We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICEST BEACH WE HAVE WALKED!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
Brantford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“NICEST BEACH WE HAVE WALKED!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

8 OF US 40-50 YEARS FRIENDS JUST RETURNED HOME FROM eL PORTILLO.We had a wonderful trip. Resort is small does not matter where your rooms are 5 minuete walk from everything. Some rooms have nicer views than others. We are not fusy we don't spend much time in the room. Typical Bahia rooms everything you need. Everything clean. Safes are tricky we thought ours didn't work for a couple of days but ask the manager at the front desk there is a trick to there use. Staff are very curteous you may need to speak with a manager over any important issues they speak excellent english. We all loved the food, hot, plentiful, good variety. We loved the italian not so crazy about the gormet. Wine lovers said the red was ok sweet but palitable. Beach bar, Pool bar excellent service, good drinks. Not so with the lobby bar. Very slow. Inconsistant drinks we couldn't pay for a good Mohito. We brought our own Baileys. They stick to there pay for premium liquor policy. Drinks which have been included in the other 5 Bahia's are charged here and many of them they do not have just empty bottles displayed on the bar. If you have a go to drink you may want to pick up some at the duty free. If you feel like getting off the resort. GO TO ONE LOVE! It was the super bowl while we were there so we took a cab in to one love in Las Terranas. Terry ( Canadian) has a lovely little spot on the beach with big screen Tv"s showing all the major sporting events. Football, Hockey UFC to name a few. We had a great night. If you go in definetely try there chicken wings fries and poutine. All eight of us are still talking about that food. Only regret we didn't go back for more. The Zip lining, whale watching tours were a hit amongst our group as well. Last but not least. Cuba, myan riveria,Bavaro beach have nothing on this beach. You can walk forever and it only gets more and more beautiful. We will return. Good value for your vacation dollars. Feel free to ask questions and have a great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your awesome review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great experience at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. Our principal aim is to make your stay an unforgettable experience and we are proud to know that we achieved that aim.

We appreciate your comments about the food and services which will be shared with our Managers. We can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you back at our hotel on your next trip to Las Terrenas.

Yours sincerely,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,347
    919
    249
    84
    48
See reviews for
767
1286
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having stayed at the Grand Bahia Esmeralda in Punta Canta last year we were expecting an equal experience. This is a review from this perspective.
Flight inbound was with Canjet on what I will call an older model plane with a Claustrophobic seat pitch. While this might be legal, it should never have been permitted by Transat! From the seat back on my elbow I could not fully extend the fingers in my hand without touching the old worn uncomfortable seat in front. With the reclined seat in front, it was only 2 inched from my face, ridiculous! We were ordered to upright the seats so we could put down the trays for food service. On the return trip there was a reasonable 4 plus inches of space between the ends of my finger to the seat in front. If you are average size or up, beware! FYI the attendants were good, not their fault at all.
Arrival at the Airport – not busy at all compared to PC. Buses easy to find. The ride to the resort was very scenic, have your cameras ready! And a short 45 mins away. During the trip you are given your room assignments, ID bands, and information packets.
We were welcomed to the EL Portillo with fanfare of music, dancing and cool refreshments. It did not take too long to get your room keys and PAY for your safe. We purchase a “Royal Golden Junior Suite” package.
About the Royal Golden, we asked for and not given a suite with a King bed. We were accommodated by a very helpful staff and moved into a regular (I think) room with a King bed the next day. Only a minimal inconvenience. My issue is with this I booked end of October 2012, requested a King bed, wrote 2 emails and then end up here. I can book into any 2, 3 4, or 4 star hotel in NA any time in the next year and get what I paid for, I do not accept “subject to availability”. This is merely and excuse for a poor booking service. Of all the issues I would of expected better, none took much from a good vacation. First issue is the “Royal Golden”. Best put, not as advertised. No evidence of a “special section of rooms” (all over the resort), premium international drinks - seems the same for everybody, No one could tell me the phone number of the direct line to the concierge service. You will have to judge for yourself if the extra $$$ is worth a robe, slippers and beach towels in your room. I would suggest that between the resort and Transat they figure this out and how to make Royal Golden more visible.
The rooms were good but for again a few issues, hot water and water pressure, and minor state of repair. Minor easy fixes like a door to the mini-fridge went unrepaired yet obviously broke. Minor but this is stated as a 5 star resort. The last night we returned to our room, door open, but nothing missing EXCEPT (as we didn’t discover until the morning) all of the towels were gone. I guess that the turn down service, took the towels and forgot to return, leaving the door wide open. Mistakes happen but security related issues are not to be taken lightly. The mini-bar? Two cans of beer and sodas. NOT an mini-bar at all. FYI Last year, we did have a mini bar with all the necessities.
The resort grounds and facilities are quite beautiful. This is not a large resort. The beach is one of the best (including Cuba) that we have been to, the pools a little smallish but very nice. The tourists are not respectful of others when the put towels on chairs at the pool and beach (yes I saw it) and leave for hours on end. Please enforce a 1 hour or your stuff is gone policy! LOL we got up early 6:30 am to ready for an excursion, to find people scurrying around like little rats putting towels on chairs, way too funny. We never got up too early and were always able to find somewhere to sit.
We did not find the vendors at the beach too aggressive, say hello have a chat, they then to remember you and leave to your space.
We took maybe 5 minutes with the Privilege guys, case closed, no aggressive approaches afterword’s, they seem to remember.
The food was the biggest let down. If we could have had the food from last year GB here this would of been a stay. The buffet is too small and not of the 5 star quality we expected. How many ways can you serve cold cuts and hot dogs? Buffet was smoky, poor ventilation and never enough silverware, glasses etc. Having wrote this we did find things to eat. I anticipate a response of “busiest time of year” to that I respond, you should not over book then.
The specialty restaurants two were excellent one the seafood was poor. Others had told us the opposite so hit and miss?
Lobby Bar service was odd. Sometimes it was very good other wondering if you are at a 3 star. They ran out of Pepsi, glasses, liquor, (except the cheap local stuff). Seems at busy times the just are not equipped to handle the crowds. Again not a big deal, I had nowhere to be.
Check out day came too soon, bell hop never answered the phone rang for 15 plus minutes before I gave up. Checking out was fine. The staff gave a great farewell offering of dancers and music!
Ride back to the airport was very nice. The check in there, well be patient it is going to be an hour or so, just a small airport, not a lot of staff.
Summing this up, it is a 4 star resort, perhaps we where spoiled but last year’s excellence. This was a very good vacation with minor inconveniences. We have a good time, enjoyed our stay. The staff was excellent, kind, always trying. If GB make a few minor changes they will deserve a 5 star rating. Do not worry about your trip here, if you are flexible, enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo for your holidays.

