We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Las Terrenas
Can
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We strongly recommended this resort. For first time traveller with young children it is the perfect place. The ocean is calm and very secure. This resort has everything you need. The accommodations were of high quality, the staffs are especially friendly. With or without tips, they work very hard to please you.

Everything you need is on the resort and there is no need to go elsewhere unless you want to sightsee or shops in the local flee market.

We meet someone very special whom we call our angel: Her name Maria Bonsenor, she is the second big manager of the hotel. It was my second time at this hotel; she makes sure I got my special gift. This person is always giving outstanding services to everyone. She is very friendly with a big heart, she always ensure all tourists have everything they need during their stay. You see her all around the hotel at the beach, restaurant and lobby. She ensured all tourist enjoyed they stay. She always takes the time to talk with tourist to ensure we have outstanding services regard the time of the day, she took her job very seriously and she is proud to work for this hotel. I hope to see you again Maria, thank you for your excellent services.

The food is very good, and the price for this hotel was excellent too.

The hotel has made some upgrade since my last stay especially for the golden guess. The office for golden guess is now in the main lobby before it was in a small house outside the hotel, this is much better than before. The staff which we make reserve for the restaurant could speak very good French, this is good if you do not speak English. The restaurants a la carte were better than before, the services a bit slow but we were on holiday so no stress. Staffs in all dining area were very friendly and always smiling. They make you feel like you’re part of their family.
The animation (Daniel) and all other were excellent and very friendly. Over all we had a wonderful vacation without any negative comment. We were very impresses and we recommend this place to any visitor.

Sincerity,

Sandra and Josée family.

Room Tip: I recomend the golden junior suite for all the extra and specially the check in in the bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and write this comment about our hotel!

We really appreciate your nice comments regarding our hotel, rooms and services and even more the ones regarding our staff! Mrs. Maria Bonseñor will be so happy to hear the nice words that you have for his!

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,523
    984
    260
    85
    50
See reviews for
854
1388
51
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We came here to celebrate new years eve with some friends that were staying near by. Rooms are huge and very clean but a bit far from the lobby and the beach which can be a pain when it rains but is still a nice walk an there are trolleys that can you a lift if you want to wait. The restaurants are crowded but the food is decent. Make sure you make a reservation before 3pm f you want to go for dinner to any of the other restaurants. The beach is a beautiful and quiet and bungalows are easy to find despite the amount of people. Wifi didnt work to well and you have to buy a $50 card if you want to have in your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment about your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo.
We are very disappointment to hear that we did not reach your expectations regarding your recent stay with us and we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. You can rest assure that all your comments will be taken in consideration and we really appreciate them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to can host you in the future.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel offers the best of both worlds for beach lovers: A peaceful semi-private beach with all amenities & services right at your fingertips AND a gorgeous, long beachfront adjacent where you can walk along and pretend you're on a deserted isle. Vacation heaven! Very good snorkeling with fishies eating out of your hand.

Come to El Portillo for an absolutely no-stress beach vacation. The property is set in the midst of lush mountainous terrain, dotted with the brightly painted houses of the local people.

The hotel room and service met our expectations; things really perked up for us after Leandro upgraded us to villa 1, right in back of the snack bar on the beach. We literally could roll out of bed and take ten steps and be in our beach chairs.

This is definitely a couples resort and one that is friendly to families. I saw a few large groups of people in their 20s who were using the hotel as a base for outdoor adventures. We heard every language spoken: French, German, Russian, Polish, Spanish and New York-ese.:)

Don't have high expectations of the food. You can eat well at the buffet if you know what to go for (pasta station, salad, fabulous red beans and rice). We ate three times at the reservation-only restaurants and were disappointed with the odd flavors and fussy presentations. In defense of the food, I never once got sick eating at El Portillo whereas I did get sick from a pineapple beverage I stupidly drank on the beach at Cayo Levantado, which we visited one afternoon.

My husband and 14-year-old son loved El Portillo so much they didn't want to go back home. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Speak to the manager, Leandro
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are greatly appreciating your comments. Our goal it is achieve maximum satisfaction of our guests. We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Greetings from El Portillo.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel Jan 12 -19th and were treated like royalty. The staff and accommodations were beyond excellent. The hotel was clean and the water hot for showers. The food at the buffet was amazing and there was something for everyone. The beach is absolutely beautiful as we walked it pretty much every day. You can walk for a very long time on the beach and see a lot of different things and it is safe. I would strongly recommend this hotel as a must see in Dominican. Lots to do....

