We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
kakabeka falls on
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Got back Sat from 2 weeks at this wonderful resort. If your looking for a beautiful beach that goes for miles and an extremely clean, friendly resort with great food, then stay here :) We have been to the D.R. 12 times, this was our first time to Samana and we would go back. Beach is the best we've been to with coral reefs right in front for excellent snorkeling. Staff is very friendly, service is very good. We would rate this in our top 3. Enjoy

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1500 block very close to the lobby and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your experience is a true testament of the dedication of our staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation. We are really pleased to read the comment about our food; all this dedication has been specifically made for our Grand Bahia Principe Resort guests.

Your review of our property is also encouraging our management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

Thank you for your recommendations for other guests and for the time you took to add your opinion at this website.

Sunny regards

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,749
    1,082
    268
    89
    52
See reviews for
959
1,536
53
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our whole family accompanied us on this trip, 8 adult children and our 5 grandsons. We felt the beach was great for the boys for both sandcastle building and snorkeling as well as skin boarding. The waters was green flagged most of the week. Never red flagged. The food at the buffet was awesome even for our most picky eater. Never a problem with service even though we were a large group. A special thanks to Ana, our hardworking waitress who always seemed there to help us. Hope she delivers a healthy baby. The mini club girl, Sandra, was wonderful getting the boys involved in the dancing, shuffle board and darts. She deserves a raise, as you could tell she really loves children. Only problem during this trip was a safe that never worked even though we called to have it fixed and a major ceiling leak; but this was repaired while we were at the beach for the day. None of this ruined our trip. Would also like to thank Antonio, a young man training for bartender position. He is a very pleasant young man with the people skills for that job. Hope he does well. The family went zip lining and loved it. I would highly recommend this resort. We LOVE the Bahia principe resorts...

Room Tip: We were in the diamond club area, which had its own pool and bar. There was a problem with non work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. We really appreciate you taking the time to post some valuable comments about your stay with us.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work. I am very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of the employees and we hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future. It was our pleasure to be at your service!

We thank you for recommending our hotel also to your family and friends, the best publicity is the one that people make at home after their holidays.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We travelled with friends Jan.26- Feb.3/ 13 and can't say enough good things about it. Food was great,rooms were super clean, the staff was fantastic and the atmosphere was super fun. The beach was absolutely incredible- we didn't even go to the pool because the beach was so great. The beach vendors were friendly and not at all pushy- as soon as you said no thank you, they moved on. Even the time share people weren't aggressive. Our Air Canada rep, Guy, was absolutely fantastic. Any little problem that came up, he was more than helpful. Super friendly and very funny- great job Guy! Overall an amazing experience- great place to recharge the batteries! Long overdue trip for my husband and I. The staff were always so friendly and quick to help. Because we hadn't been away in so long, we weren't sure what to expect but we were so happy with our trip. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which is a little small but we didn't spend any time in it except to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo a wonderful hotel and that the assigned rooms were suitable for you and your family.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is especially valuable for us, as you can give us feedback along the time.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Two weeks are not enough time spent in this excellent resort. Friendly staff and great food and
perfectly kept grounds will make you want to spend more time here.
In other words: we want to come back!

Room Tip: The junior suites are worth the extra monies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just returned from our stay at The Gran Bahia El Portillo. It was a quick trip that we'll definitely make longer next time. The grounds, the villas, the dining and the staff were top notch. We couldn’t get enough of the long expansive, beautiful beach with calm waters and beautiful breezes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it because it helps us to learn about our guest needs and satisfy them.

We are really so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our beautiful beach we hope to welcome you once again in Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went to El Portillo Samana , Jan 26- Feb 2. Had a great time the resort was beautiful & well maintained,clean .pool was nice, we sat by the pool in the a.m. then in afternoon went to the beach, to hot by the pool .It did rain a little during the week but overall it was a great vacation.Martin Vimenez was a great guy he was very helpful,when we needed anything we went to him ,he made it right.He was the Bell Boy. Maria Bonse was very helpful has well.The food was great ,Itilian lacarte was good lots of food.The only downfall was the room didn't get cleaned until late in the day when we were back to get cleaned up for dinner. we would go back to this resort again,At the beach we were always able to find chairs in the afternoon.

Room Tip: we just had standard room it was fine for us we were only in there to clean up & sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most beautiful beach. We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

what an excellent vacation we stayed jan 29-feb 5- great hotel - beautiful area- unspoilt by development-most amazing beach- can walk forever- good food- al-carte restaurants were great-special thanks to hotel porter ismael gil- this man needs to be commended for his special attention to helping us woman with our heavy luggage both upon arrival and departure--definately will be coming back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our front desk department and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 3 a la carte restaurants 4 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 462 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Club Hacienda Junior Suite and Superior Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.