As well, we kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your comments. It is a valuable source of information which shows whether we are moving in the right direction or there are things that need to be changed.

We take all feedback seriously and we can assure that your comments and impressions have been transmitted to the responsible persons in order to take the necessary actions.

On the outset, we sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to El Portillo for one week starting Feb. 7th and was very impressed (after the first day). The only problem was a misinterpretation of where the Royal Golden suites were located. I had thought from the different sites I visited that Royal Golden suites were buildings 1/3 which are closest to the beach/lobby/restaurants/pool but upon arrival we were in building 12 at the very back of the property. We were informed that all the building 1-12 were the upgraded suites. After the 1st day, we didn't mind in the least as we were right beside the 'quiet' pool which we used every day and the walk to the beach, etc was not long at all and there are also shuttles available.

Most of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Carlos - the asst. manager was friendly, helpful and charming. Alexander, the bartender at the quiet pool, was very nice and remembered what I drank and he seemed to be genuinely glad to see you. I'm not sure of his name but I think it's Ricardo in the buffet restaurant was superb.

The beach was amazing and I wouldn't have worried about my grandchildren playing in the water as it was the calmest oceanside beach I have ever been to. There is a capaccino machine in the beach restaurant that was excellent.

If I were to return to any resort, this would be the one.

Room Tip: Depends what you want. Quiteness and pool nearby then buildings 10, 11 and 12 (upgraded rooms) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you for the first time the All Inclusive concept and for taking time to write about your experience in the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.

We are glad that you enjoyed the beach, food, rooms, a la carte restaurants, pools and service. Also we appreciate that you bring to our attention your perception about the repetitive food at the buffet and manufactured atmosphere, you can however rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention.

Do not hesitate to visit us if your future plans lead you back to the All Inclusive resorts.

Kind Regards,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Everything exceeding our expectations at this resort.
Our Air Canada rep Guy was one of the reason our vacation turned out to be our best vacation so far. He was full of information and recommended our best trips we have ever been on. The trips we went on were Rincon Beach Safari, Limon Falls and Ziplining which was the best of the three. Also Guy gives you all the information you need on the bus to the resort which was nice not to have to attend a meeting the next day. This was the first time i have flown Air Canada and i was very impressed.
Pros
Beach was beautiful.
Food Excellent.
It is not a large resort therefore everything was close by. You have a view of the ocean from dining room
Service was good with or without tips
People are very friendly here.
Air Canada rep was very helpful
We upgraded to a suite which was much nicer than standard room
They were overbooked on Saturday therefore we were offered to spend our last night a Cayo Lavendato

Cons:
Standard room fridge didnt' work when we arrived but was fixed right away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to hear you had a nice holiday during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beach, food and beverage, a la carte restaurants, and the service.

