We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First off, I’ve been reading some of the latest reviews and I just can’t believe people have bad things to say about this place. We’ve stayed at several different resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean and found this to be the most beautiful we’ve ever stayed at. We never witnessed anyone walking on the coral (wouldn’t you cut your feet?) We never saw any garbage in the water. All staff was helpful and friendly and they handled any requests quickly.

My husband and I stayed here for the first two weeks of June and absolutely loved this resort. Our trip was booked with Westjet Vacations. The flights were on time and the bus picked us up right outside Samana airport. The bus did not take the toll road on the way there (but did on the way back). It took us well over an hour to get to the resort from the airport and we were already tired from our two flights plus short layover in Toronto. Still, we were able to enjoy the beautiful Dominican countryside during the bus trip. Did not find the bus trip to be uncomfortable in any way.

Check in at the resort was quick and easy. They took care of our bags and took us in a small trolley type car to our junior suite in Villa #9. We were on the main floor here which suited us. No going up and down stairs. I’ve read that some people find these blocks too far from the main area. We did not find this at all. It was a very short two minute walk to the Pueblo Principe (the shops, disco, and outdoor show area). Only a four minute walk to the main buffet area, reception, lobby, and a five minute walk (MAX) to the beach. We were very close to the quiet pool which we had to ourselves on two separate afternoons. And yes, the bar at the quiet pool was open.

Our room was clean and comfortable with a king bed (as requested). The bathrom had a jetted tub (we did not use) and a separate shower. There was always hot water for the shower no matter what time of the day we used it. The water pressure was not the greatest but this is normal in pretty much all resorts and hotels these days – they all use water savers. The maid service was very good – there was a different towel art/animal each day. The cutest was the towel lamb. We left a tip for the maids every day and the room was always clean – always had fresh towels. Others we met said the air conditioning in their rooms was not great and that they had trouble sleeping because it was too warm. The air conditioning in our room worked VERY well and I even had to get a blanket one night. We had a main floor balcony which faced a beautiful garden area.

The resort area itself is gorgeous. The most beautiful landscaping I’ve ever seen at a resort and very well kept. Beautiful trees, palms, shrubs, and flowers everywhere. We saw many hummingbirds diving in and out of the shrubs during our stay. There were banana trees as well as coconut palms. Breathtakingly beautiful resort all around. The beach itself was very nice. The calmest waters I’ve ever encountered (except maybe Diamante beach which is on the north coast of the Dominican). The coral reef at the resort here keeps the waves away and the waters calm. Very safe for swimming, snorkelling, or just taking dips to cool off. The beach goes on forever….

We did not spend a lot of time at the main pool. We preferred the beach for the most part. However, the pool was clean (although warm).

We spent a few afternoons at the quiet pool by our Villa. We had the pool to ourselves two of three times. The bar was open and it was quiet and very beautiful here. Very relaxing. There were only three other people on the other day we were here. The water here was also warm but still helped to cool you off if you were basking in the hot sun.

Never had issues with finding chairs at the beach or the pools. Sometimes you had to walk a ways down the beach to find a chair with a cabana but you could find one eventually. There are chairs that go a LONG way down the beach. There were many many beach chairs available if you were okay with sitting in the sun the whole time. It might be different during high season – don’t know. If I had to guesss, I’d say the resort was at about 60% capacity while we were there.

We ate breakfast every day at the main buffet. I got the omelette every single morning and enjoyed them every day. Also had fresh pineapple and bacon every day for breakfast accompanied by coffee and orange juice. My husband got a variety of different things every day. Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety, coffee was good, service most days was very good. There were a few days when they were slow clearing the tables and bringing coffee. However, we were on holidays and not really in any hurry.

We had lunch most days at the beach snack bar. They had pizza, hamburgers, fries, and hot dogs – standard snack bar food. However, they also had a variety of fresh fruits, mini wraps, sandwiches, rice dishes, chicken, and calamari among other things. Better than standard lunch snack bars at most other resorts. The main buffet was also open for lunch and had more variety but we only ate there once. We preferred to stay by the beach and enjoyed the snack bar.