Room Tip: The larger upgraded suits are amazing, we stayed close to the main office which was very local to ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very happy to hear that you have found Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo a wonderful hotel and that the assigned rooms were suitable for you and your family.

Thank you for your review about the hotel. Your experience is especially valuable for us, as you can give us feedback along the time. We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and we are really happy to see that you have enjoyed our food, our service and our staff.

We hope to welcome you again the next year to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We vacationed at the bahia may 2012, we actually went there to get married. we absolutely loved it there, it was clean, well kept, the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were greeted with performers and a welcome drink which was absolutely amazing.The bar tenders were all great and didn't cheap out on the liquor. We went as a group ages ranging from 18-60's, and we took our one and a half year old. its a great resort for both families and also for partying. The rooms were fantastic, always fully stocked mini bar in your room.. only con about our room.. we had a big rain fall one day and our room actually flooded... we were immediately moved rooms no questions asked.The entertainment staff were great they would come pool side and perform, and then there were the nightly performances as well and after the night performance everyone would go to the disco.The food was standard buffet food for buffets, it did have a wide varriety though, the beach snack bar was typical, hot dogs, fries, nachos, cold meats and pastas with fruits) The actual buffet was huge with tons of variety. the a la cartes were good we went to two. The beach was beautiful, a bit of coral reef would come in during the day at times but was fairly far out. you do have people coming to try to sell you things on the beach but we didn't care to much.. if you tell them no they typically go away. We also ventured into the near by town las terrenas which was a short cab ride away, which the hotel reception will call for you no issues. the locals were all friendly and we had no issues. so over all we couldn't have asked for a better stay! i would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about of our facilities and our beautiful beach. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were there in May 2012. We like the Bahia chain, the food is always great and the rooms are always lovely. The beach was nice to walk along, you could walk all the way to town. We like the lay out of the pool and the beach being close together. It did rain a bit while we were there but the beautiful lobby is well layed out to be able to enjoy the amenities. The wifi worked great right in the lobby and pool areas. You could still enjoy a drink and play cards or chat while enjoying the views, even in the rain. Overall we liked this resort and have put it as one of our favourites in the Dominican. Go and have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Cordial greetings from all the team working in Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo; we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. It is clear that our customers are the most important, naturally so are their comments. Observations are treated with the utmost interest; as it is the best way to know what specific points we must focus our attention on to improve in all aspects.

We are sorry for the inconveniences that you have experienced; your disappointment is ours to rectify, and to ensure that our guests do not leave with letdown feelings but rather those of satisfaction. As our goals are to fulfill those and meet our guests’ expectations, to turn the negative into the positive with finding solutions to our problems, we wish to welcome you back at our best and effective treatment.

For any enquiry please contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you are looking for a nature paradize without a high rank entertainment, this resort is for you.If you don't like heat and humidity, December and January are perfect months to come to this place: nice bronze tan without any burns. Variety of nutricious foods; they use only bottled water for cooking and drinking purposes. We liked a lot French and Seafood restaurants. (Unlimited champaign if you like it!!!) I still miss the resort massages. Both beach one and the spa one are awesome. (It's only much less expensive on the beach - $25 full body massage for the whole hour!) Though the food there is tasty it's not a lot of variety from day to day. There is enough room to swim if you like, although be careful not to touch their reefs. (Some of them are poisoneus!)
My husband and I ame there from Cincinnati, USA. Surprisingly for us, there were only few americans there; mostly Europeans and French Canadians. if the resort considers more English speaking people, I think they should hire the staff speaking more and better English. Despite of it, all the staff is extremely friendly and hard working. They are putting their best effort to please the tourists: patient smiling front desk people, animator Rosa, buffet girl Mireya, the three artistic Argentinian photograper-girls. Special thanks to the assistant manager Carlos Rosario for his great professional skills and warm heart. (Hi, Carlos! I am the one who put some recommendations in written for you, remember?)
Best regards from Regina Appatova

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our Tripadvisor community. We would like to think we are not a smaller hotel, we are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family. In the name of our staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo and we hope see you very soon in our property.

Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Regard,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Otel, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.