It has been our pleasure and honor to be at your service, looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Returned last night after a wonderful week. The hotel grounds are very spacious and clean. The Beach was great for long walks. Snorkling off the beach was wonderful - lots to see. We usually spent the day at the beach and then moved to small pool by Building 10/11 for games, drinks. The buffet offered a great variety and was very good. We did not enjoy the Seafood Restaurant but the Italian more than made up for it. The Specialty restaurant was also very good. I agree with previous comments about the extra charge for the safe key - $28.00. We have never had to pay for this separately before!! Staff was most pleasant. There sometimes was a problem with dishes - no wineglasses, cups, spoons - but it really was not a big deal. Also, you had to pay for some "specialty" drinks. Unfortunately scotch (good) was one of these - but we all managed and did not come away thirsty. We had booked a Whale Watching trip with Kim Biddell (Whale Samana) before we left. Our travel rep at the hotel tried to discourage us because it was not hotel sanctioned. After all the reviews we had read about her trips - we would not be discouraged. We had to get our own transportation into Samana. No problem - bell boy got us a taxi ($120.00 for 10 people - return) The whale excursion was well worth every penny. I learned more about whales before I even saw one. We saw several whales - they were putting on a show for us. Kim explained what they were doing, habits, etc. GREAT EXCURSION. The next day we did an ATV trip with Terry (Tours by Terry) Once again, this was a great trip. We saw so much - off the beaten track and learned a great deal about the culture. The day was great, transportation provided from outside the resort. GREAT EXCUSION. The drive to and from the airport is very scenic - make sure you have cameras ready. This was a great vacation and I would certainly recommend the hotel and the tours to everyone. Wonderful vacation with old and new friends.

Room Tip: We were in Building 9 - corner unit. Corner suit was huge - more room than needed for two people on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Knowing that you have previously visited Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo is flattering; thank you so much for your trust and for visiting us again.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our service, facilities and hospitality. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments about our services and facilities are very rewarding, rest assure we will forward your post to our staff.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that I loved this resort and will probably return. The drive from the airport is spectacular and your greeted with singing and a welcome cocktail...very nice.
The Beach is amazing, hardly anyone on it once you leave the resort, and the water is warm calm and very blue. The ocean is full of fish and people said it was like diving into an aquarium, you didn't even need a mask to see the fish, just stand neer the coral. Lota of chairs and Palappas on the beach too.
The pool is small but I din't care because the beach was great.
I have a very sensitive stomach and am always tired of resort food after a couple days, but here the food was great, I had no problems at all and enjoyed every meal.
Our problem was with the room, obviously very old and not well maintained. The mini fridge and ceiling fan did not work and were not repaired even after we complained. The room safe was difficult to operate and had no instructions, it took two trips to the front desk to figure it out and for this agrevation, we were charged an extra $28.
The front desk kept telling us things like beach towels and an umbrella would be in our rooms and they never were, resulting in chasing down maids who didn't speak english.
Having said this, I'm still willing to go back because everything else was great. If it wasn't for the problems with the room, I would give it 4 1/2 stars.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being close to the beach, it's a small resort and everything is near the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo hotel, we would like to thank you for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations.

At the Grand Bahia Principe Resort we take pride in offering our guests good accommodations and the very best in food and beverages. Your review is motivating as it reflects that we continuously exceed our guest’s high expectations.

Your special mention of the transportation that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife again.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kakabeka falls on
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Got back Sat from 2 weeks at this wonderful resort. If your looking for a beautiful beach that goes for miles and an extremely clean, friendly resort with great food, then stay here :) We have been to the D.R. 12 times, this was our first time to Samana and we would go back. Beach is the best we've been to with coral reefs right in front for excellent snorkeling. Staff is very friendly, service is very good. We would rate this in our top 3. Enjoy

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1500 block very close to the lobby and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your experience is a true testament of the dedication of our staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation. We are really pleased to read the comment about our food; all this dedication has been specifically made for our Grand Bahia Principe Resort guests.

Your review of our property is also encouraging our management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

Thank you for your recommendations for other guests and for the time you took to add your opinion at this website.

Sunny regards

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo
El Portillo Beach Resort
El Portillo
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic
Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, Priceline, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.