We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Luxury, Nothing Fancy, SIMPLY AWESOME CARIBBEAN NATURE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Acaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Acaya
Punta Bonita, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“No Luxury, Nothing Fancy, SIMPLY AWESOME CARIBBEAN NATURE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

For some people this might be the worst place for vacationing since there is a lot out there in different flavors but for me this was amazing and wonderful. This is a small hotel located right next to the beach (you can hear the waves from your bedroom at night!!!) with lots of coconut tress and other tropical trees and miles and miles of virgen caribbean beaches untouched by man, there no all-inclusive hotels or any fancy hotel chain nearby!!! This is an escape to paradise, no TV, no Cellphones, No Wifi!!! It felt awesome to be without technology for a few days. Great food, great staff, the beach right next to you and you can either arrange for surfing classes, horseback riding, see waterfalls, do snorkeling!! The hotel only offers surfing lessons but they can help you arrange the other activities. The hotel is a bit far from Las Terrenas, but you can make it there. Do not expect limos or yellow cabs! This is the caribbean!! Is a very fun and exciting experience all together. Is just lovely, tropical, natural and untouched!!! Is like traveling just with your backpack and enjoying what the day offers!! NO STRESS!! NO NOISE. The room are very nice with what you really need. They are designed for me so you can relax at night and leave the room and enjoy nature during the day! Love this place and will go back again!!

Room Tip: First floor room are closer to the beach and have a nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ashland, or
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we definitely would not stay here. We originally planned to stay her three nights but checked out after 1 night and moved to another hotel. We moved to Hotel Casa Cason which was amazing. Hotel Acaya was run down. The paint was falling out. knobs were missing from cabinets. The bathroom was in shambles. The sink grout was falling apart. Paint was chipped off the wall. The towel rack had fallen down and missing. There was not hot water. The staff was rude and could care less. The food was not worth the money either. I usually don't complain but this place did not have the vacation feeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

not the fanciest, but maybe the friendliest. excellent atmosphere, great staff, good value, very good restaurant. hated to leave. ..............................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hotel Acaya was a wonderful relaxing and ideally located place for us to stay. We spent Christmas eve through New Years Eve there and enjoyed the peaceful serenity and beauty of Playa Bonita. The rooms were spacious with a tropical airy feel. Furnished with A/C and a ceiling fan we had no troubles keeping our place comfortable, especially with the balcony doors open and the ocean breeze sweeping through. Sitting on our room's balcony reading while listening and watching the waves crash was extremely enjoyable.

The open air, palm thatched room, restaurant at the hotel was cozy and delicious. Breakfast was included in the room's price and consisted of coffee, fresh fruit, bread and eggs. The lunch and dinner menu is filled with yummy items and something for everyone. The new proprietor of the hotel, Nicolas, was extremely helpful with recommendations and alway curious, wishing us a pleasant day. The entire staff was very friendly and warm, always trying to help

PLEASE NOTE: Although the website and multiple guidebooks stated they received credit card, this policy has since changed. This is a cash only establishment and did require us to make a trip to the bank in Las Terrenas.

For a beachside hotel or B&B, I would highly recommend this place for someone looking to stay at Playa Bonita or around Las Terrenas.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room, they all have ocean views and a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe noire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I was a week, and wanted be in a Caribbean place, but not with big building, inside glass, a lot of people.. I was searching the blue sea and while sand, in a calm place with natural conditions, I found it there

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I thought this hotel was just OK. Maybe it's because I was doing some solo travel and this is more of a couple place. The location is great but, on the other hand, if you don't have your own car you have to pay the motoconchos to get back and forth from town and dealing with them is a big hassle. The DR is pretty nice but if I don't go back it will be because of the constant hustling.

The service is OK but not great. When I was there in July the place was almost empty. The free breakfast is also pretty good. My room was spartan but pretty nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crassier, Suisse
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Spend five nights at the Hotel Acaya and had a wonderful time there. It's right on the beach of Playa Bonita away from the ongoing crazinest of Las Terrenas. We had a wonderful room with A/C of which you don't really need as you get the ocean air of which found it better than the dry A/C. The food was good at the restaurant but we would have preferred to get a more diversified breakfast. The hotel manager Maxime Couston is very fun and helpfull to give you tips for all the local attractions. We would like to thank him for his warm welcome. Would defintely recommend this gem if you seek some nice settings and quiet nights. FYI, the hotel is not too far from the town 5 min by car or use the moto concho's (motocycle taxis) very cheap ride and there you'll find all the nightlife good bars and clubs. Recommend to have lunch at the Oassis beach bar (Dulce's).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acaya

Address: Punta Bonita, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Acaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acaya Hotel Las Terrenas
Hotel Acaya Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.