktails are delicious -no complaints from this family :)

Room Tip: We were in building 6, which is on the outskirts. Nice and quiet and close to all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped,

Muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios sobre su reciente visita al Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. Le estamos realmente agradecidos ya que nuestro trabajo consiste en hacer felices a nuestros huéspedes.

No sabe cómo nos alegra ver que hemos conseguido su satisfacción y que sobre todo, nuestros empleados han contribuido a ello dándole un gran servicio y haciendo su estancia realmente agradable.

Esperamos volver a tenerle en un futuro próximo en el Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo y aprovecho para enviarle un saludo muy afectuoso de parte del Sr. Carlos Rosario.

Por favor, no dude en ponerse en contacto con nosotros en nuestra dirección de correo electrónico info.elportillo@ bahia-principe.com.

Saludos,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's a great hotel with good facilities.We were in the golden club which means that we had some more benefits such as private club house where we had free internet and of course the rooms are at a different side(the most of them beachfront).When we arrived they made a mistake with the rooms but they solved it soon after my complaint.The room it was great,we had sea view and balcony,it was big enough and modern.The service about cleanliness was perfect,they were cleaning our room 2 or 3 times per day.All the stuff were friendly and the hotel i think it's interested in your entertaiment,there are a lot of activities and happenings everyday,so you never get bored.The most beautiful thing of the hotel is the beach though.There are a lot of coconut trees on the beach,it's white sandy and gives you the impression that it never stops.Of course worth a walk on the beach and especially at the sunset.Finally they have various specialities food,you can find whatever you want to eat,i think that there is nothing that you will want to eat and they don't have it in the buffet.We are very satisfied about our choice and if i go second time to the island,i wiil stay for sure again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Samana

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 3 a la carte restaurants 4 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 462 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Club Hacienda Junior Suite and Superior Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.