We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a very nice week at the El Portillo.....beautiful beach, good snorkeling, cold beer! Staff very friendly and rooms very spacious and clean. Food was good and there was something for everyone. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo as your holiday destination. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

We really hope to consider coming back to this Caribbean paradise in the Dominican Republic and enjoy all our facilities and services.

Kind regards,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,325
    330
    103
    62
See reviews for
1,186
1,915
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fords, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

like it a lot. stayed apr6-13, 2013. Food is very good, very clean, nice beach. Staff very nice but half of them do not speak english. Service in the resaurant very slow, but food is good.
I would definitely recommend El Portillo for a family vacation

Room Tip: buy prefered club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach we hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There isn't much not to like about the El portillo. Located near the town of Las Terrenas,you can walk an uninterrupted 10 km on the sand right to the town. There are no other resorts along the beach so you don't encounter lots of folks while walking.There are numerous rentals that have private security so you feel safe.If you are a pool person this may not be the resort for you.There is one large and one small pool so not a lot of choices for the size of the resort.But if an awesome beach is what your looking for look no further.
This was our second year to stay at El Portillo and we loved our stay last year so much we returned for 2 weeks this year.We like the junior suites because the room is larger and has a spacious 4 piece bath.The resort is not spread out too much so you are never too far from anything.
The buffets are not fabulous but are very good with lots of choices.Always seafood,chicken and red meats to choose from and a pasta station and salad bar.We found some rather yummy hot desserts at dinner time like bread pudding or pudding cakes with custard sauce.the gourmet restaurant had some nice appetizers and a coconut stuffed chicken which we thought was very tasty.
Our room was cleaned daily without fail and no problems with receiving fresh towels etc.Mini fridge faithfully restocked.There was a turn down service and this maid also gave us fresh towels.
Some reviewers mentioned lack of bar service but we found that the servers circulated and asked if we would like something from the bar.I'm not at all opposed to getting up and walking a few feet to request a drink if I don't see a server and often chose this approach.
The staff at this hotel are awesome, hardworking and friendly.The buffet has lovely ladies greeting you at the door like Ysabel. Once seated a server will quickly ask your beverage choice.We liked them all,especially Natalie, Jose and Jonathan.The morning bar server,Martina,always knew we would want a cappuccino and there it was.Then there is Josephina later in the day and she will make your drinks just like you want them,more rum,less sugar,no ice etc.Tell her what you want and she'll do it.Could you ask for better service than that!At the front desk the staff are always helpful and Carlos and Sandy are very people oriented.We were fortunate to have a great Air Canada rep as well.Guy was very approachable and made every effort to make everyone happy.
We enjoyed our day trip to Los Haitises National Park.Rock formations fascinate us but some people found the caves claustrophobic though they are not small.The catamaran ride across the bay takes awhile but we loved it.
The only negative aspects of our holiday were not issues the resort staff could control.There are always inconsiderate folks and we were unfortunately there at the same time as a large wedding party.They forgot it wasn't a private party and were noisy and at times inappropriate(mooning for a photo op, arguing,monopolizing the pool for volley ball).When they left
the serenity returned.
This is not a posh,upscale resort but it still pampers its guests,has very good customer service, is immaculate and is the best value for your vacation dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach we hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had a wonderful time at this hotel. I would recommend it to everyone.
The staff are very nice people and very clean.
The buffet was super good, better then "a la carte"
The snack bar/restaurant on the beach was wonderful, the bathroom @ the beach was super clean at all time.
The only thing I would like is, more space for shade. They didn't have enough umbrella for every one on the beach. Bur I really like the hole experience of it.
Would recommend it for every one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.

We really appreciate your comments because we want to be better everyday and work to satisfy our guest needs and we hare so happy, because we did it with you.

In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.


Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would definitely recommend El Portillo for a family vacay. If you don’t care about a dated décor but are big on cleanliness, this is the resort for you. Both the management and staff work very hard to ensure that a high standard is maintained, from the public bathrooms, to the beach, to the rooms, I was very impressed! The staff is very friendly and they genuinely love children, I can’t tell you how many went out of their way to say Hola (or give a high five) to our 2 ½ year old. The mini club staff, Sandra and Elisandra, were great and made our son feel very comfortable. Although we didn’t leave him for extended periods of time he participated in some activities. We stayed at El Portillo in mid March and he stills signs the songs he learned during the mini club show in the evenings. He loved the dancing! Gracias por su ternura con Daniel chicas!
The food was overall ok, there were some outstanding dishes like the Paella (it shows that the head chef is Spanish!) and the Dominican cuisine but otherwise ok. Your best bets are the specialty dishes (i.e prime rib) prepared on the spot. We were disappointed with the a- la-carte restaurants, especially for our toddler since the children’s menu was limited to fast food type dishes. Although, I have to say that each restaurant accommodated my request for veggies for my son. The service in all the restaurants was excellent and it showed that the Dining Facilities managers lead by example. Special thank you to Nathaly and Yisel for their attention and warmth. Gracias hermanitas!
The beaches are some of the best we’ve seen (we’ve been to the Mayan Riviera, Bahamas, Jamaica, Hawaii & British Columbia) and that was only the ones we saw. The real spectacular ones are only reachable by ATV and not doable with a toddler.
We stayed in building 12 which had direct access to a smaller pool and enjoyed our daily walk to the beach. My son became fast friends with the porters who happily obliged his requests for a ride in their golf carts “el carrito”. Thank you to Luis, Samuel, Juan, Luis and Martin for your kindness and graciousness. Lo hicieron muy feliz a Daniel, muchas gracias muchachos!
The only disappointing aspect was the Housekeeping/ Maintenance staff (not the person who cleaned our room), our room was not ready when we got there, which was not a big deal, but became an issue when there was no crib , robes/slippers, beach towels, working alarm clock when we finally got to the room. Most of these things got rectified but were small irritants.
We did take a taxi to Las Terrenas ($20US roundtrip) and did some shopping. The exchange rate was pretty good in town and the prices for coffee, vanilla and rum were 50% less than the prices at the hotel and/or airport.
All in all, we would definitely go back when my son is a bit older so we can do more excursions (heard the whale watching was amazing), relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Samana.
Don’t forget to tip, the staff work very long hours and every bit makes a difference!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Sorry for the inconveniences that you have experienced; with Housekeeping/ Maintenance your disappointment is ours to rectify, and to ensure that our guests do not leave with letdown feelings but rather those of satisfaction. As our goals are to fulfill those and meet our guests’ expectations, to turn the negative into the positive with finding solutions to our problems, we wish to welcome you back at our best and effective treatment.

In the name of our staff, we would like to thank you, and all your family especially to Daniel, for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. For any enquiry please contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Transfer from the airport takes around 1.5 hrs but we didn't mind as the views are spectacular! The animation team from the hotel welcomes new arriving guests with lovely music and dance. Same when you're leaving. They play a song made specially for Bahia Principe to say 'adios' and thank you to the guests and we felt we were leaving friends behind. My boys cried all the way to the airport and still beg me to return this summer although we went on holidays elsewhere afterwards. :)
Hotel grounds are spotless, hotel itself is really clean and lovely and then there's the beach!!! And what a beach it is! Unspoilt, with no hotels in sight, all you can see is the lovely pale sand, clear water and palm trees. Sand is swept daily by staff so no seaweed etc. A true paradise. We used to take walks by the beach all the way to Las Terrenas.
Animation team works hard to keep you entertained but they won't annoy you if you do not want to join in. Hope Casanova still works there, he will keep you smiling all day :) The pool was kept clean and water was nice although it wouldn't cool you down much :)
The weather, although in the middle of a rainy season, was amazing. Hot, humid and sunny, although during our 2 weeks stay there were maybe 3 showers during the day and they were surprisingly cold but lasted no more that 30 minutes and brought freshness to the air. I know it rained at night a few times, at 3 am or so but the sky was always cloudless by the time we woke up.
Food in the main restaurant was delicious. Did not bother to use any of the a'la carte restaurants. Caviar, smoked salmon and cava for breakfast, great choice for lunch and dinner, different themes every day and fantastic coffee. Waiters did not speak much English but we loved it this way as we were kind of forced to practise our poor Spanish :) They all work very hard and I regret I am bad with names as some of the staff really deserve to be mentioned and praised. One of the managers in the restaurant became my 2 years old son's best buddy, he treated us like VIPs and made sure we always got a nice table. We thought he was just working for his tips but when we tried to tip him generously at the end of our 2 weeks stay he looked a bit offended, refused to take the money and gave us all bear hugs instead. The waitress who used to serve us remembered our drink preferences and from the second day she made sure drinks were waiting for us and high chairs ready for our sons upon seeing us entering the restaurant. Again, she refused the tip at the end but happily accepted for her niece some baby toiletries and a bag of Pampers nappies that my son didn't get to use there. What lovely, kind, warm people they are (all apart from the ignorant staff in reception, who used to take their time doing anything giving you the impression that you are wasting their time).
Overall, whatI love most about this hotel is that they really made you feel that you were on a tropical island and did not try to make it look like home away from home. They played lovely Latin American tunes by the pool instead of boring hits you hear on every radio station back home, ran bachata and merengue dance classes on the beach, served deliciously cold Banana Mama and Coco Loco in the beach bar. Everything was different, everything felt exotic, everything screamed holidays...
...well, maybe apart from our second last day there (thankfully it was not one of the first days as this review would have been so much different) when I woke up at 2 am to a sound of scratching in the room. Switched the light on only to find a rat the size of a cat in the corner. My husband tried to scare it away, it stood on its hind legs and hissed at us, we threw a pillow at it and it ran and jumped right into a cot beside our bed, in which my baby son was sleeping peacefully. That must have been the most horrifying moment of my life! Eventually it escaped into the bathroom and dissapeared. We rang the reception and they sent a maintenance guy over who discovered that the rat had made a hole in the air vent cover in the jacuzzi bath. The man had that cover replaced but I just didn't feel comfortable being in the bathroom anymore and we kept the door closed at all times. It did spoil our holidays a bit (well, I am petrified of rodents) but it also reminded us that although the resort is local 5*, it is still in a Third World country and once you see the conditions in which local people have to live (you will pass tiny villages on your way from the airport), you will feel embarrased complaining to them about one little rat who might have trotted past your precious Louis Vuitton suitcase (even if that rat happens to be bigger than my cat).