We ate dinner at the main buffet nearly every night. We tried two of the a la carte restaurants – the seafood and the gourmet. We found them to be just okay and so did not book any others. We preferred the dinner buffet as many others have already said. The best part of the a la cartes was the seafood soup which was very good. At the main buffet, there was a different item at the carvery every night. One night it was roast turkey, another it was roast pork, another it was lamb, another it was ham, another it was roast beef, another it was beef wellington and another it was some kind of stuffed fish. The stuffed fish was the only carvery item I did not like. They also have the made to order pasta at dinner. Although good, I only had the pasta once as there were many items to choose from – from the salad bar, veggies, rice dishes, meat dishes, fish, and so on. There was also jumbo shrimp one night in fourteen and lobster one night of the fourteen. The lobster was not the jumbo lobster you would order in a restaurant but was still tasty and was cooked well enough not to worry. We ate outside for dinner every night – we preferred to be outside anyway – but the interior buffet was stiflingly hot at dinner time. I would not be able to sit in there for very long although there were some who did.

I cannot comment on late night snacks despite asking about this prior to our trip. We were rarely up late. We were up early every day and in bed early most nights. The nights we did stay up we were not hungry as we normally ate a lot at dinner.

We only took in a few of the evening shows. We saw part of the Michael Jackson tribute which took place in the indoor entertainment area. We found it way too hot in there to stay for long. We saw the Mr. Bahia contest/show which took place at the outdoor Pueblo Principe area. Also saw the International show. These were mildly entertaining and funny but do not expect too much.

We preferred spending our evenings just relaxing in the lounge or walking around anyway. Some nights we walked down to the beach and just gazed up at the stars (wear lots of bug-spray if you do this). We met a group of people our first week who we sat and drank with in the lounge most nights. The servers there are very good and friendly. Loved the guy with the drink cart – he always made us smile. All the waitresses were good but our favourite waitress was Martina – she was absolutely fantastic. She made the best drinks and she kept them coming. She also remembered what you liked to drink from night to night. The frozen strawberry daiquiris were very good, especially if you needed something icy cold to drink.

The cappuccino here was also very good. Had it several times. They also had a coffee bar set up in the main buffet on a few different occasions. I loved the Spanish coffee the most. Yum.

Tours:
I should have booked with a local tour company. It was my original plan but we decided to just book with the hotel. We went on the jeep safari which visited Santa Barbara de Samana, a plantation, an iguana zoo, and the beautiful Playa Rincon. We ended up spending well over 6 hours on that bus…. we drove through Santa Barbara de Samana twice, the first time driving to the market area – and we weren’t allowed to get out and look around or shop! Playa Rincon was amazing – the most beautiful beach I’ve ever seen with the mountains in the backdrop and the crystal clear waters. However, we spent most of the day sitting on that bus taking a very round-about route from Las Terrenas to Samana, back up to the north, then back south to Samana again, then back up to Las Terrenas. There was also no option for lobster lunch like we were told there would be. Next time we go with a local recommended tour company. You live and learn.

Room safe:
Yes, it is extra for the safe. I think it worked out to $56 for the two weeks. Did not have a problem with this. Some places charge you extra, some don’t.

Areas that could use improvement:
The main buffet should be air conditioned. The lounge area was also very hot. It is an open area lounge, therefore is not air conditioned. There are several ceiling fans however these do not do much at all. I don’t know if it’s always this hot in the lounge or if it was just because we were there in June. They might want to install more fans – many people were just sweating and using the drink menus as air fans. However, having said that it still did not keep me from sitting in the lounge many nights we were there.

The banana mamas: I previously had these at another Dominican resort and LOVED LOVED them so much. Here, they were runny instead of slushy and you could hardly taste the banana. Not a big deal – I just had other drinks instead. It was a bit disappointing but hardly something to deter me from this gorgeous resort.


Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. We had sun every day – not a single drop of rain. We thought the food was very good, the grounds outstanding, the beach beautiful. The servers great, the pools nice. Would return in a heartbeat assuming the price was right. Already missing the beautiful beach.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay in our hotel Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. Your kind and sincere words make us very proud of our achievements, and are truly motivating for our relentless pursuit in exceeding our guests’ expectations.

As much as the importance that we give to our customer service and hospitality, we do our best to preserve the environment in optimal conditions. In the same manner, we have great respect for the nature in which we are fortunate to be located. Following your descriptions, I can assure furthermore that our hotel is eco-friendly. After all, our sandy beach undergoes annually a strict criterion from the internationally known The Blue Flag Programme, and the organization has just recently awarded our hotel with its third consecutive eco-labeled certification.

We have taken note of your final suggestions which are much appreciated and we hope that in a near future you may witness in person the improvements, through a wishful return amongst us as we would be more than happy to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com for your next visit.

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    1,230
    309
    99
    55
See reviews for
1,095
1,794
60
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort in early July. It was not our first visit to Dominican Republic, but was our first time to the Samana province.

We found the property to be spotless, the gardens beautiful and the food very good.
We were impressed with the friendly and professional staff – especially Miguel and Nathalie, in the Las Dallas Restaurant, and Josephine in the lobby bar.

However, we returned from our vacation unhappy with our visit to Samana.

One of the reasons we selected this property was the proximity of the reefs to the beach and the Bahía Príncipe Ecological Foundation. The Bahia Principe website claims that:
"The natural surroundings of each resort are lush, tropical and indigenous, and respect the authenticity and ecosystem of each place."

Furthermore, the property website displays the Eco-Bahai Foundation logo which I understand means:
"The resort is committed to the environment, and takes regular action for its conservation with the Eco-Bahía Foundation. The Bahía Príncipe Ecological Foundation was born out of our responsibility, awareness and concern to protect and conserve the ecosystems that surround us… In the resort we work to protect the environment by using friendly products and training our teams in the implementation of good environmental practices, based on official regulations. We encourage our suppliers and guests to take actions for the efficient use of our natural resources. We respect the marine ecosystems, protect and conserve the dunes, and take care of the native flora and fauna."

My husband and I were were distressed to see that the reefs at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo in Samana were not being respected by the guests of the property, nor were the resort staff taking any steps to safeguard them. Guests were not stopped from walking on the reefs (which form some of the most diverse ecosystems on Earth), removing living animals from the ocean or poking at the reefs with sticks.

Then, when the resort set up a temporary bar in the ocean just meters away from the reefs, plastic cups were being discarded and allowed to float into the reefs and ocean, Guests were allowed to bring glassware and food into the water from the nearby beach restaurant. Guests were not stopped from feeding bread to the fish, which is not the diet of the fish and is dangerous to them.

We understand that some guests may be uneducated about the reefs, or are drinking more because they are on vacation, but this is where the resort needs to step up and police the situation. Putting the bar in the ocean contributed to the guest's actions and overall environmental disrespect.

For the lack of the resorts follow-up to its commitment to the unique ocean environment on which it is located, despite the quality of the rest of our stay, my husband and I will not be able to recommend this resort to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, General Manager at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for posting a review of your stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. We appreciate all of our guests’ thoughts about their experience in our hotel as it gives us the opportunity to reassess all aspects of our work.

Bahía Príncipe hotels, especially the Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo, have proper environmental practices in compliance with environmental laws and regulations governing the relationship of tourism projects with the natural physical environment around them in the Dominican Republic.

The hotel operations are monitored under the Environmental Permit No.1666-12 issued by the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources, state agency responsible for tracking the provisions of Law 64-00.

Until now, Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo has fulfilled the monitoring programs and (has presented the necessary reports in respect to the environment, which is required by the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources). Our hotel has also undergone the inspection visits to the facilities and the natural physical environment surrounding them, which includes the marine environment.

For three consecutive years now, our beach has met with all the requirements and inspections by the National Committee and the reviewers of the International Blue Flag; the flag can be seen on the sand as a testimony. In these processes of inspection, one of the components tested is the quality of the biota and the marine fauna, with emphasis on the corals in the vicinity of the hotel beach. This quality control was assessed by the Reef Check Foundation at the request of the International Committee of the Blue Flag in the year 2010.

While it is true that there are coral heads located nearby the beach, what mostly dominates the coastline - particularly in the bathing area - are rocky outcrops surrounded by sea grass. Corals are present after 30 meters from the coastline in a depth between 60 to 90 centimeters, which usually is a beach zone less frequented by guests.

The hotel has complied with international guidelines for the delimitation of the bathing area, by placing a line of buoys which can easily be seen from land. Its purpose is to indicate to the swimmers the safety measures that should be taken for their own protection and the one for the marine species. Results show that this boundary is respected by more than 90% of swimmers.