A few tips:

- if you have small children and like us prefer walks over any other type of transport, please keep in mind that if you decide to take a walk to Las Terrenas, the footpaths are non existing and the bits that are there are cracked by tree roots and you will end up pushing your buggy on the road :)
- it is worth taking walks to Las Terrenas by the beach as you might discover you are the only people in sight and don't forget camera for those "desert island" photos
- if you wish to take a taxi to Las Terrenas, the reception will tell you to let them know and they will have a taxi organised for you (they get their share), that pleasure will cost you $10-we did that on one occasion, but if you walk out of the hotel gate you will see the same taxi drivers waiting for a call from the reception and if you decide to take a taxi from here, you will only pay $1-2, at least that's what they charged us :D
- our boys thought the stroll to Las Terrenas was the best thing ever as they got to see 5 grown up men riding on 1 motorbike :) and also a huge dead blowfish (balloonfish?) on the beach
- the hotel shop is expensive, esp. nappies but again if you leave the hotel by the front gate and head right, you will find a 'minimarket' a few minutes away and the same nappies will only cost you a third or less of the hotel price (they looked shocked when we asked for the whole pack of nappies, they normally sell them individually), also shops in Las Terrenas sell good local produce, eg. coffee beans or dried tropical fruits for great gifts, jewellery or paintings from Haiti.
- we took a day trip to Samana which was lovely as boys loved the speedboat which showed us around mangroves and took us to a beautiful island with glorious white sand (again forgot the name)
- the hotel photographer used to offer family photo sessions on the beach or anywhere you liked for around $100, which were lovely but we thought it was a bit expensive so didn't take it but regret it now as we do not have many photos together as a whole family, always someone missing from the photograph

Remember you are not going to Monte Carlo and you will have a time of your life. Enjoy your holidays x

Room Tip: We stayed in a room located on the ground floor with another floor above us, each with own entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about of our facilities and our beautiful beach. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

Once more we are sorry for the inconveniences in your room that you have experienced; your disappointment is ours to rectify, and to ensure that our guests do not leave with letdown feelings but rather those of satisfaction. As our goals are to fulfill those and meet our guests’ expectations, to turn the negative into the positive with finding solutions to our problems, we wish to welcome you back at our best and effective treatment.

We hope to welcome you again at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. Please feel free to contact us at the following address whenever you are planning to come back: info.elportillo@bahiaprincipe.com

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granby,qc,canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we would really recommand this hotel for a nice vacation.
the beach is fantastic!!we can relax or walk quietly on both sides of the main resort area with great looks at the ocean.all the services that the hotel offers are very good,transportation to the airport,lodging,buffet,à la carte restaurant,animation(Daniel is a crazy guy!),bar and grill at the beach.
Special thanks to "Laurence",she was very helpfull for us when ever needed.
The lobby is "magnifique" for a relaxing evening.Overall again,great place.
EXCEPT FOR THE TIME SHARING VENDORS wich were very very anoying every day.
Otherwise , would return without a doubt.
Thanks....1st week of april.2013

Room Tip: should choose second floor from 15101 and over. 13101 to 14xxx dont give a great view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you invested in writing a review of your recent stay and on behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo .we would like to express our gratitude for the kind words you have submitted about us also we would like to sincerely thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements experienced during your vacations.

We feel glad when we read that our guests feel pampered and that you received the high end service we are committed to provide during your stay. We want to say thank you for writing your valuable appreciation regarding your visit to Grand Bahia Principe Resort.
It will be a pleasure to assist you for your next visit, pleased contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe

Receive my warmest regards

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
3.4 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#6 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albachiara Hotel
Albachiara Hotel
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#14 of 58 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 stars 2,853 reviews
15.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 4 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.