Any garbage item that is seen on the sand is removed in only a matter of time, as the area is constantly maintained by our staff. If any is seen in water, it is mostly due to currents and waves or strong winds which have dragged them onto our beach.

When we organize a bar service on the beach, it is always set up on the sandy bottom close to the coastline and not on the rocky platforms. The barman is well conscious of the protection of the environment, which is why there is a container on-site for any rubbish disposal.

Nevertheless we keep monitoring the activities that take place on the beach, in order to reinforce the rules for its protection.

Thank you for your observations and your concerns on the protection of the marine ecosystem, since it is of same importance to us. As a result, it is allowing us to unify in thoughts for the better improvement of different measures that can be taken to preserve our environment.

Last but not least, we hope to welcome you back in our hotel, and wish for it to be soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us at info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Carlos Pablos Henríquez
General Manager
Hotel Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We are a family that travels every year together. Ages mid 50's to early 80's six of us. This is a much smaller resort then we are used to, but after lots of research decided that we would book this resort for two weeks. Loved the ride from the airport, lots to see and scenery very beautiful. We experienced several outings away from the resort and enjoyed each one. We felt safe walking the beach at all times. The food at the buffets was the best, lots to chose from. We are a hard working bunch so we truly enjoyed the relaxation we experienced at this resort. We are already talking about next year's trip and we will be going back to the Bahia El Portillo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for writing this nice comment regarding your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and we are really happy to see that you have enjoyed our food, our service and our housekeeping team.

We hope to welcome you one more time in Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. Do not hesitate to contact us info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com for your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was the first time I went there with my boyfriend and it was the best vacation. The service was absolutely great! The staff are beyond nice and will take you anywhere in the resort. They definitely show you a great time. The food was awesome! There's soo much to choose from and restaurants as well! The scenery is beautiful and the beaches are fantastic! No rocks on the beach and it is soo clean and clear water!

Room Tip: The suite has better air conditioned rooms the doubles aren't as cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words about your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. We are really glad that you have enjoyed our hotel, food and service.

Our team is so happy to read all your nice comments about them and about their work.

We hope to welcome you back again next time to make your holiday once again a memorable vacation!!! Do not hesitate to contact us info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com for your next visit to Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

Kindest regards,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

If someone gives this place a bad review they might as well stay home because they'll never be happy anywhere. We LOVED this place and the staff were fantastic. Staff went out of their way to serve us. One actually brought us drinks to our beach chairs. He didn't even work as a bar tender and he refused to take a tip. Once the staff recognized us they would go out of their was to say hola to you everyday. The Manager often spoke with us and asked us daily if we needed anything. The only complaint we have is we couldn't stay longer and we stayed for 2 weeks. So... For all those whiners out there if you don't like the resort stay home and let us who enjoy this wonderful resort without all your negativity!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this detailed review for your recent stay at Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo

We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, specially our services.

We work every day to satisfy our guest needs and to make their stay a memorable holiday and we are really happy to see that we did it with you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com for your next visit to Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

Kindest regards and thanks again,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

FANTASTIC HOTEL,perfect servis,excellent staff,amazng food and any more...

Room Tip: Rooms close smaller pool was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us your review of our Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in our hotel next year. Please do not hesitate to reach us through info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com where we are always glad to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this resort and i have very little to complain about. I read reviews before we left and all the negative reviews were WRONG! The two complaints i have was that the shower needed to b cleaned and this distance from the airport was 2.5 hrs.The food was good, our suite was a nice size, there was plenty of activities, plenty of bars, and the staff was very friendly. I wouldn't go back but thats only cause i like trying different places. I would suggest it to a friend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Jefe Calidad & Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo, and are delighted to read such a satisfied one. Parting from our guests in this positive way, and more, is indeed our ultimate wish.

We hope that travelers do not form a prejudgment or be subjected to a change of perception, but instead follow their own curiosity to experience in person, and in full, our services at our bestest treatment, just as you have done. Afterall, here in our hotel, we make sure that our guests live and enjoy both comfort and entertainment, with the utmost care and pleasure.

On this note, we would like to invite all travelers, and welcome you back, for an unforgettable stay in Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. For any enquiry, please do not hesitate to reach us through info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com where we are always glad to hear from you.

Best and sincere wishes,
Kisha Rodríguez Then
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe El Portillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Address: Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#4 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 3 a la carte restaurants 4 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 462 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Club Hacienda Junior Suite and Superior Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.